We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Sanctuary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasilia Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brasilia Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Brasilia Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setor De Hoteis E Turismo Norte Trecho 01 Conjunto 01, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-200, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Brasilia
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet Sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Brasilia Palace hotel for one night on a Sunday, a few weeks ago,
Having arrived in Brasilia to hunt for a car, I stayed in a souless hotel which i cannot remember the name of and paid RS 136 for the night, it had a tiny window overlooking the air conditioning.
I had been to the Brasilia Palace Hotel back in April, for drinks and to admire the architecture, so decided to call and see if they had a room and the price, Luckily the hotel was well priced at RS176, so I went to stay the night.
When we arrived Sunday the restaurant I checked in and went for lunch before the restaurant closed at 3. lunch was buffet with a choice or 3 set meals, it was a reasonable lunch, with choice of many salads and deserts.
My room on the second floor was comfortable and i was able to keep the balcony door open all night without worry of intruders.
The bed was comfortable.
Internet was a pain as you had to sign in each time and cost RS15 extra per 24 hours. TV was mostly in Brasilian. There was not a turn down service, neither was there a porter to take luggage to my room, although my case was small, nobody took me to my room, so i had to figure out how things like air con worked and oriente my way around the Hotel. there were not many guests staying, I figure that this hotel is used mainly during the week, as therefore quieter and perhaps cheaper at the weekend.
Over all i liked it as it was very peaceful, and away from the bustle of the city. you will need a car or at least arranged transport to and from the hotel to the city.
Breakfast was very nice and included in the price and the restarant was stunning. with a black grand piano, and a huge variety.

Room Tip: 2nd floor 211 otherwise i think all room face the same way
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    254
    53
    10
    5
See reviews for
67
152
34
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you like Oscar Neimeyer's architecture then a visit to this hotel is a must. It was sympathetically rebuilt in 2005 following a fire in the 1978 - it's not identical to the original, but that's probably a good thing! I think the public areas have been restored to a close representation of the original. The rooms are simple, clean and modern. They now have balconies and modern bathrooms. Other people have complained about the showers, but my shower on the third floor was fine. It had separate hot and cold taps rather than a thermostatic valve, but it worked well.

The hotel is on the shores of the artificial lake, a long way from downtown. If you want a quiet relaxing hotel, it's better than the bustling downtown hotel district.

The hotel is let down by service.

The breakfast in the Oscar restaurant was nice, but I arrived both mornings to a room full of dirty and unlaid tables. There was only one guy cleaning and refreshing tables - nowhere near enough for a room containing 66 covers - let alone the additional tables outside.

The hotel has a pleasant, if small, pool separated from the restaurant by a low hedge. But if you want a drink by the pool, it may as well be on a separate planet. It was impossible to convince any of the staff to serve drinks by the pool. A visit to the reception to complain was met with 5 minutes of frantic typing on the computer, a delay while the receptionist answered the telephone, presumably because the receptionist knew that the caller was far more important than me, followed by me being passed a writing pad, for me to write down my complaint. I don't expect everyone that works in Brazilian hotels to speak English, but there were staff there that spoke good English - so why not simply pass me to one of them!

The hotel doesn't have a bar, although there's plenty of space for one. The only option is to ask for a drink in the restaurant, which is closed from 3pm to 7pm, or from room service, which cannot be called from the poolside. It's easier to get a poolside drink by walking to the Golden Tulip hotel next door! You get a nice view of the Oscar Niemeyer hotel from there too.

Access to the restaurant and pool is via the ballroom. If there is an event in the ballroom, then the hotel puts up a sign asking you to use access the restaurant form the elevator in "Ala Sul". There's no map showing where "Ala Sul" can be found. There's no sign pointing the way to "Alu Sul". I'm just expected to know where the hell it is. How hard is it to add a map, or even a simple arrow, to the sign?

I get the feeling that the hotel cares more about its conference guests than its resident guests. Lunchtime services in the restaurant looked much better organised than breakfast, the tables were laid beautifully, and there seemed to be enough staff attending to the meetings.

WiFi is not free. I'd have prefered to have paid an extra R$15 per day on my bill than have to keep logging in all the time. Most inconvenient.

In summary: I love the deisng of the hotel, but I'd like to feel more valued as a guest.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the Golden Tulip hotel. Those nearer the lake (NE) look out over a lawn. Those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
434 reviews 434 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
539 helpful votes 539 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

In a city where all hotels are clustered together, I jumped at the occasion of staying out at the “out of the action” Brasilia Palace. Its lakeside setting made for a quiet alternative, and the opportunity to stay in a Niemeyer original is an added bonus for those interested in architecture.

The hotel is set in the “North Hotel Zone”, which is right next to the Alvorada Presidential Palace, but quite far from everything else. Therefore, if staying here, renting a car is recommended (as is a GPS, since navigating the city’s complicated airplane-shaped geography is quite complex). Apart from Oscar, the pretty-good onsite restaurant, the only other option within walking distance is a German bar-restaurant “Bar do Alemao”, also on the lake.

The lobby décor makes for a great first impression, although the hallways and rooms quickly erase those in favour of a mid-70s institutional (yet clean and functional) feel. Check in is swift, and all rates include breakfast, which is a very good buffet served at the Oscar restaurant, with a nice outdoor area by the pool. The rooms are all laid out along one side of the rectangular building, facing east, and the building itself is “divided” between the north and south wings. North wing rooms apparently feature a lake view from its balconies, although they are directly above the function room, which featured a wedding on every night of our weekend stay (the place looks like a popular wedding venue), so it might not be recommended for light sleepers. Our room, in the south wing was very quiet, but the view from our balcony facing the hotel’s kitchen/service entrance was less than desirable.

Rooms are spacious, and have all mod cons, but are generally soulless. No complaints regarding comfort. The main point for staying here is to admire the design, the murals, and to relax by the very nice and quiet pool. We did not see any kids during our stay, so can’t comment on whether it would be kid-friendly. Other facilities include a gym, although few would want to venture in the 5 x 5 aquarium just outside reception. Check out was quick and painless. Probably would not stay again as the novelty factor is now gone, preferring the convenience of a more “central” hotel, but I would still urge first time tourists to stay here, if only for one night as it is a truly unique place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been to Brasilia for a short period and choose this Hotel just for convenience, since I would have a meeting in another Hotel very close to this one. I was very impressed with its style and the quality of services. The best part of the Hotel is its Architeture - It was designed by Oscar Niemeyer, the mentor of Brasilia Architerure, so it was really fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

In one of the most privileged areas of the Brazil's capital, this charming hotel is located on the shore of the Lake Paranoa. However, if you wish to stay in hotel within walking distance to other city spots, this is not a good option. From the hotel to wherever, you'll need to catch a cab. The archtecture and decoration is signed by Oscar Niemayer and Athos Bulcāo, who were responsible for designing most of the major Brasilia's monuments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

very good hotel. is based in the 60's design. good service, food and rooms. the only thing negative are the showers!! very weak! but stil a excelent place to stay! i'll definitely come back!!! (on the confederation cup, the brazilian team stayed here)!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently spent three days in Brasilia to get to know the city and its architecture. We decided to stay at the Royal Palace in order to have real experience of a Niemeyer building. There is something extremely special about staying here - it is an absolutely stunning modernist building and its location and the grounds are also beautiful. The pool looks out onto the lake and the restaurant, Oscar's, too provides views of a wonderful outdoor space. It really is very special. The rooms however are small and quite non descript, especially when compared to the actual building itself. The furniture is quite cheap and our room was also a bit jaded with peeling paint and the taps in the shower were broken, which made regulating the hot and cold water difficult. We notified reception three times but they never came to fix it at all and didn;t really seem to care that we were having difficulties showering. All of this is in keeping with the service which overall was not great. On our first day there was a wedding. we were not notified and the music went on until 3am. Waiters in the restaurant were slow and at times not present and room service too was slow and there was also very little on offer. That said, I am glad we stayed here for the experience of living in an Oscar Niemeyer building. I would recommend it for this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brasilia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brasilia Palace Hotel

Address: Setor De Hoteis E Turismo Norte Trecho 01 Conjunto 01, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-200, Brazil
Location: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brasilia
#5 Business Hotel in Brasilia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brasilia Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by Oscar Niemeyer and founded in 1958, the Brasilia Palace Hotel's history is truly beautiful, full of glamour and style that have marked the life of Brasilia in the 50s and 60s. Rebuilt and restored just like in the golden times, after many years of oblivion, the hotel reappears as the most charming accommodation alternative in Brasilia, a truly historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brasilia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brasilia Palace Hotel Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasilia Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.