We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic building but slightly jaded and poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasilia Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brasilia Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brasilia Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setor De Hoteis E Turismo Norte Trecho 01 Conjunto 01, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-200, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 55 hotels in Brasilia
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Historic building but slightly jaded and poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently spent three days in Brasilia to get to know the city and its architecture. We decided to stay at the Royal Palace in order to have real experience of a Niemeyer building. There is something extremely special about staying here - it is an absolutely stunning modernist building and its location and the grounds are also beautiful. The pool looks out onto the lake and the restaurant, Oscar's, too provides views of a wonderful outdoor space. It really is very special. The rooms however are small and quite non descript, especially when compared to the actual building itself. The furniture is quite cheap and our room was also a bit jaded with peeling paint and the taps in the shower were broken, which made regulating the hot and cold water difficult. We notified reception three times but they never came to fix it at all and didn;t really seem to care that we were having difficulties showering. All of this is in keeping with the service which overall was not great. On our first day there was a wedding. we were not notified and the music went on until 3am. Waiters in the restaurant were slow and at times not present and room service too was slow and there was also very little on offer. That said, I am glad we stayed here for the experience of living in an Oscar Niemeyer building. I would recommend it for this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    225
    49
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
139
32
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I absolutely wanted to experience this Niemeyer hotel and I was not disappointed by the hotel itself, the very intestering building, the beautiful and peaceful location on the lake.
Now, yes it is a bit far from the city but if you want a quiet and nice location, you should chose this hotel.
The main critics I would have would be on one side the service which is friendly but not numerous enough (had to wait by check-in and check-out 20 mn as only one person was at the front desk) and on the other side the restaurant Oscar. While the restaurant room is very beautiful, the food is not really great. The menu has high ambition but the quality of the meal is not up to it. My appetizer, some stir-fried octopus were quite bland and my main course was a very strange combition of fish skewer with canded ginger...
Never seen that before and hope to never see it again :)

Room Tip: On the 3rd floor as you have the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice "historic" hotel far outside Brasilia with a lot of charme and well renovated. Buy water and food items before you go there. No supermarket or alike nearby.
Clean and relatively new.
Room service very slow. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurante O, Gerente at Brasilia Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Sterlingben

Thank you for sharing this great comment regarding the services provided by our hotel.
We are very thankful, It will be a pleasure to assist you again in a near future opportunity.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose the Brasilia Palace in order to experience living in a Niemeyer building. On that level, it did not disappoint. It's a well-maintained modernist hotel. The rooms are small, clean, and efficient. Each room has a nice balcony. The service is friendly and attentive, though few staff speak English, as was our experience throughout Brasilia. The breakfasts were very good - a wide array of hot and cold items, fresh fruits, juices, and baked goods. There is a nice, large pool area. In all, a really good value. We had a very disappointing experience in the hotel's restaurant, Oscar. They were clearly understaffed and overwhelmed the night we dined there - we only saw four waiters for the entire, completely full restaurant. No busboys, no hostess. Our waiter appeared never to have eaten in a restaurant, let alone work in one - he seemed flummoxed by how to place silverware on the table and went in search of a corkscrew for a screwtop bottle of wine. The food, once it finally came, was fine. Some downsides to know about - the fitness center is small and the universal machine was broken when we were there. The location is isolated and cabs need to be called specially to the hotel, which adds a surcharge to your fare. (It's about R$20 from the hotel to the major landmarks.) Even though the hotel is right on the lake, there are no recreational opportunities right there - not even a path near the water - because you are in a secure zone near the presidential palace (which you can walk to). We were happy we stayed here, but you need to weigh your desire for modernist authenticity with your need for convenience.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the same side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurante O, Gerente at Brasilia Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear midmodman

Thank you for choosing Brasilia Palace as your hotel in Brasília.

We apologize for not fully meet your expectations with our Restaurant services. We are working to address this question .

We take this opportunity to thank your comments, which contribute to improve our services.

Sincerely,
Comercial Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

And just wanted to always stay in something designed by a master-it is a little way out of the Centro area but to me it was well worth staying even if slightly isolated. The restaurant located within the grounds is well worth a visit. The design lines are very clean and the long flowing corridors just mirror the outside design lines. All of the fittings are also in keeping with the style

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurante O, Gerente at Brasilia Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Google Translation
Prezada Sue,

Nada mais motivante para nós do que a satisfação de nossos hóspedes. Agradecemos por registrar sua opinião.

Cordialmente,

Gerência
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 01 night and expected much more as it was designed by Oscar Niemeyer. The room was pretty basic, decoration was nothing special and the price you pay isn't worth it.
I have to say the breakfast is super though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurante O, Gerente at Brasilia Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Google Translation
Prezada Sra. Renatites,

A equipe do Brasília Palace Hotel agradece por seu registro. Gostaríamos de explicar um pouco da história por trás de nosso hotel. Oscar Niemeyer quando planejou nossos quartos, o fez simples e elegante, no entanto, não foram apenas quartos, mas lugares que emanam arquitetura. A ideia era que houvesse aproximação entre os hóspedes e que ficassem menos tempo em seus aposentos, criando assim, uma área externa impressionante, áreas comuns e corredores largos.

Ressaltamos que não existe nada mais motivador que a opinião de nossos hóspedes e esperamos recebê-la em breve, novamente.


Cordialmente

Gerência
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Brasília Palace Hotel was built at the same time as the city, by the founder of the city himself ; Oscar Niemeyer. This place was recently reformed and is now like brand new. Plus, the service is really great, with excellent room service and breakfast. The local is beautiful as well, on the banks of the Lake. I highly recommend this place, which prices are reasonnable.

Room Tip: If you are lazy, take a room next to the elevators, for the hotel is huge and it is quite a hike. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brasilia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brasilia Palace Hotel

Address: Setor De Hoteis E Turismo Norte Trecho 01 Conjunto 01, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-200, Brazil
Location: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brasilia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brasilia
#5 Business Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brasilia Palace Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by Oscar Niemeyer and founded in 1958, the Brasilia Palace Hotel's history is truly beautiful, full of glamour and style that have marked the life of Brasilia in the 50s and 60s. Rebuilt and restored just like in the golden times, after many years of oblivion, the hotel reappears as the most charming accommodation alternative in Brasilia, a truly historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Brasilia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brasilia Palace Hotel Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasilia Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.