We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a Niemeyer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasilia Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brasilia Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Brasilia Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setor De Hoteis E Turismo Norte Trecho 01 Conjunto 01, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-200, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Brasilia
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Living in a Niemeyer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose the Brasilia Palace in order to experience living in a Niemeyer building. On that level, it did not disappoint. It's a well-maintained modernist hotel. The rooms are small, clean, and efficient. Each room has a nice balcony. The service is friendly and attentive, though few staff speak English, as was our experience throughout Brasilia. The breakfasts were very good - a wide array of hot and cold items, fresh fruits, juices, and baked goods. There is a nice, large pool area. In all, a really good value. We had a very disappointing experience in the hotel's restaurant, Oscar. They were clearly understaffed and overwhelmed the night we dined there - we only saw four waiters for the entire, completely full restaurant. No busboys, no hostess. Our waiter appeared never to have eaten in a restaurant, let alone work in one - he seemed flummoxed by how to place silverware on the table and went in search of a corkscrew for a screwtop bottle of wine. The food, once it finally came, was fine. Some downsides to know about - the fitness center is small and the universal machine was broken when we were there. The location is isolated and cabs need to be called specially to the hotel, which adds a surcharge to your fare. (It's about R$20 from the hotel to the major landmarks.) Even though the hotel is right on the lake, there are no recreational opportunities right there - not even a path near the water - because you are in a secure zone near the presidential palace (which you can walk to). We were happy we stayed here, but you need to weigh your desire for modernist authenticity with your need for convenience.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the same side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurante O, Gerente at Brasilia Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear midmodman

Thank you for choosing Brasilia Palace as your hotel in Brasília.

We apologize for not fully meet your expectations with our Restaurant services. We are working to address this question .

We take this opportunity to thank your comments, which contribute to improve our services.

Sincerely,
Comercial Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    279
    54
    11
    5
See reviews for
74
165
40
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

And just wanted to always stay in something designed by a master-it is a little way out of the Centro area but to me it was well worth staying even if slightly isolated. The restaurant located within the grounds is well worth a visit. The design lines are very clean and the long flowing corridors just mirror the outside design lines. All of the fittings are also in keeping with the style

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurante O, Gerente at Brasilia Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Google Translation
Prezada Sue,

Nada mais motivante para nós do que a satisfação de nossos hóspedes. Agradecemos por registrar sua opinião.

Cordialmente,

Gerência
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 01 night and expected much more as it was designed by Oscar Niemeyer. The room was pretty basic, decoration was nothing special and the price you pay isn't worth it.
I have to say the breakfast is super though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurante O, Gerente at Brasilia Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Google Translation
Prezada Sra. Renatites,

A equipe do Brasília Palace Hotel agradece por seu registro. Gostaríamos de explicar um pouco da história por trás de nosso hotel. Oscar Niemeyer quando planejou nossos quartos, o fez simples e elegante, no entanto, não foram apenas quartos, mas lugares que emanam arquitetura. A ideia era que houvesse aproximação entre os hóspedes e que ficassem menos tempo em seus aposentos, criando assim, uma área externa impressionante, áreas comuns e corredores largos.

Ressaltamos que não existe nada mais motivador que a opinião de nossos hóspedes e esperamos recebê-la em breve, novamente.


Cordialmente

Gerência
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Brasília Palace Hotel was built at the same time as the city, by the founder of the city himself ; Oscar Niemeyer. This place was recently reformed and is now like brand new. Plus, the service is really great, with excellent room service and breakfast. The local is beautiful as well, on the banks of the Lake. I highly recommend this place, which prices are reasonnable.

Room Tip: If you are lazy, take a room next to the elevators, for the hotel is huge and it is quite a hike. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place was amazing. Thank you TripAdvisor for allowing me to read all the original reviews and be able to get a real feel for this hotel before getting there. I simply loved it! Perfect location - 10 minutes from all the major sites in Brasila - and close to the Brazilian President's residence. Friendly staff (they could be a little friendlier), and excellent in-house restaurant (Oscar)... a MASTERPIECE in modern architecture. I couldn't get over the architectural lines, glass, concrete, tiles, mid-century furniture and expansive views. The grounds are peaceful and very zen. The rooms are simple but comfortable and an extension of the whole architectural experience. The gym was tiny but worked for me. I really enjoyed the gym’s location in relation to the other common areas of the hotel and, most importantly, its views. A little history I learned... this was one of the 1st buildings to be built in Brasilia in 1958. It caught on fire in the 70s and supposedly it took a few decades to be remodeled. Great job remodeling it, great place, amazing experience... a Masterpiece if you are into it. Otherwise, I am sure there is always a Marriot or Sheraton around for an "Americana" experience. Boooo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The design of the hotel is one of its leading and best attributes. It's very calming to stay here. The restaurant was good, although small mix up with my room service although cleared up fine. The hotel is also out of the way a little, but it's not problem. You have to drive everywhere in Brasilia anyway. The pool area is also very nice, and it is within walking distance of a nice museum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was designed by the great man but suffed a major fire in the 1970's. The current incarnation is a really well executed refit in the old shell. If you are visiting Brasilia for the architecture, then this hotel will delight you. We had a really good stay there and found the place to be well appointed and the service fine. We cannot see how some other negative reviews could eventuate, unless therecwas a specific event that upset the guest. The room we had was modern and everything worked well. We had a balcony with a view of the huge pool. The pool was very clean and we swam in it twice. We went to the restaurant attached to the hotel and although a tad pricey, it was very good. It is true that ths place is out of the centre (it is near the Presidents palace), and you need to realize that when booking it. It is not walkable, even for those who relish a good stroll. It is very quiet. But this adds to the experience in a way as one reflects on the architectural and nation building vision that led to this building and the ret of Brasilia being there in the first place. Bravo Oscar and we suspect you would approve of what they have one to your original work.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brasilia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brasilia Palace Hotel

Address: Setor De Hoteis E Turismo Norte Trecho 01 Conjunto 01, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-200, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brasilia
#3 Business Hotel in Brasilia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brasilia Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by Oscar Niemeyer and founded in 1958, the Brasilia Palace Hotel's history is truly beautiful, full of glamour and style that have marked the life of Brasilia in the 50s and 60s. Rebuilt and restored just like in the golden times, after many years of oblivion, the hotel reappears as the most charming accommodation alternative in Brasilia, a truly historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Brasilia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brasilia Palace Hotel Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasilia Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.