We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historical place with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasilia Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brasilia Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brasilia Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setor De Hoteis E Turismo Norte Trecho 01 Conjunto 01, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-200, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 55 hotels in Brasilia
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A historical place with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Brasília Palace Hotel was built at the same time as the city, by the founder of the city himself ; Oscar Niemeyer. This place was recently reformed and is now like brand new. Plus, the service is really great, with excellent room service and breakfast. The local is beautiful as well, on the banks of the Lake. I highly recommend this place, which prices are reasonnable.

Room Tip: If you are lazy, take a room next to the elevators, for the hotel is huge and it is quite a hike. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    225
    49
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
139
32
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place was amazing. Thank you TripAdvisor for allowing me to read all the original reviews and be able to get a real feel for this hotel before getting there. I simply loved it! Perfect location - 10 minutes from all the major sites in Brasila - and close to the Brazilian President's residence. Friendly staff (they could be a little friendlier), and excellent in-house restaurant (Oscar)... a MASTERPIECE in modern architecture. I couldn't get over the architectural lines, glass, concrete, tiles, mid-century furniture and expansive views. The grounds are peaceful and very zen. The rooms are simple but comfortable and an extension of the whole architectural experience. The gym was tiny but worked for me. I really enjoyed the gym’s location in relation to the other common areas of the hotel and, most importantly, its views. A little history I learned... this was one of the 1st buildings to be built in Brasilia in 1958. It caught on fire in the 70s and supposedly it took a few decades to be remodeled. Great job remodeling it, great place, amazing experience... a Masterpiece if you are into it. Otherwise, I am sure there is always a Marriot or Sheraton around for an "Americana" experience. Boooo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The design of the hotel is one of its leading and best attributes. It's very calming to stay here. The restaurant was good, although small mix up with my room service although cleared up fine. The hotel is also out of the way a little, but it's not problem. You have to drive everywhere in Brasilia anyway. The pool area is also very nice, and it is within walking distance of a nice museum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was designed by the great man but suffed a major fire in the 1970's. The current incarnation is a really well executed refit in the old shell. If you are visiting Brasilia for the architecture, then this hotel will delight you. We had a really good stay there and found the place to be well appointed and the service fine. We cannot see how some other negative reviews could eventuate, unless therecwas a specific event that upset the guest. The room we had was modern and everything worked well. We had a balcony with a view of the huge pool. The pool was very clean and we swam in it twice. We went to the restaurant attached to the hotel and although a tad pricey, it was very good. It is true that ths place is out of the centre (it is near the Presidents palace), and you need to realize that when booking it. It is not walkable, even for those who relish a good stroll. It is very quiet. But this adds to the experience in a way as one reflects on the architectural and nation building vision that led to this building and the ret of Brasilia being there in the first place. Bravo Oscar and we suspect you would approve of what they have one to your original work.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Best review is to post a copy an email forwarded to the general manager.

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I recently visited Brasilia for the express purpose to view the architecture and therefore seemed plausible to stay at your hotel.
I regret my decision.

The hotel has been renovated sympathetically to the original construction.
This, together with the reasonable cost for a hotel room in a city bereft of decent hotels were the only redeeming qualities.

There are numerous areas of concern I wish to bring to your attention:-

1. The bed is far too hard with lifeless pillows.
2. Noting that nearly every street side cafe has a flat screen television, the 1970's version in the room is unacceptable.
As is NO English television stations
3. The towels were threadbare at best.
4. The maitre de of the in house restaurant was unprofessional and the insulting experience I endured soured my stay.
After walking out one evening, at the invitation of management I returned the next evening only to have my order taken by him forgotten.
I hastily ate my dinner and left. I was not going to miss dinner two nights in a row !
5. When at the pool I requested on not less three occasions a towel; it was never received.
6. The bottom of the pool was slimy and the pool was dirty.
I still have the ear infection as proof.
7. A request to have a post card mailed was refused.
8. Apart from the friendly staff at reception the remainder were indifferent and hardly welcoming.
9. A hotel of such calibre should have at least ONE English newspaper available.

My experience at your property was a great disappointment and will be telling my friends in Australia to visit the hotel in a taxi but NOT to stay.

These issues are brought to your attention so you are privy as to what matters need to be addressed if you desire your hotel to merit the high rating on sites such as Trip Advisor. Presently, such ratings are exaggerated and undeserved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

When I styaed here, I felt I could spend a day just walking in the corridors and the grounds, enjoying the little things like views, floorplan and decorating (the little that is left of the original). It is in many ways the concentration of Modernism...Usually I would have to see such features in a public building like a museum or a theater, but here I can actually feel what it is like to live in it! A bit far from rest of town, so you need a rental car, bike or taxi for everything but that is a feature of Brasilia. Very good value for money on weekends...And the breakfast is superb!

Room Tip: No rooms have direct view of the lake, but make sure you ask for one with a good side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A pice of art by Oscar Niemeyer but it should be better used.

The rooms are to simple, the breakfast is nice and in a great location (Oscar Restaurant), the service is good but a pity that there is no access to the lake... like in the neighbour hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPH-BR, General Manager at Brasilia Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear TugaatLondon,

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. Please let us know what you would like included in our guestrooms and we will definitely look into it.

As for the lake access, we expect a project from Oscar Niemeyer to build it respecting his architecture style. In the meantime we do encourage our guests to access it from our partner and neighbour hotel, we even provide a side access to them.

Our team is at your disposal.

Best wishes,

Daniel Bernardes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brasilia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brasilia Palace Hotel

Address: Setor De Hoteis E Turismo Norte Trecho 01 Conjunto 01, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-200, Brazil
Location: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brasilia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brasilia
#5 Business Hotel in Brasilia
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brasilia Palace Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by Oscar Niemeyer and founded in 1958, the Brasilia Palace Hotel's history is truly beautiful, full of glamour and style that have marked the life of Brasilia in the 50s and 60s. Rebuilt and restored just like in the golden times, after many years of oblivion, the hotel reappears as the most charming accommodation alternative in Brasilia, a truly historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Brasilia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brasilia Palace Hotel Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasilia Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.