We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So and so...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brasilia Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brasilia Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brasilia Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setor De Hoteis E Turismo Norte Trecho 01 Conjunto 01, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-200, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Brasilia
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“So and so...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A pice of art by Oscar Niemeyer but it should be better used.

The rooms are to simple, the breakfast is nice and in a great location (Oscar Restaurant), the service is good but a pity that there is no access to the lake... like in the neighbour hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPH-BR, General Manager at Brasilia Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear TugaatLondon,

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. Please let us know what you would like included in our guestrooms and we will definitely look into it.

As for the lake access, we expect a project from Oscar Niemeyer to build it respecting his architecture style. In the meantime we do encourage our guests to access it from our partner and neighbour hotel, we even provide a side access to them.

Our team is at your disposal.

Best wishes,

Daniel Bernardes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    248
    52
    10
    5
See reviews for
66
151
33
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Hotel is located beside the Paranoá Lake (which is big by the way) so you will be in north part of it.
Is kind of far away from everything (but close to government buildings) ... you will have to get a taxi even to get dinner, because there is nothing close to there. It is roughly at 2,5 km from Brasilia's landmarks = government buildings and cathedral.
It is a historical building therefore they do not have a "star category" classification ... but I would rated as 4 stars.
Staff is helpfull and rooms ok (simple and clean). they have a big swimming pool and a fancy (and expensive) restaurant beside it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband, an architect, was thrilled to stay in this Oscar Niedermeyer building. It lived up to his expectations. It was equally nice to see that they have maintained it so well. It is a beautiful property.

The rooms are simple and clean. Not the most comfortable bed for me, it was firm. So, if you like that style, you'll be content. The bathroom is clean and seems to be fairly new. The location is okay, you will want to have a car though. I can't imagine touring from this location without a car. Plenty of free parking.

The staff is pleasant. They don't all speak English, but we never had an issue communicating our needs. We did have problems with the air conditioning which they fixed the next day. The halls are long and we were at the very end. only issue is the layout is strange - they really only use the center elevators which is inefficient. The breakfast is abundant and great. Oscar the attached restaurant has good food, it is expensive though.
it isn't particularly a tourist hotel, seemed to be a business hotel primarily. I would recommend it for a couple of nights if you are an architecture buff, it not, I'd just take a peek at it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

For anyone interested in 20th century architecture, Brasilia is an amazing place to visit. Built in five years and opened in 1960, it features the architecture of Oscar Niemeyer, who brought the sensibility of Le Corbusier to Brazil. We stayed at the Brasilia Palace Hotel, which was designed by Niemeyer. We were fortunate to have it recommended by our guide Maria Joo, who has lived in Brasilia for thirty-five years, has a thorough knowledge of its architecture and design, and opened doors throughout the city. She can be contacted at maria.joo57@yahoo.fr The restaurant in the hotel is named OSCAR and serves outstanding food, the best we ate in Brasilia. The rooms are spare and sixties elegant. The staff was attentive and helpful. We loved it!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are the same except for the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

if you go to brasilia for the town planning and architecture, this is the perfect place to stay. the hotel was designed by oscar niemeyer and beautifully restored in 2006 after it had burned down and been abandoned for almost twenty years. although some elements of the original design have been changed and some of the newly added furniture is awkward, the overall impression is still of elegant simplicity. the location is a bit away from the city centre, but we didn't feel this was a major disadvantage as you mostly move around the city by taxi anyway. there is a gorgeous egg-shaped outdoor lap pool in the garden. service was excellent for brazilian standards. the price is unbeatable on weekends - we paid 165 reais. all in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night when visiting Brasília for a weekend. The main draw of the hotel is probably the fact that it was designed by Oscar Niemeyer and was one of the first hotels built in the city.

The building has a lovely 1960s retro-futuristic vibe and nicely caps off the Brasília/Niemeyer experience. The interiors of the hotel also feature modernist design and furniture, which is a very nice touch. Service was polite and efficient, but the only staff I encountered were the receptionists (though this may have been because it was a weekend). The hotel was quite empty and I got a very good deal online for a twin room over the weekend. The room was quite spacious, with a balcony. The hotel is very clean. The location is not very central, however it is adjacent to the Presidential Palace and only a ten minute taxi ride from the Praça dos Tres Poderes. The designated "hotel sectors" are quite dreary in comparison.

Overall I had a very good stay and would definitely return, especially if I can find as good a deal online as I did on this trip.

Room Tip: Keep the curtains drawn if you have an east-facing room; I was woken up very early by the glare of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I spent one weekend at Brasilia Palace.
As usual, it was hot and sunny in Brasilia, so we were able to enjoy the pool - and that was great.
I've read some reviews complaining about no pool service and I can say that's no longer a problem. Polite waiters offered us whatever we wanted to drink and we were able to enjoy cool bevarages by the pool.
The room is also good (can's say great since they still have those huge tvs and the shower was not the best).
Breakfast was delicious.
We rented a car, which is a good idea being in Brasilia, since everything is far away, so the distance was not a problem for us, but the hotel is a bit far from downtown and in the middle of nowhere - but with a great view of the lake.
It's also a bonus that it's a historical building, with beautiful panels.
Overall, it's a very good choice, specially if you get a great deal for the room (we paid US$ 100)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brasilia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brasilia Palace Hotel

Address: Setor De Hoteis E Turismo Norte Trecho 01 Conjunto 01, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-200, Brazil
Location: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brasilia
#5 Business Hotel in Brasilia
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brasilia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brasilia Palace Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by Oscar Niemeyer and founded in 1958, the Brasilia Palace Hotel's history is truly beautiful, full of glamour and style that have marked the life of Brasilia in the 50s and 60s. Rebuilt and restored just like in the golden times, after many years of oblivion, the hotel reappears as the most charming accommodation alternative in Brasilia, a truly historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Brasilia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brasilia Palace Hotel Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasilia Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.