We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Schnitzel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OB's Brau Haus

OB's Brau Haus
523 W College Ave, Appleton, WI 54911
9207300202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 316 Restaurants in Appleton
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: German, Bistro, Gastropub, Brew Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Schnitzel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Visited while on a business trip and sought out authentic German food. Was pleased to chat with the friendly German staff before we ordered to talk about living in Germany. We ordered schnitzel and the servings were huge! They were prepared just like we remember from Germany. The bratkartafel German potatoes were seasoned and prepared just right. We took bread pudding to go and they gave us two sauces to pour over the warm dessert. The setting was on College Avenue and close to shops and hotels. Parking was hard with meters all around the block. But take the time to find a spot to park because the food and friendly staff are so worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Manager at OB's Brau Haus, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit at our establishment. We know the parking can be hard at times. There is a Well's Fargo around the corner that customers can park in because they are usually closed when we are open. Thanks for taking the time to submit a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, weird atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Underestimating the pre-show downtown crowd, my family and I tried several restaurants downtown and found them with too long a wait. We happened upon this restaurant and my daughter (who is taking German) was excited to try it but I wasn't hopeful we could get a table. However the host was able to seat us right away, and our waitress promptly took our order. Once she heard we we going to the show she made sure the kitchen knew we had a time constraint and they delivered our food quickly. Everything was very tasty - two schnitzels and the Saturday prime rib at our table. Good service, good food - two wins!
The one negative is the look and feel - like others have mentioned, we felt like we were sitting in the middle of a dance floor where someone had set up a table - because we were! Felt crunched with the dj stand, speakers, etc. I would really recommend the owners decide what they want to be - a dance club or a German restaurant because they are compromising a really good German food experience trying to be some weird disco thing....."jack of all trades, master of none"

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Manager at OB's Brau Haus, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your food and service. We are disappointed you didn't like the more modern atmosphere and dining room areas. We are always thinking of different ways to improve the atmosphere and make it more modern and comfortable. Hopefully we will see you again for dinner sometime! Thanks for taking the time to submit your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beer and Wine Dinners.....SUPERB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I actually hate writing this, as seating for these are limited, but it would be a sin to keep this a secret. Recently, they have added beer dinners and, as of 2/6/14, a wine dinner, which are paired with different courses. It seems the chef really goes all out for these, and the two we have been to have featured, quite simply, the best courses we have had at any restaurant in the Fox Valley or even Milwaukee. Last night's wine dinner included, among other things, a delicious fennel/daikon radish/proscuitto salad, wonderful roasted butternut squash soup with pumpkin seeds and spices, pork tenderloin stuffed with a perfect blend of fruits and chocolate zucchini bread, all paired with wines that highlighted each course perfectly. As always the service was superb and the atmosphere fun and friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Manager at OB's Brau Haus, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed the dinner. Hope to see you again for your next dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent food, poor atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have eaten at the Old Bavarian for years but this is the first time in their new downtown location. We were disappointed in the reduced menu (what kind of German restaurant doesn't include/recommend saurkraut or red cabbage with their dinners?) and even more disappointed with the atmosphere. The menu does not offer much if you're looking for German cuisine and isn't clear as to what a dinner includes. Come to find out the $13 for Weiner Schneitzel is just that, $13 for a piece of pan fried pork. If you want spaetzel, that's $3 more. Saurkraut? That's another $3. Oh, and a German draft to go with it? Well that's $6. And the pleasure of being seated next to the kitchen door when the place is practically empty? Priceless!! Take my advice, go to the Lorlei Inn in Green Bay for a better German dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Manager at OB's Brau Haus, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at our new location.
Unfortunately with the move to the new location the kitchen is much smaller and we cannot accommodate the large menu we had before.
We also apologize that you did not like your order of wiener schnitzel. Wiener schnitzel is served traditionally as pork or veal breaded and pan fried. We offer 3 other schnitzels with a variety of different toppings along with a variety of German Cuisine. Your side of potato or sauerkraut should be including with your dinner not an extra charge (unless you ordered two sides) if it wasn't we apologize.
We hope you will give us another chance and take a look at our menu online or perhaps try one of our weekly dinner specials. Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I ate here recently and had the most delightful experience. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. The food was exceptional, for any cuisine, not just German. My husband and I dine at fine dining establishments regularly, and few have pleased us as much as OB's. I had the wild pork hocks, which were lean and meaty. My husband had the schnitzel, which he enjoyed as well. I noted their Saturday night special was Prime Rib, which also sounded tempting, but had to try the hocks.
We ate early, 6/6:30ish PM, so perhaps that is why we did not experience any of the feeling of a hiphop club as mentioned by another recent reviewer. In my opinion, the setting was more subdued. We have no idea what the mood is later in the evening. The selection of German beers on tap also added to our enjoyment. It was one of the most positive experiences we have had at a restaurant this year.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Manager at OB's Brau Haus, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your pork shanks and schnitzel! Check out our wine/beer pairing dinners. Thanks for taking the time to review us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OB's Brau Haus also viewed

 

Been to OB's Brau Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OB's Brau Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.