We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good food and fair prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Cafe

Harmony Cafe
233 East College Ave., Appleton, WI 54911
+1 920-734-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 316 Restaurants in Appleton
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Vegan, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Goodwill NCW recently announced the closure of its Harmony Cafe coffeehouses in Green Bay and Fox Valley. But even after the buildings close on Dec. 31 (4 P.M.), The Harmony Cafe spirit will live in all who passed through its doors. And to that end, we'll celebrate Harmony's impact on our region. Harmony Cafe - founded as a welcoming, inclusive, and vibrant place to celebrate diversity - has served thousands of people through hundreds of events and scores of community partnerships. Harmony has affected our region in many positive ways, small and large, and improved the lives of people of all ages, backgrounds, beliefs and orientations.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food and fair prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The vegetarian lunch was excellent. The coffee and tea were very good. Service was good,and the staff was pleasant. Harmony cafe supports Goodwill Industries. We recommend the Cafe; they do all the right things for the right reasons.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to catch a bite to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food and prices are good. The hours are a bit odd and not always convenient. This place is an Appleton staple. It's a great diner with good food- enough said!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian-Friendly Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This restaurant has delicious options for both meat eaters and non-meat eaters. Its a very casual atmosphere where you order at the counter and they bring your order to you at the table. They have wifi and also guitars for the patrons to use. They also have high chairs and booster seats for the kids, as well as a nice kids menu. I went there for lunch and ordered a vegetarian wrap, which was served with a spike of dill pickle. My wrap would not be adequate for a big eater, but it was just right for me. A friend had a meat sandwich and it seemed to be a little more generous. My wrap was excellent and the prices were very reasonable. Interesting that they are affiliated with Goodwill Industries.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great coffee shop for a great cause”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Good coffee. Good chai. Good food. And this is even more impressive when you learn that the cafe is a non-profit, with all proceeds going to Goodwill Industries. In a downtown full of coffee shops, this is one of my two favorites!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great local place that benefits a good cause”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

They have a huge menu that will please carnivores to vegans. The food is good and they have a full coffee house menu with fresh baked goodies. Service can be slow at times, but the wait is entertaining. There is usually some type of community event going on in their side room.
Great atmosphere that is all about inclusion. This place is run by Goodwill industries and is run pretty much by volunteers and people overcoming personal difficulties.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harmony Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Harmony Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.