We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fratello's Riverfront Restaurant

Fratello's Riverfront Restaurant
501 W Water St, Appleton, WI 54911
920-993-9087
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 327 Restaurants in Appleton
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Mankato, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great atmosphere in renovated paper factory right on the river. Excellent food and service. Nothing to dislike!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    17
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reisterstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Took the trolley here from our hotel- our frontdesk receommened it. Had a table at a window overlooking the river - this place was once a papermill and powered by the river. Great views, service and food! Some of the best Risotto I've had in a while!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food, unique view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We had spinach artichoke dip, seafood, and desert, everything was just great. The waiter had an understudy tagging along, both were quite entertaining and very helpful. It was also fun watching the pelicans. Overall, we had a great experience at a moderate price.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“good food and good selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was not all that busy and service was a tiny bit slow, but the food was good.

Try the "crunch" chicken tenders. The coating is a nice surprise.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Views,Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Giving a rating was a little tough untill I decided most folks want their money spent on food to be worth it. That is why I rated the restaurant average. The view is great and entertaining. The diversity of wildlife is fascinating and atmosphere is electric, but that is not why you are here. One expects the food to be over the top at this location, but you will be dissapointed. The food is average. I guess the best part was the tuna lollipops. The fried calamari was breaded incorrectly. Salad is a wedge with slight additions.The grouper entre was good, but nothing special. Key lime pie did not have the bite expected for the real deal.Service is fine. Prices are mostly fair.If one is here for the view then all is well,the food will leave you wanting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratello's Riverfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fratello's Riverfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fratello's Riverfront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.