We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Lunch Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox River Brewing Co

Fox River Brewing Co
4301 W Wisconsin Ave, Appleton, WI 54913
(920) 991-0000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 316 Restaurants in Appleton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Marathon, WI
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing Lunch Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My mom and I were visiting Appleton and after a busy day we were anxious for a treat. My mom really liked the variety she saw on the menu posted so we decided to stop. The atmosphere was very casual and relaxed. We sat in the outdoor patio and were nervous at first that no one saw us out there - but then our server came over! He was very friendly and engaged in conversation with us. My mom had the special - Chicken, Bruschetta on flatbread and she loved it! I had the turkey chive sandwich - also very good. My mom had a tasty Bloody Mary and I had the blueberry beer. Our lunch was very nice! My mom can be rather picky and she was really happy with everything! We also had an unexpected surprise as I checked us in on Foursquare and we got a free cup cake for dessert! YUM! I think our server's name was Jeff - and he again was very friendly and did a great job!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CINCINNATI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Husband thought it was OK but I thought it was marginal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was in the area and ate at this restaurant that is attached to the mall. There weren't many people in the restaurant - maybe that should have been a clue. We came for a light dinner so ordered the bruschetta appetizer and split the Mexican blackened chicken salad. My husband also had a couple of their beers. He liked the beer and the salad. Not special or great - but good. However, the blackened chicken had sooooo much seasoning that I could not eat it. I ate around the chicken because it was way too spicy for me. However, what we agreed on was that the bruschetta was bad. They hadn't toasted the bread or melted the mozzarella. Because they hadn't toasted the bread, it was soggy. NOT GOOD. I would have asked for it to be re-made by that makes my husband a little uncomfortable. There have to be better choices of restaurants in the area. On a positive note, the food wasn't expensive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice Selection in a Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I travel to the Appleton area regularly for business and the restaurant options can get a bit monotonous. The Fox River Brewing Company is one of the few places that feels like home - there are plenty of options that are not heavily fried or smothered in grease and cheese. All of the items I've had have been fresh tasting and well prepared, and the menu is diverse enough to please anyone in your party. The space is open and airy, and the service has been friendly and attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great beer, mediocre food, cheap atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I drove to Appleton with my family for a weekend to do some shopping. For some reason I lucked out and my wife said I could go grab a beer while she shopped. I found the mall map, and walked briskly to Fox River Brewing Co.

The place was busy and loud on a snowy February Saturday, around 3:00 pm. The atmosphere is pretty cold, with tall metal ceilings, tall tables, and a concrete floor. Bass-heavy 80s music and lots of conversation complete the theme. It's a mall after all.

Service was crisp and fast. A pint of Scottish ale arrived quickly and we perused the menu. It was early afternoon, between lunch and dinner, so we ordered the premium nachos with chicken and pico de gallo to share. The food came pretty quick too. The portion was huge, but liquid cheese drowned the crisp chips and soon they were mush.

After another excellent Scottish ale I forgot about the food. But the 80s music droned on. "Let's hear it for the boy..." That's 80s right? I'm getting too old for this.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Worth A Try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I ate here on a Busniness trip and I was not blown away but it was not bad. I had the white chicken chili and the walleye and both were ok. The service was good and there was a crowd so I assume most people were there for the beer. They had a large selection of house made beers. I will give this place another try on my next trip.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox River Brewing Co also viewed

 

Been to Fox River Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox River Brewing Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.