We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kids love to eat here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nakashima's Japan

Nakashima's Japan
4100 W Pine St, Appleton, WI 54914
(920) 739-6057
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 316 Restaurants in Appleton
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My kids love to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a fun place to eat when you have a group of people. We only go on special occasions because it is expensive. Well worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norway, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have ate at Nakashima's several times. We love it. We always eat at the Sushi bar. I had the Beginner's Sushi set (I do not eat raw fish) and it was VERY good!! My husband had one of the larger, classic sets. He stated it was delicious. The salmon was a bit fishy, but all of the other fish was perfect. We will always return there. The staff is always very nice too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best Japanese in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've been going here once a year for the last 3 years. The atmosphere is very different from anything else in town, you can tell they've been in business for a long time and done well, it's always packed at night. You essentially pick what you want and the chef grills it up for you. It's fun to go with a group of friends. Expect to pay $25 or so per person, it's definitely worth the price, you get plenty of food. The quality is top notch and everything from the veggies to the meat is cooked to perfection. You have to go at least once per year.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great environment and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We sat in the sushi room. Great menu with lots to choose from. Got the sake samplers and 6 different rolls. They were all equally delicious. A must go to for sushi!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi, atmosphere and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I go to Nakashima's all the time. I get sushi cravings like no other. The atmosphere is top-notch. A great bar, dim-lighting and very cozy seating. The sushi is the best part. Try the Dragon Roll. It's to die for.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nakashima's Japan also viewed

 

Been to Nakashima's Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nakashima's Japan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.