We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mark's East Side

Mark's East Side
1405 E Wisconsin Ave, Appleton, WI 54911-3910
920-733-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 316 Restaurants in Appleton
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: German, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated since 1967. Marks is a long time area favorite for lunch and dinner serving hand cut steaks, fresh seafood and award winning German fare. Come and relax in our well stock bar featuring a wide selection of liquor, beer and wine. Open 6 day a week, lunch Monday thur Friday and closed on Sundays. Hope to see you soon. Mark DoughertyOwner
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistently Excels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We brought some good friends from Virginia here last night for some of the German specialties of this local restaurant. The service by Michelle was attentive without being over bearing. We were seated promptly and enjoyed a glass of imported German beer and wine. Our waitress brought us some sauce samples to help us make our dinner choices.. We order different schnitzels and sauerbraten and everyone enjoyed the selections. The restaurant was busy for Tuesday, but apparently a situation anticipated by management as staffing was appropriate. Portions were generous and everything was served in an attractive fashion. We have been coming here for many years with the same owners who obviously are in the right business. One of Appleton's best

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    22
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We went there for a business dinner. Great service and personality at the bar. Once seated everything was very good, service, very personable, food wonderful and thought it was a very nice touch the owner came to each table to thank you for your business and ask about your experience. Great choice. Seafood very fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We always eat here when traveling in the Appleton area. Our last stop was two years ago. This trip we were in a group of 8 with 2 children on a Thursday night thus seatng was not a issue but did have reservations. While in the north I always zero in on the perch or walleye as my meal option. After consulting with the waitress I opted for pan fried walleye and my side salad I opted for the bacon dressing. My wife saw the liver and onions on the menu and opted for that. Needless to say both of us were very pleased with our selections. Plan to stop again and talked with the owner on the way out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“German Delight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The iconic German resturant in town. Been around for a long time and very busy. Very heavy German food. Prices are OK. Waitresses are great. Good place for families. Not a good business establishment--just too noisy. Parking was OK.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, FL
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

There were 12 in our group so we had to wait a while for our table. Enjoyed drinks in the bar while waiting. Our group ordered Vidalia Onion Rings that were ok but the Kraut Rolls were fantastic!! A very good salad was served with a warm bacon dressing that our entire group raved about. I had a Schnitzel with Dumplings that was great! Served with Kraut and a small side of apple sauce. Very good value for the amount of food, no one was able to finish their meal!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark's East Side also viewed

 

Been to Mark's East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark's East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.