We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mark's East Side

Mark's East Side
1405 E Wisconsin Ave, Appleton, WI 54911-3910
920-733-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 315 restaurants in Appleton
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: German, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated since 1967. Marks is a long time area favorite for lunch and dinner serving hand cut steaks, fresh seafood and award winning German fare. Come and relax in our well stock bar featuring a wide selection of liquor, beer and wine. Open 6 day a week, lunch Monday thur Friday and closed on Sundays. Hope to see you soon. Mark DoughertyOwner
Castle Rock, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“this place is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have dined here every time I am in Appleton to visit family and have never been disappointed. Possibly the best French Onion Soup I have ever tasted. Their stuffed tenderloin (order it with the twice baked potato) is to die for. Mark, the owner, is a very visible presence and makes his guests feel very special. Great menu selection specializing in German and Irish dishes and homemade desserts. Also, try the homemade hot bacon salad dressing. I can't say enough good about this place. Do yourself a favor and enjoy this "supper club" style restaurant which is dying breed in today's age of chains and franchises. Wonderful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    57
    18
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ever changing menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Mark offers weekly specials of exotic fish prepared with a gourmet flare. A good variety of supper club food. Very clean place. Mark's pride for his establishment shows thru the food and staff. Donna, the great bartender, well she retired....a loss for all.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“First time--fair impression”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We chose this restaurant over the other German one in town because Mark's has a good website and the other does not seem to have one. We had a reservation and only waited a few minutes before being seated. Service throughout the evening was prompt and thorough; our water glass were repeatedly refilled and the server asked several times if we had any requests.We started our meal with breadsticks and cheese on the table, but later a bread basket was delivered--we think either one would have sufficed or both brought at the same time because we had already had quite a few breadsticks.We then shared a sausage plate appetizer which was tasty and ample. My husband said his French onion soup was very good, his sandwich as well. Meals come with soup or salad; my liver dumpling soup was delicious and filling. My entree was roast duck but I would have liked just half of the wild rice and some steamed vegetables to complement the meat and rice. The duck was well-roasted so a bit tough and dry. The cranberry sauce was sweet so I didn't use it. Maybe some gravy to pour over the duck and rice could be offered as an alternative. All dinner portions were ample so we asked for take-home boxes. To be fair, I would have to try the restaurant again with another entree.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleton, wi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best food in the Fox Valley-Appleton Area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have been eating here for 20 years. Everything on the menu is excellent and I very highly recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the best in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This recently remodeled restaurant has good food served at reasonable prices. The staff is friendly and accomodating. I would recommend this restaurant for familiar dining or a special night out. Great afrench onion soup and hot bacon dressing!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark's East Side also viewed

 

Been to Mark's East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark's East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.