We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lombardi's Steak House

Lombardi's Steak House
333 W College Ave, Appleton, WI 54911-5862
920-380-9390
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 316 Restaurants in Appleton
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Appleton WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you love a fantastic steak, deserts you can't possibly imagine, this IS your place. Then, IF you are a NFL fan or purist, short of going to either the Packers Hall of Fame in Green Bay at Lambeau Field or the NFL Hall of Fame in Canton, OH, you will NEVER see a collection of Vince Lombardi memorabilia like this. Donated by and decorated with photos, etc., from Vince's son, Vince Jr., it will absolutely take your breath away. At one point, you need to realize you are not in a museum, but, there to eat the wonderful food, deserts, drinks, etc. You could spend an hour (easily) just walking around looking.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    25
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amelia, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Top notch steak, friendly service, like eating in a Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I've been here twice now and was supper impressed on each trip. Not only are the streaks amazing (Kansas cut is my favorite) the walls are covered in Vince Lombardi/packer memorabilia. Any football fan will be impressed with all the letters, pictures, etc... There is even a replica Lombardi trophy. I highly recommend giving this place a shot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Favorite Hits a Home Run!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A recent trip to Lombardi’s confirmed our view that this is one of Appleton’s very best restaurants. We’ve had several meals lately at pretty highly regarded Chicago restaurants and think that Lombardi’s, though not as good as the best, doesn’t wilt in comparison. We had a very nice bottle of champagne to start things off—better than some similarly priced Chicago champagnes. We, then, had our standard Lombardi’s dinner—which we both recommend highly—house salads, with Blue Cheese, with plenty of cheese, large NY Strip Steaks, and an order of Brussels Sprouts. The steaks also come with a nice plate of every good onion rings. Everything, really everything, was of high quality, nicely prepared, and delicious.
It’s not cheap, but it was much less, even with a somewhat pricey champagne, than it would have been two hundred miles south of Appleton. In addition, the service was excellent, not fast, but evenly paced, and our waitress was very cordial.
Warning. The Lombardi in question is Vince Lombardi, coach of the Green Bay Packers, during their 1960s heyday. The place is tastefully decorated, but the décor is definitely Packers and Lombardi. If you have Lombardi Trophy envy (and dislike to Packers too intensely) it might not be the place for you. It also has an excellent bar with a great selection of Scotch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Confusing place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

O.k., we have lived here for years,but have not gone to this restaurant due to sticker shock we have heard about. We tried it, and here are our observations.

1. The atmosphere is lovely, the guests in shorts and flip flops, not lovely
2. Split our entire meal, cost was still close to $200
3. Food was very good, have the crab!
4. Wine list extensive
5. Our server Sara was so fun, really made our evening. The servers and manager hanging out at the bar in full view of the bar was very unprofessional. The POS needs to be moved behind the wall.
6. Meal was not well paced, food came a little too quickly, especially if you want to have a quiet evening out.
7. Bottom line, this restaurant is very expensive, could be an amazing night out, but needs refinement to rate a higher review.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Well Advertised, but average food. It's more of a tribute to the coach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was there with a large group. the service was good, but they have allowed it to be more of a tribute to the coach more than the efforts in the food. I had high expectations - I would rate it an average steak house. The Hotel it is in could use a facelift .....If I am back in Appleton, I will take a pass on it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombardi's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Lombardi's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lombardi's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.