We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Casa Mexican Grill

Mi Casa Mexican Grill
2190 So. Memorial Dr., Appleton, WI 54915
920-731-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 316 Restaurants in Appleton
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Back for More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We are repeat offenders to Mi Casa, one word "Mexico" .
Authentic food, so delicious.
Best pork dishes around!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overrated and disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After craving some delicious Mexican Food, we chose to come to Mi Casa due to the overwhelming number of positive reviews for the #3 restaurant in Appleton on tripadvisor. However, we were very disappointed. Starting with stale chips and proceeding to extremely dry chicken and beef in the fajitas. For two people, the meal came out poorly timed in three stages. We waited 10 minutes for tortillas for the fajitas, by the time everything was on the table the food was cold. Half-way through the meal we asked about the last item we had ordered. The server then told us that they had run out. Overall, the food was bland and the experience was poor and we will not be giving this place a second chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent from a modest place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Another reviewer said that he/she was almost put off by how modest Mi Casa looks from the road - a little hole in the wall next to a Mexican travel agency across from a vacant lot and a bank and gas station. Don't be put off - this place is a gem!

They start you with chips (ours arrived warm) and the two salsas that someone else mentioned - a light green, spicy-hot jalapeno sauce and the traditional red salsa, both delicious. We had a vegetarian quesadilla (with some special instructions, which were carried out) and enchilada relleno (chicken). Both came with rice and refried beans (latter topped with fragrant cheese) and the enchilada included a "salad" which was actually just lettuce with sour cream. All very good although the grilled vegetables in the vegetarian quesadilla were perceived to be a bit salty. The ingredients were clearly very fresh - crisp, cold lettuce, smooth our cream, soft flour tortillas.

One thing I have not seen mentioned: They have about a dozen Mexican beers available as well as about a dozen domestics, and they have Mexican Coca-Cola for those wishing to cut down on the high-fructose corn syrup.

And our bill for two dinner dishes with a beer and two iced teas was under $30.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have been coming to Mi Casa at least twice a month for the past year. Service is always excellent and the food is delicious. Can't miss items include the Pollo Chipotle, Poblano Chicken Burrit and Carne Milanesa (Marinated and breaded skirt steak). Any of the items they are featuring on special each day are always good choices. I enjoy having Mike or Maria explain what goes into each of the specials and often don't even both to open a menu and go with one of the special non-menu dishes they have prepared for that day.

The two flavors of salsa are sure to please everyone. The green salsa is pretty spicy for the more adventurous types.

Mi Casa should be on everyone's short list of favorite Mexican options around the Fox Valley and it feels good supporting a local family business.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Entirely satisfying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We are in Appleton occasionally to visit a daughter attending college there, and recently had our best meal yet in town at Mi Casa Mexican Grill. Our party of six enjoyed everything about our dinner there, including staff and setting as well as the food. Mike and Maria have done a terrific job putting together great recipes (mostly coming from Maria's family in Oaxaca and Veracruz) and committing to presenting them with notably good quality ingredients. From the house margaritas and appetizer plate of tamales and flautas with which we started, through to the heavenly postre (Tres Leches Cake), everything was delicious. Among us we enjoyed the Pollo Chipotle, Pollo con Mole (extra wow), fish tacos, shrimp in garlic sauce, and a quesadilla that my vegetarian-only sister reported as exceptional, loaded with a generous amount high quality vegetables. This place really deserves to succeed and be part of the top inexpensive dining options in Appleton for a long time to come.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casa Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mi Casa Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Casa Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.