We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to spend an afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The History Museum at the Castle

The History Museum at the Castle
330 East College Avenue, Appleton, WI 54911
920-735-9370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 49 things to do in Appleton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The History Museum at the Castle presents award-winning local history as well as national exhibits through hands-on experiences that engage people of all ages. We're best known for our exceptional interactive Harry Houdini exhibit that reveals the magician's illusions. Don't miss the exclusive Leonardo da Vinci: Machines in Motion interactive exhibit now through February 3, 2013! We also pay tribute to Pulitzer Prize winning author Edna Ferber, and put Sen. Joseph McCarthy into perspective.
Wausau, WI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

My daughter just finished a Houdini book so we decided to check out the museum. She loved it--great hands-on activities. The food exhibit was interesting, too. We were there about 2 hours and didn't see everything.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhistorymuseum, Public Relations Manager at The History Museum at the Castle, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
How cool that you could explore the History Museum at your leisure. Some people zip through in half an hour. Others have stayed from opening until almost closing time. The Museum is designed to allow visitors to take in as much as they choose to explore. Thanks for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Afternoon excursion "Pat and Paul"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is a local history museum with special exhibits at this time of food and ethnicity along with a Houdini exhibit. Both were hands on and fun besides being interesting

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhistorymuseum, Public Relations Manager at The History Museum at the Castle, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Sounds like you are lifelong learners who enjoy exploring! Glad you discovered our Museum and found it educational as well as entertaining. Hope you'll come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun for Children and Adults alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Houdini exhibit is a great draw for children, as well as adults. It is a place I take my guests when they visit. The traveling exhibits they host are usually very interesting. When I visited the first time they have partnered with Lawrence University and there were small performances being put on regarding the polio terrors of the 1950's. It was wonderful. Worth a visit for sure.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhistorymuseum, Public Relations Manager at The History Museum at the Castle, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
It's great to have you visit here again! While our major exhibits remain in place for a while, there are changing exhibits each year--and we have some pretty exciting new offerings being developed. We invite you to return next year for something fun and informative, plus traveling exhibits that will "pop up" all around our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Houdini exhibit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The jewel of the castle is the Houdini exhibit, which not only explains about the showman's life, but also includes a large interactive area where you can try out some of his feats for yourself. The current food exhibit was confusing and overwhelming. There were some excellent nuggets of information and the fishing shanty spearing was fun. But the German POW jacket added nothing to the story, especially since that was the only reference to canning manufactories in the entire exhibit. The large amount of space devoted to three kitchens over time was wasted space. I think the exhibit should have been edited to focus solely on Wisconsin foodways.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhistorymuseum, Public Relations Manager at The History Museum at the Castle, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Sounds like you had fun in the Houdini exhibit! Nothing like hands-on fun. We appreciate your feedback on the Food exhibit. Learning about and seeing items such as the uniform expand on our area's history, which is what makes our research and exhibits authentic. Thank you for taking time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A quick look at Appleton's History”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A brief but comprehensive illustration of the paper-making history of the area was our favorite part of the museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhistorymuseum, Public Relations Manager at The History Museum at the Castle, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
The papermaking and printing industries were the backbones of commerce here, All based on the power of the Fox River. Thank you for visiting, and sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The History Museum at the Castle also viewed

 

Been to The History Museum at the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The History Museum at the Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.