We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All but "licked my plate clean!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cena Restaurant

Cena Restaurant
125 East College Avenue, Appleton, WI 54911
1(920)830-7820
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 315 restaurants in Appleton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in historic downtown Appleton, Wisconsin, Cena features exposed brick walls, wood flooring, and a pressed tin ceiling. The building was designed by famed Wisconsin architect William Waters.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“All but "licked my plate clean!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The restaurant and menu are eclectic from the exposed brick wall to the ever changing choices. It's a small menu but every selection is well thought out. The plate presentation is superb and the wine selection matches up well.

I picked the Pork and Beans for my selection. A childhood throwback? Only in name as this meal is for the adult set (although some kids might like it too). A pork medallion perfectly seared layer upon a bean Ragu with Frenched green beans on top. The pork was covered in a honey mustard glaze which worked well with the Ragu and accented the pork. I not only ate the pork, Ragu and green beans...I used my last bite of pork to gather up the sauce on my plate leaving it completely empty! Go and try this restaurant...you'll. go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    39
    11
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went based on the reviews and it was a good choice. Myself and my wife really enjoyed it. It was for our anniversary and it was nice. The appetizer was excellent and soups of day marvelous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Best Chef in the Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

There are a handful of upscale restaurants in the Valley to get a good meal, but Cena's is my very favorite. The chef, I'm sorry I don't know his name, is a young guy with a great team to support him. He is a very hands-on chef. We know this, because the kitchen is visible through a pass-through window.
This food is ALWAYS excellent. In fact, if I have the chance I could eat there once a week: sometimes I do:)
The appetizers are great, but the meal is plenty to fill us up. I have a hard time ordering anything but the beef short ribs, as they are soooo tender and everything he puts with them is out of this world. His nightly specials are always wonderful.
You cannot go wrong with this place. What a great way to start or end an evening at the PAC!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
“Best food in Appleton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you're in Appleton this is the only place to eat! I would go back there in a heartbeat. Cocktails, food and service were all excellent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Upscale Food in the Fox Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an amazing place! The food is out of this world, service is excellent, and the staff makes you feel like VIP guest.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cena Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cena Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cena Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.