We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall to your Saves list
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 N Mall Drive, Appleton, WI 54913   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Holiday Shopping Rate
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Rockford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Grand Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here a year ago and was happy to return this year for another three nights. Very clean and welcoming. The room was quite clean and housekeeping freshens it every day. It is worth it to leave a tip for housekeeping because they are doing a great job. The breakfast bar is better than most and has great coffee to grab a cup on the way out to meetings. An attendant constantly is cleaning up and keeping fresh food out. I am vegetarian and was happy that the front desk has a list of nearby restaurants that serves vegetarian meals. The hotel is easy to locate and is within minutes of downtown Appleton and many other restaurants.

I was disappointed that this property does not put a guest services book in their rooms. I had to call the front desk to ask how to dial another room. This is the first hotel of this class that I have stayed in that does not have this book. The hotel is missing an opportunity to sell extra services through this guest book. I was also surprised that they do not offer an option to not have the towels changed every day to be more "green."

The only complaint I had is that the bathroom fan comes on with the light and it was very loud and sounded like a diesel motor idling.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is away from the highway, all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Tim L,

It's wonderful to have had you back again. Thank you for telling us about your experience on TripAdvisor! It's excellent to hear that you found the housekeeping to be great. They do a fantastic job! Also great to hear that you enjoyed the coffee and the restaurants in the area. Our location is perfect for dining out! We are currently awaiting our new guest service books for our rooms that will include room service menus and much more. The towel program is also something we awaiting the literature for to be placed in the rooms. We should have both things implemented by the next time you stay! Change for the better is always exciting! Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    58
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
92
83
21
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a well appointed room, efficient and excellent service, a competitive rate, and a relaxing overnight stay at the GrandStay Hotel and Suites in Appleton, Wisconsin. Linda, the woman in charge of our morning breakfast was extremely capable in her job and made us feel most welcome and well cared for. We would definitely consider a return trip to such a pleasant, well managed establishment.

Room Tip: Our second floor room was quiet and everything we could have needed was there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Karen C,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay during the Packer home game. Feedback is always greatly appreciated. It's wonderful to hear that you found the rates competitive, and the room to be quiet. I will also pass along your compliments to our staff, especially Linda in the breakfast! Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you guys again on your next trip up here for a game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Clean rooms and good service. Inviting lobby and eating area and good breakfast. Nice small outside area for meeting with friends. Loved it that it had 24 hr coffee in lobby and it was good. we stayed for four nights and it was quiet. Only complaint is, for myself, is pillows were not comfortable and the refrigerator froze our things. I was assured it would be taken care of. Loved it being "non smoking"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear mamatraveler43,

Thank you so much for telling us about your recent stay here in Appleton! It's wonderful to hear that you loved the coffee bar and the fact that we are non-smoking. It's also great to hear that you had a chance to enjoy the free breakfast. Unfortunately if a previous guest has turned up the temperature on the refrigerator, it may freeze your items. If that ever happens, let the front desk know, and we can always adjust it to your desired temperature. Again, thank you for telling us about your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went with a friend and we both were very pleased with the hotel. The rooms were very clean and beds very comfortable and had a great breakfast. The staff was very accommodating. Conveniently located and easy to find. The coffee pot was always on and fresh which is a plus with me. A great value, would definitely stay again if in the area. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear JMH53,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience you had here with us with all the other future travelers out there. It means a lot! It's great to hear that you found the hotel clean, the location ideal, and the value to great as well! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed four nights for EAA AIrVenture in Oshkosh and appreciated the friendly, helpful staff and proximity to the highway - quik, easy trip to Oshkosh. The breakfast staff - Sandy?? -- was especially enjoyable, made you leave with a smile on your face. Surprisingly quiet rooms for a hotel of its type. Very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Margaret A,

Thank you so much letting us know about your EAA stay! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the proximity to the event, and the easy access of the highway. It's also great to hear you had such an enjoyable experience with the staff during breakfast. It's always a great way to start your day! It's also great to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and quiet! That makes for a great night's sleep! We hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've stay at this hotel off an on for over a year due to business travel and the hotel delivers every time. The hotel is clean, the staff are helpful, and the breakfast is just right. For the value, you will not be disappointed. The location is convenient. I will continue to stay here and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Kimberly S,

Thank you so much for all your wonderful comments about your stays, and thank you for your continued patronage. It's awesome to hear you enjoy the breakfast, location, and the value you receive at the hotel. W look forward to seeing you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days for business at roughly $84 booked directly through the hotel. During my stay, the hotel employees are always friendly. The rooms are very clean and it has one of the better breakfasts I’ve had.

The hotel location is great with many restaurants in the area as well as a major mall. The hotel is located just off of the highway for easy access. My only complaint would be the A/C. They are older units and take awhile to cool the room, this was just my experience.

Pros-
- Free WIFI
- Great breakfast
- Room Service
- Clean Bathrooms
- Comfortable bed
Cons-
- AC
- Small musky smell at first.

I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear jjoyce86,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay here with us! It's great to hear you liked the hotel, found it clean, and enjoyed the breakfast. The mall and all the restaurants nearby also make for a great location, so I'm glad you had a chance to check them out as well. Our AC units are on a sensor so that they do not kick in unless a body is in the room. This is part of our green program that we are part of. Right before your stay we did a deep carpet clean which was the musty smell, but it lasts a day and is gone. It definitely is a good thing, because we have them nice and clean! And cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on! We hope to see you again on your next trip to town! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall

Address: 300 N Mall Drive, Appleton, WI 54913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Appleton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#2 Family Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GrandStay Hotel is a premier Hotel located in Appleton, Wisconsin next to the Fox River mall and surrounded my award winning restaurants and world class shopping. The GrandStay offers elegant and luxurious accommodations for comfort and convenience at affordable rates. Awarded the Certificate of Excellence by Tripadvisor for 2011, 2012 and 2013 the GrandStay Hotel & Suites is the place to stay for unparalleled customer service and a convenient location Located only 2 miles from the Appleton Airport (ATW) and next to HWY 41 and College Ave Exit. GrandStay Hotel welcomes family and leisure travelers as well as the Business Guest who find our business amenities and services especially accommodating. We have all your needs with our Wellness Pool/Whirlpool, Fitness Room, Business Center, Meeting Rooms and not to forget our quaint and cozy cocktail lounge to relax with your favorite drink while socializing or watching sports on one of the many flat screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Hotel And Suites
Grandstay Hotel Appleton
Wingate Hotel Appleton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.