We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall to your Saves list
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 N Mall Drive, Appleton, WI 54913   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Holiday Shopping Rate
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Delmar, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Grandstay was very nice. It had an excellent breakfast that was continually being restocked. We stayed here to attend the OshKosh air show. They were very upfront about pricing and their policies during this special event. Ann Wolfe at the front desk went above and beyond to help us with the best way to mail a package home. She made our stay here extra special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear TravelerDebbie53,

We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent stay while you were in town for the EAA Airshow! It certainly is an exciting time of year here, and I'm glad you were able to stay with us. It is also great to hear that our front desk staff went out of their way to provide you with a special experience. I will surely pass along your compliments to them. We are always taking reservations for next year's show, so feel free to give us a call. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    59
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
92
85
21
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel would have rated higher had it had a larger pool and updated furnishings...However, for the price it was a nice stay.
The beds and linens are new and were comfy. Everything was clean and fresh. The breakfast in the morning was your typical free breakfast including eggs (powdered, which are fine with me), potato cakes and sausage. Waffle makers and other bread items, yogurt, etc...the only down side of the breakfast was the galley style prep area which makes it kind of difficult to get around when it is busy.
The location is great if you are going to a Packers game or want to do some shopping. Easy access from 41.
I took others reviewers advise and asked for a room on the third floor away from the elevators. Only other suggestion I would make is to ask for a room on the backside of the hotel so you dont hear the street noise and car alarms going off in the middle of the night...There was little noise from others while in thier rooms but once in the hallways its pretty loud. The doors are also loud closing early in the morning when people are either coming in from the night before or leaving early for a flight.
Overall, its a good choice for the money and convenience. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Third floor, away from the elevators on the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear cinbad6,

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay! We are glad to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value and that we have a good location. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast. We do make our real eggs scrambled and are not in powder form. We leave them natural so that people may add their own seasonings do to different people's diets, allergies, and preferences. I always prefer pepper, salt, and hot sauce! Thanks for giving guests your advice as to which rooms would be the quietest. During Packer games, win or lose, there tends to be more activity in the later hours than normal. Our doors are extra heavy so as to be more secure than most. Our hotel is known for a great nights sleep no matter where you stay in the building, and that is typically the norm. Thanks again for all of your feedback, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid River, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

First time stay for our group. The staff was super friendly, courteous, and helpful. They made recommendations and reservations for us. The rooms were quiet and comfortable, extremely clean and spacious. We enjoyed the full breakfast as it had many choices. I would highly recommend this hotel, not only for price, but because of the extra special treatment of the staff in making our stay a wonderful experience. This hotel will definitely be my first choice for lodging again in the Appleton area.
Susan B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi Susan,

Thanks for your wonderful comments about our property. It is wonderful to hear that the staff is doing such a great job going out of their way to make things extra special for the guests. They do such a fantastic job, and I will make sure I relay your compliments to them! We are glad to hear you have made us your 1st choice in Appleton, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuck in Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We just checked in to the hotel and it seems really nice! Good size rooms, comfortable beds and nice heavy doors for security. Check in was a breeze! Busy location, but I am unable to hear any outside noise. Very comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sunworshipper3,

It's awesome to hear everything was fantastic upon check in! Our rooms are larger than most and offer extra space to relax. Even though the location is a busy one, you are correct in that the hotel stays very quiet. With so many places to eat and shop in the area, there is plenty going on! We hope to hear from you again in the future, and thanks for all of your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel by searching Trip Advisor and stayed because of all the good reviews.

The reviews were correct. Great price, Nice rooms, clean, friendly service, nice lobby bar. Overall a Great hotel. We would stay again next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay! We love to hear about how guests have found us on TripAdvisor, and have had a positive experience while staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the nice rooms, wonderful staff service, lobby bar, and cleanliness! We hope to see you again on your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wixom, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

When our group wanted a place to eat a good walleye not only did they search for the best location, but they also called the restaurant and ensured that their menu had a selection of walleye to choose from.. along with printing us a map of how to get there.

Training facility and pool are slightly smaller than other hotels however they compensate by providing free access to the gym next door.

Complimentary continental breakfast every morning. Hotel bar also has better drink prices and specials than any other hotel I've seen.

Would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler. The hotel rooms aren't the most 'modern' in decoration however the beds are new and extremely comfortable and the staff more than makes up for any short falls.. which I noticed none.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Jim,

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at our hotel. Wisconsin is known for it's great Walleye dinners, so I'm glad our staff was able to find a good one for you! Sometimes it's hard to choose what place though! It is wonderful to hear that you have had such a positive experience at our property. I will relay your praise over to our staff, as it means so much to them to hear that they are doing a fantastic job! Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for the third time in the last two years, and there is absolutely nothing not to like. The rooms are spacious, clean, and quiet. I've not used the pool, but the gym is more than adequate. The breakfast buffet is as good as any that I've experienced in this price range, offering scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, multiple cereal, juice, toast, muffin, and pastry choices. Yogurt, waffles, coffee, tea, milk, and fruit round out the choices.

As has so often been mentioned, every member of the staff is exceptionally pleasant, and more than willing to provide service above and beyond the call of duty.

Will be back in November, and truly looking forward to the visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Daddigee,

Thank you for your feedback of our property. It is wonderful to hear that our staff is doing an awesome job, and I will definitely pass along your praise to them. It's wonderful to hear that you loved the breakfast as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon in November! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall

Address: 300 N Mall Drive, Appleton, WI 54913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#1 Business Hotel in Appleton
#2 Family Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GrandStay Hotel is a premier Hotel located in Appleton, Wisconsin next to the Fox River mall and surrounded my award winning restaurants and world class shopping. The GrandStay offers elegant and luxurious accommodations for comfort and convenience at affordable rates. Awarded the Certificate of Excellence by Tripadvisor for 2011, 2012 and 2013 the GrandStay Hotel & Suites is the place to stay for unparalleled customer service and a convenient location Located only 2 miles from the Appleton Airport (ATW) and next to HWY 41 and College Ave Exit. GrandStay Hotel welcomes family and leisure travelers as well as the Business Guest who find our business amenities and services especially accommodating. We have all your needs with our Wellness Pool/Whirlpool, Fitness Room, Business Center, Meeting Rooms and not to forget our quaint and cozy cocktail lounge to relax with your favorite drink while socializing or watching sports on one of the many flat screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Hotel And Suites
Grandstay Hotel Appleton
Wingate Hotel Appleton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.