We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton

Save Saved
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Metro Drive, Appleton, WI 54914   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Appleton
CHARLESTON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the worst!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Arrived and almost broke my neck kn the parking lot because of all the ice. I had a reservation so I went to check in. The young man at the desk did not seem very knowledgeable. There was a closed circuit tv at the desk and one of the areas it scanned was the hot tub. Who wants to be watched in the spa? CREEPY! We went up to our room on an elevator that I wasn't sure would make the trip. When we got to our room it was old and ugly looking. No fridge or microwave, not even a coffee maker. Made another trip to the car (because we were planning on being there a week) and now the desk persons friends were hanging around. When I got back to the room I got on line to see what my options were. I discovered that there was a Howard Johnson down the street that had a vacancy. I promptly made a weeks reservation there and checked out of the Microtel. It was a big hassle to have to move all our luggage again but it was worth if not to have to spend anymore time in that place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Microtel Inn & Suites. I am sorry it was not up to your expectations. I am sorry that you felt uncomfortable with the monitoring of the whirlpool area. This is standard practice in all hotels that have pools/whirlpools and is first and foremost for the safety of our guests. Even Howard Johnson's monitors their pool/whirlpool area. We do have rooms that include the microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, however, those are our Suites. I would suggest reserving that type of room for future stays as it would've accomodated your needs. Once again I am sorry you were displeased with the Microtel, but I am happy that you found accomodations at another Wyndham property in Appleton.

Sincerely,
Denise Meiselwitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    67
    52
    40
    32
See reviews for
62
67
26
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly with excellent customer service, especially the General Manager! The king-size bed room was huge and came with a microwave, refrigerator, and a coffee maker. It even had a counter with a sink in it and cabinets to store things in. It was like a little home away from home. The feather down comforter was very comfortable, as well as the soft pillows. I didn't want to leave the bed, that's how comfortable it was! The breakfast was great with a variety of things to eat, even waffles you could make yourself. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a great stay on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Microtel Inn & Suites. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and accomodations! We look foward to accomodating your future stays while visiting Appleton. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Denise Meiselwitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

this hotel is an excellent value. We got it for 29 dollars for a queen room. The breakfast is good for a continental breakfast, the staff are pleasant, and the rooms are clean. What more can you ask for, especially at that price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLOVER
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel was a last minute stay. The staff was very nice, the room was clean, the shower was nice, no frills but perfect for our quick stay. No coffee maker but looked like there was a nice breakfast in the morning (we didn't try it out). It was nice to see a microwave and fridge, that's rare these days. Nice closet, and a huge mirror on the back wall gave it a 70's feel (ha ha).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton

Address: 321 Metro Drive, Appleton, WI 54914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveinently located 500ft from the Fox River Mall. Easy access from highway 41. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Appleton
Microtel Inn & Suites Appleton Hotel Appleton
Microtel Hotel Appleton
Appleton Microtel
Microtel Appleton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.