We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Appleton Fox River Mall Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Appleton Fox River Mall Area to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Appleton Fox River Mall Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3920 West College Ave, Appleton, WI 54914   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Appleton, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good room for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, but for the money it's a good deal. It's clean and in a very safe area (can be said of all of Appleton, WI). The rooms are a good size, and the heat/air works well. The area around the hotel is good for walking your dogs.

Room Tip: Don't get on the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    13
    12
    14
See reviews for
44
22
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I own a hot shot trucking company and travel all over the country. We plan our stopping point for the evening based on whether or not the city has a LaQuinta Inn. We will not stay in any other hotel chain. Typically, LaQuinta Inns are very nice hotels for the money. NOT THIS ONE! When making the reservations I was confused about there being two LaQuintas right next to each other. One was cheaper so I booked the room there. I NEVER imagined that one LaQuinta would be nice and the other one would be a DUMP. We arrived at 6:10 p.m. and were greeted by a lady who looked like she just rolled out of bed in a nasty old hotel uniform with her name tag upside down. We waited while she tried to find us a clean room at that time of evening. Once we got our keys and were headed to our room I knew we were in trouble. There were cars in the parking lot with broken windows and tarps over them. People lived there and were hanging out in the parking lot. Upon closer inspection the outside of the hotel was beat up and worn looking. The room was old and out of date. The carpet was stained and the shower was brown. We did not feel safe. We spent the night but left immediately the next morning without taking showers. I hope I don't have this experience with LaQuinta Inns again. Pay the extra money and choose the other LaQuinta!!

Room Tip: My tip for the best room....Run don't walk from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The hotel smells bad, and needs major remodeling. I was given a room with a shower even though I asked for a tub. My bathroom was kind of dingy. The A/C worked well, though, and it was over 90 all 3 days I was in Appleton. Wireless internet is free, but unreliable. Staff was polite. Also the building I was in had no elevator.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

New I was in trouble the second I got to my door. Four teenage kids hanging by the door drinking a 12 pack of Busch and smoking. Walls are paper thin, I called the front desk at least 3 times complaining of noise. Got quiet for 5 minutes but started back up. Pathetic.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Got a great deal for two nights via Travelocity. Room was large and clean. TV was older, but it wasn't a big deal. Front desk service was great. Got a call after check in to see if everything was satisfactory! Very quiet and great location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night and I will not stay there again. Walked into our room and I thought it looked ok at first, just old. The sink/counter area was full of hairs, which was gross! The bathroom floor had hairs on it and so the did the tub. The toilet paper holder was about ready to fall off the wall and the bathroom was really old. The bathroom had the stucco looking type of paint and it looked like the walls have never been cleaned. Brown stuff on the wall (probably old cigarette smoke residue). Took a shower and there are no exhaust fans in the bathroom so the steam from the shower set off the smoke alarm. Had to open the door to the room for about 15 minutes to let the cold air in. We did call maintenance but when he came up the alarm had shut off. The tv in the room was really bad and about 30 years old.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wis.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Just came back from a three night stay here and it was a good stay. Yes the property is an older one but they are continiously making renovations.

We had a room with a King and it slept better then a few of the more or should I say very expensive chain hotels.
Also had a refrigerator that worked and kept items cold like they should. Yes you have to go up a flight of stairs, but what is a little excercise.

Breakfast was decent very good coffee, waffles, hard boiled egss and pastries from strudels to bagels with cream cheese.

Noticed a lot of airline personnel frequent the property for their overnight stays.

All and all unless your the type that wants everything on a golden platter, this place is great for the money spent and that s the bottom line.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Appleton Fox River Mall Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Appleton Fox River Mall Area

Address: 3920 West College Ave, Appleton, WI 54914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Appleton Fox River Mall Area 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Appleton Fox River Mall Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Appleton/Fox River Mall Hotel Appleton
La Quinta Appleton
Appleton La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Appleton Fox River Mall Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.