We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Appleton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Appleton to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Appleton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 N. Perkins Street, Appleton, WI 54914 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
WAUKESHA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The rooms were dirty, stains on sheets, clearly not cleaned, reeked of smoke. Switched rooms, still dirty. Sheets needed to be replaced. Forced to stay because of lack of funds. Didn't feel safe. No staff for a period of time. Very unhappy. No offer of apology or discount. Breakfast food was stale. Just Eww all around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    80
    65
    31
    41
See reviews for
98
52
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Before HoJo bought it, it was a really tacky hotel. They have spruced it up, cleaned it up, and have some great people working there! We stay there every time we go to Appleton (this thursday will be our 3rd trip of the summer. I would recommend This hotel to anyone!!

Deb Swenson

Room Tip: the nicer rooms weve stayed in is actually in the pet area, room 104 and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

First I could not believe how cheap it was. So i thought it would be alittle run down but it was not the rooms were really nice and they have complimentary popcorn and coffee all day long my kids were happy we stay at hotles alot we like to travel and the high price hotels dont even offer coffee all day and on weekend you have to pay for breakfest so when we came down for it my kids were happy to see they had waffles juice and cookies and it's all free with our stay and every one at the front desk was really nice. My family will be staying their again and if you want to get away for cheap and sitll have a nice place to stay i would stay here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the howard johnson hotel on perkins in appleton wi. We had a nice time until the last day, we were running out of money. We had a donor on our part to pay for one more night the manager told us had I known you wouldn't be in here. That wasn't right. I need to know what to happen to her.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Last week, I checked into the Howard Johnson hotel on Perkins Street on a split second decision. Yes, it's location is approximately six blocks east of Highway 41 off College Ave. Not in the main stream of the "Mall" area but, less than half the price. The room was nice, comfortable and clean. Frig, micro and coffee maker. They seem to have an issue with a number of items marked "Out Of Order" ie: Popcorn Machine, Guest Laundry, Creamer Machine, etc.. The included breakfast was O.K. but, nothing to brag about. All-in-allteh stay was comfortable and certainly a pleasant surprise for the price. I will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

First, let me share with the 2A people that this property has a "buster" sign on the front door, but no other doors were so marked. Also, their written policies as shown at the check-in mentioned no such anti-2A tendencies, but decide for yourself which way to go.

Overall room was OK. The Shower was -excellent- with high water pressure, good temperature, and double shower heads. One of the nicest showers I've been in for awhile.

Internet access was surprisingly fast with no issues. Again, a good mark for that.

I did not see an elevator on this property.

BTW, previous reviewers mentioned the "out of order" problem... yep, still there. I saw those signs all over the place, including the one thing that I wanted to use, the guest laundry. Oh well.

The bed was comfy and I was able to keep the room at a good temperature with the climate control.

Overall, this is a repeatable experience. I just wish they would lose that ugly sign from the door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have stayed in a few hotels in my life time. I manage a hotel. This Howard Johnson has more out of order items. The property's guest laundry is out of order coffee machine,pop corn machine, creamer machine. Non smoking room smelled of smoke. Television wasn't programmed. Burn mark on the comforter, in a non smoking room. Toilet paper holder broke, was never fixed. Piece of metal from building over hang laying next to our car. Female front desk clerk never smiles. Male desk clerk never smiles. Out of order sign laying on top of game machine. Housekeeping staff did do a nice job on freshening room on our second night.Property needs some help!!!!!

Room Tip: Smell Your Room!!!! Property was supposed to be non smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Appleton

Address: 200 N. Perkins Street, Appleton, WI 54914 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Appleton 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Appleton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Appleton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.