We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse

Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse
2318 S Oneida St, Appleton, WI 54915-2006
920-830-4121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 327 Restaurants in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Greenville, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We first visited Red Ox a few months ago for the first time based on a number of recommendations we had heard from friends...and were sorely disappointed. My wife voiced her displeasure via social media and she was contacted by the owner with an apology and a request that we return to try them again at his expense (including throwing in an extra $20 for a babysitter). The difference between visits was profound when we returned a coupe of months later without forewarning.

The Old Fashioned's were perfectly prepared, our waitress was excellent, and the food was outstanding!! My wife had the tenderloin and crab legs, I had the prime rib and crab legs. Both the steak and prime rib were cooked perfectly. I have to say the prime rib is arguably the best I've had in a long time. The cut had an excellent flavor and melted in my mouth.

Afterwards we stopped to talk to the owner, and thank him for convincing us to give them another try. He was very apologetic for our first experience, it's sounds as if the night of that first visit the stars aligned and the confluence of factors led to our poor experience. From what we had heard previously combined with our last visit, there is no doubt in my mind that they deliver an outstanding supper club experience on a regular basis.

We will absolutely return again, at about $100 for drinks and dinner (the surf and turf is probably their most expensive dish) it was well worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Ditka chop and Prime Rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This place is a great restaurant that we drive about 30 mins from our house to dine. It's worth the drive. Consistently great and literally THE BEST PRIME RIB. Anywhere.
Though their food is great, the prime rib and famous Ditka Pork Chop are FABULOUS.
Drinks are poured well, Old Fashioned's are muddled, and wine list is very good.
Bonus: great bartenders and a fantastic owner that takes great pride in making your visit happy and tasty!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“The Oysters Will Not Disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is our go to place for oysters on the half shell. They are fresh and tasty. At 8.99 a dozen you can't go wrong. The staff is friendly and provide good service. If I had one concern it would be their "tempura" selections. I had lobster tempura. It was just breading and not tempura style. Please change the name or make the tempura batter correctly. However, I will be back for oysters!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Had the garlic stuffed tenderloin!!!!! Tasted delicious. Service was good. Would definitely go back again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Good food from immense menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Your first reaction upon entering the Red Ox is to wonder if you have just walked through a time machine and landed in a 1970's supper club. It definitely has the feel of a place that your parents (or grandparents) would be at home. Your next impression after seeing the menu is "Will I have time to read this?" The immense menu includes 14 different preparartions just for haddock! But, the Red Ox does the important things reasonably well. Our service was fantastic. Our friendly server was constantly checking to see what she could do to make our experience better. And the food was good and plentiful. We had a number of dishes at our table from meat to fish (yes, someone had the haddock). While no one was blown away by their meal, everyone enjoyed their dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.