We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Jericoacoara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Villa Jericoacoara to your Saves list
La Villa Jericoacoara
Rua Nova Jeri, 17, Jericoacoara, State of Ceara 62598-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 78 Jericoacoara B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

They had some construction work delays when we arrived in jeri so our experience is a bit different from others. Instead of giving us a very noisy room, They gave us a huge villa in the heart of jeri (14 beds) just for the two of us, it has one of the biggest pools in jeri! The service was impeccable, they sent us a maid and a cook for breakfast.

To sum up; the staff is very friendly and they know how to handle all kinds of situations.
Great service! We saw the hotel at the end, it's lovely

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    15
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed in La Villa during the last carnaval during our visit to Jericoacoara. The Villa is a relatively modest/simple lodging that does look more fancy on the pictures of the website than in reality. In short, pros: nice pool area, and especially Lamiaa who is the manager and in addition to being very friendly also helped us immensely with all our daily activities, tips, etc. Cons: location is far away from the main square and in a rundown little part of Jericoacoara with lots of trash around, I hoped that the Villa owners would make more of an effort in order to maintain a nicer area around it even if outside their own grounds. Other cons included the insane amount of flies during breakfast which made you eat really quickly rather than enjoy your breakfast for the fear of having the insects land on your food (too much!) and staff didnt seem to care to find a lasting solution to this. Other cons included pretty average sheets and bathroom facilities. Overall, this is a simple place to stay (even though the price would not suggest that!) and if I was going again, I would only reconsider it based on Lamiaa herself but based on the pousada, I would try other options closer to the town center.

Room Tip: Basic suites are indeed very basic - do not be confused by the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Located at the westside of Jeri, 5min walk from the lively center, we were received by the most lovely hosts Delphine and Frank who managed to create an cosy oasis of elegant style, overwhelming kindness and breathtaking sunsets. Top place to relax in Jeri.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Warm welcome, helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast... Good location within walking distance of the buzzy streets while allowing for quietness and proper relaxation.Nice swimming pool. Rooms and common areas totally integrated into the environment with a focus on natural material. Will recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Small hotel with only a 6 rooms orso. Sometimes when there was nobody it felt as our own private hotel ;). Nice swimmingpool, great breakfast and free WIFI. Also they can arrange a lift from Fortaleza (but you better not do so. it is 50E more expensive than when you arrange the lift yourself). Friendly staff and Clementine (owner) is the only one who can speaks English. She is really friendly and with very good local tips about Jeri. The beach is about 10-15 minutes from the hotel. The hotel is also a bit further away from the 'centre' of Jeri so not much traffic on the street which is good. You have breakfast on a lounge set overlooking the swimmingpool and the dunes. very nice.

The not so good things about this hotel is that it is very noisy in the rooms as the rooms are not really closed completely. Hard to explain but the walls are not concrete are real wooden walls but more sort of pieces of wood /shelves on top of each other with a space in between. If you like open space you will love this hotel but for us it wasn't so nice because we don't like bugs (and these can obviously come in if they really want to) and we like it quiet. Needless to say that you could hear everything around you, all cars, all people, etc. Not so much privay. It is really too bad because the hotel is nice. We moved after three days to have more privacy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed at La Villa a few nights during a 3 weeks trip in the Nordeste. We were really looking forward to it and were expecting it to be the highlight of our trip in terms of place to stay. I have to say the rooms on the upperfloor are well appointed but the place overall was just CROWDED with mice in the room and with kids at the pool. Basically, what we thought would be a relaxing and quiet place turned out to be a mess. Kids were running / jumping / screaming everywhere when their parents were kitesurfing miles away. Moreover, the owner did invite some of her friends (who weren't staying at the hotel) to come and enjoy the pool. As a result, it was sometimes hard to find a place to seet near the pool. Not what we were expecting since the place is rather pricey.
all in all, a well appointed place which could be charming but unfortunately which lacks quietness.....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

La Villa looked promissing, at least on the picture of its internet site.
Immediatly when I arrived I was disapointed. Rooms were smaller and not as nice as expected. No safe box in the room (where do you leave you valuable belongings when you are away?) very basic means to arrange your clothes, etc. Pretty limited privacy (most of the rooms are exposed to the other's guest passing buy - you ave to close you up if you don't want them to see you). I was pretty shocked to see that there was no plan to change the sheets at least once every two or three days. We had insist for that :-(((

Also the location is not that great. The pousada stands at the outskirts of the village. It is at walking distance from the village (bars, restaurants, shops); about 10 minutes. This offers the advantage of having a view on the surrounding dunes, but has the disadvantage of being surrounded by stalls with horses... so not as a chic place as it seems on the web site pictures.

One day they also receieved a very large group for which they added extra beds in the rooms. As a result the pousada was well overcrowded and the breakfats service turned to be a disaster (staaf overloaded, nearly no decent food left...).

On more positive fronts, I must say that the service was ok and the staff very pleasant and friendly which elpped to bring a good atmosphere. Overall, the place would still be ok, tough far from the dream little spot that I expected. They should urgently install safeboxes because having to rely on the common safe at the reception is a real pain.

The price is definitely too high for what you get in return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Jericoacoara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Jericoacoara

Address: Rua Nova Jeri, 17, Jericoacoara, State of Ceara 62598-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Jericoacoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Jericoacoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the dunes of the Jericoacoara national park, La Villa blends the warm and authentic spirit of Brazilian pousadas with the simple elegance of European refinement. Ideally located a few steps away from the beaches, shops and restaurants, La Villa is far enough away from the very center of the village to offer the best views of the area and preserve the peacefulness of its surroundings. A wood and straw construction designed by a Brazilian architect, La Villa’s open spaces are filled with such natural elements as sand, flowers and coconut trees. Its comfortable atmosphere is set as much by its cozy rooms, large swimming pool and bar as by its accomodating staff and wide range of guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa Jericoacoara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Jericoacoara Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Jericoacoara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.