We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've got sick with their food. The bed was broke. Kids screaming.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of A Estrela d'Alva Pousada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Estrela d'Alva Pousada to your Saves list
A Estrela d'Alva Pousada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sao Francisco, s/n, Jericoacoara, State of Ceara 62598-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Jericoacoara
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I've got sick with their food. The bed was broke. Kids screaming.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

So we got there and everything seemed nice. Even though the recepcionist didn't know how to spell, we though it was ok. When we got to the room the first thing we've noticed was that the bathroom had no windows.
The bed broke in the moment I sat on it and the matters was terrible. Later on I had lunch in the restaurant "Something" Caipira, where they serve the breakfast. The food had a strange taste and I got and intestinal infection.
The second day I was sick, had a fever and the sons of the owner/Manager Paula we're running around and making noises. It was horrible because I couldn't rest.
Since we've paid for three days, and here in Trip Advisor people said that Paula (the owner or manager) does not return the money we decided to stay for the three days and then leave.
The street where the Pousada is located is not where most stores and bars are, but there is a bakery that is famous and opens only at night in front of it. So at night there's a lot of noise.
The windows were broke and didn't close perfectly, so mosquitos got in every night, even with the noisy ar conditioner on.
We left and went to "Naquela". It was expensive but we had only two days left of our vacation and I was still sick. "Ibiscus" seemed a very nice (and more afordable) place. But this one is horrible.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    8
    6
    20
See reviews for
40
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

We just loved this hotel.It´s a simple and confortable hotel,with friendly staff,familiar kind, very clean and well-located. Quality/price of the suites comparing with other places is the best in Jeri, fresh,very big, clean,perfect for relax day and night if you are seeking a place to relax or just sleeping without a noise.
And by the other hand is very near the beach and restaurants and all best points in the village to have fun.
Breakfast almost a lunch,good quality/price too. Hope stay there again soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robma_9, Front Office Manager at A Estrela d'Alva Pousada, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your preference.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

From the first day to the last owner was lovely and helped us as much as possible. The inn is the best of all of the area, nothing to do with the rest of what is around, Roberto showed us the best thing and showed us some unforgettable sunsets ... very good service. We have been staying before in other inns and have no comparison, just to see the house itself, the windows and rooms you can get an idea of the wonderful surroundings that you are getting. The kite classes were very good, Roberto is prepared for this not how other people in the area who have no qualifications. Of course the owner, Ana, a very nice person. Perfect.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robma_9, Front Office Manager at A Estrela d'Alva Pousada, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your preference.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoa Quebrada, CE
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Me and my family were hosted a week in A Estrela D´Alva pousada in january, and we can confirm that this is a good place for relax,it´s well located and with an excellent quality/price.
Restaurant of the pousada is open to the public in general,so all elements of breakfast or lunch are really freshand abundant, ,as it has a lot of movement too.
For sleeping it´s excellent,it is in the centre,it´s near the beach too, very secure place day and night,and no noises,so quality of sleep is really good.Apartments are the way they show in pictures,very fresh,big and with 3 big windows.We recommend for sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amontada, CE
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I´ve been in this pousada a week with my family this month and we recommend this place.Good service,relax, beautiful apartments,very fresh and good location in the center.
For services and quality offered we recommend A Estrela D´Alva for sure.
We have made 2 buggy tours with the pousada that we recommend too.
Very clean and friendly staff.We will return for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010 via mobile

I have booked 2 rooms over the internet in the decolar.com.br website and its the only accomodation we had to pay in full and in advance for our trip in Brazil. Also I booked a transfer with them and they overcharged us by 100 reais. we arrived there our bedroom wasnt ready, the floor was sticky, there was mouldy everywhere and the smell in the bathroom and bedroom was awful. we moved bedrooms 3 times and none of them was a decent one. they didnt have enough lights, the switches were disgustingly dirty, the bathrooms dont have windows, one of the ffridges didnt work and the plug was broken. we left it on the same day and went to a better pousada closer to the beach and cheaper. we tried to get at least half of our money back once we havent spent even 5 hours at the place but Paula which is the owner said she would refund me what never happened. it was an awful arrive in jeri but once we moved to another pousada, we discovered how the owners of this place are unpopular and have such a bad fame in the place. the town is nice but dont even think about wasting your time and money at this place, a rip off, dishonest and dirty way of doing business.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robma_9, Guest Relations Manager at A Estrela d'Alva Pousada, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
Dear client,here is our position about the critics
that say dont even think about this place!!! and What a Dump,of 11 and 12 of August,made first by one member of the australian couple and then next day by the other, as if they were different people, being in fact 2 reviews about the same question indeed.

When you say that you booked 2 rooms over the internet in the agency Decolar and its the only accomodation had to pay in full in advance,
That´s the way 95 % of all travel agencies in the world work, even more when transport services are included in pakages, like flights and cars services, as this is your case.

Our methods of payment and booking confirmation procedure is different.
When booking is made directly with us, without intermediaries, we work with payments of 50% for booking confirmations, with exception of several special dates of the year,as Turn of the Year,Carnaval and so on where different percentual can be applied.
You were here in common dates, so if you were contracting directly with us, only 50% for booking would have been applied.

Let me remark that that transports you booked with your agency,not with our pousada,
then any disconformity with agencies booking procedures, phisical or via internet, and prices applied, you should solve with them,not with us, as in fact there is nothing we can do.
We don´t receive for your booking till the agency make the payment to us.
In case we consider you are right,how can we refund you for a service you contracted for what we even haven´t paid yet?
And that question is for all the pakage, flight,car services and hosting, dont´t you forget that.
Second you say that also you were overcharged by 100 reais in transport, and our answer is: -Services and prices of services provided by the agency are 100% resposability of the agency,not ours.
We have our own 4x4 services and transports,and our own procedures, but we have nothing to do with the transfer you are indicating.
The fact is that after consulting about your question with the agency,
we were informed that you simply were trying to take the 4x4 Tour - passing for 10 beaches of the North East Coast, with a duration of almost 9 hours- , at the same price of the direct transport done by the Highway Fortaleza/Pousada, -3 hours and a half-, and then you argued a missundestood in prices, and of course they didn´t accepted, that´s obvious.
Rest of your statement is tipical, no money back of the agency, no free holidays,and in relation all is bad in the hotel...walls in the floor,water,dirty, 3 apartments you visited all bad, and so on...
Please consider that is a little bit difficult for us to believe that you supposedly moved bedrooms 3 times in a period of 5 hours as you confirm in your review and none of them was a decent one.
None of the 3 suites didnt have enough lights, the switches were disgustingly dirty, the bathrooms dont have windows, the ffridges didnt work....
In all the 3 suites supposedly visited? For sure?

All suites of our pousada have 4 till 6 points of light + light point in bathroom +light point in the american bar in wood,where the four chairs are situated, near the sink of kitchen.
For a 35 squared meters suite you book, you really think are not enough lights?
More from that, if you even didn´t sleep here, and you where here in the hotel in the morning, how can you tell that?
I mean: a suite with 3 big exterior windows in the suite in 2 different walls, one North orientated and other one East orientated, you were here almost 40 minutes in the morning.
And you are claiming about the lights?
Then the switches were disgustingly dirty,.
The same.After investigation of all the switches of 3 different suites and all are dirty. Are you serious?
Then the bathrooms dont have windows, one of the ffridges didnt work and the plug was broken...
Please inform us: where can we send you 12 different photos of windows from 12 different bathrooms from 12 different suites of our hotel. Only 3 of the 15 have no windows,but big tubular connexions to the exterior,so are really well ventilated as well.You visited 3 and the 3 no windows,what a coincidence...
Then you say left on the same day, went to a better pousada closer to the beach and cheaper,tried to get at least half of our money back once we havent spent even 5 hours at the place but Paula which is the owner said she would refund me what never happened.
Really unbelievable man, 5 hours in a place waiting and claiming for a 50% of a sum we even haven´t received yet,and not for 5 minutes,just 5 hours as you confirm in your review...

>>OK:now the owner is named Paula.

In others the owner is Roberto."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This Pousada is the worst accomodation I have ever seen.
The rooms have plaster peeling off walls, water leaking on floors and even had a frog in one room. Although we pre booked the rooms I dont think we were expected as no towels or soap were available and I dont think the rooms had been even cleaned. This place is really bad and I am afraid we had to find alterative accomodation thus loosing our money.
Other accomodation in the town is far nicer and cheaper

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robma_9, Guest Relations Manager at A Estrela d'Alva Pousada, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
Dear client,here is our position about the critics
that say dont even think about this place!!! and What a Dump,of 11 and 12 of August,made first by one member of the australian couple and then next day by the other, as if they were different people, being in fact 2 reviews about the same question indeed.

When you say that you booked 2 rooms over the internet in the agency Decolar and its the only accomodation had to pay in full in advance,
That´s the way 95 % of all travel agencies in the world work, even more when transport services are included in pakages, like flights and cars services, as this is your case.

Our methods of payment and booking confirmation procedure is different.
When booking is made directly with us, without intermediaries, we work with payments of 50% for booking confirmations, with exception of several special dates of the year,as Turn of the Year,Carnaval and so on where different percentual can be applied.
You were here in common dates, so if you were contracting directly with us, only 50% for booking would have been applied.

Let me remark that that transports you booked with your agency,not with our pousada,
then any disconformity with agencies booking procedures, phisical or via internet, and prices applied, you should solve with them,not with us, as in fact there is nothing we can do.
We don´t receive for your booking till the agency make the payment to us.
In case we consider you are right,how can we refund you for a service you contracted for what we even haven´t paid yet?
And that question is for all the pakage, flight,car services and hosting, dont´t you forget that.
Second you say that also you were overcharged by 100 reais in transport, and our answer is: -Services and prices of services provided by the agency are 100% resposability of the agency,not ours.
We have our own 4x4 services and transports,and our own procedures, but we have nothing to do with the transfer you are indicating.
The fact is that after consulting about your question with the agency,
we were informed that you simply were trying to take the 4x4 Tour - passing for 10 beaches of the North East Coast, with a duration of almost 9 hours- , at the same price of the direct transport done by the Highway Fortaleza/Pousada, -3 hours and a half-, and then you argued a missundestood in prices, and of course they didn´t accepted, that´s obvious.
Rest of your statement is tipical, no money back of the agency, no free holidays,and in relation all is bad in the hotel...walls in the floor,water,dirty, 3 apartments you visited all bad, and so on...
Please consider that is a little bit difficult for us to believe that you supposedly moved bedrooms 3 times in a period of 5 hours as you confirm in your review and none of them was a decent one.
None of the 3 suites didnt have enough lights, the switches were disgustingly dirty, the bathrooms dont have windows, the ffridges didnt work....
In all the 3 suites supposedly visited? For sure?

All suites of our pousada have 4 till 6 points of light + light point in bathroom +light point in the american bar in wood,where the four chairs are situated, near the sink of kitchen.
For a 35 squared meters suite you book, you really think are not enough lights?
More from that, if you even didn´t sleep here, and you where here in the hotel in the morning, how can you tell that?
I mean: a suite with 3 big exterior windows in the suite in 2 different walls, one North orientated and other one East orientated, you were here almost 40 minutes in the morning.
And you are claiming about the lights?
Then the switches were disgustingly dirty,.
The same.After investigation of all the switches of 3 different suites and all are dirty. Are you serious?
Then the bathrooms dont have windows, one of the ffridges didnt work and the plug was broken...
Please inform us: where can we send you 12 different photos of windows from 12 different bathrooms from 12 different suites of our hotel. Only 3 of the 15 have no windows,but big tubular connexions to the exterior,so are really well ventilated as well.You visited 3 and the 3 no windows,what a coincidence...
Then you say left on the same day, went to a better pousada closer to the beach and cheaper,tried to get at least half of our money back once we havent spent even 5 hours at the place but Paula which is the owner said she would refund me what never happened.
Really unbelievable man, 5 hours in a place waiting and claiming for a 50% of a sum we even haven´t received yet,and not for 5 minutes,just 5 hours as you confirm in your review...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Estrela d'Alva Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Estrela d'Alva Pousada

Address: Rua Sao Francisco, s/n, Jericoacoara, State of Ceara 62598-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Jericoacoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Jericoacoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Estrela d'Alva Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality, excellent location and fair price. Excellent fresh, big and comfortable apartments, with all services. Kitesurf lessons and 4x4 transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your A Estrela d'Alva Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Estrela D'Alva Pousada Jericoacoara, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Estrela d'Alva Pousada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.