We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They charge you for breathing!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sambura Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sambura Praia Hotel to your Saves list
Sambura Praia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av.Beira Mar, 4530 | Mucuripe, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-121, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 91 Hotels in Fortaleza
Leverkusen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“They charge you for breathing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very bad experience, rude staff, horrible dirty very small rooms and very expensive rate, plus everything else, from a water bottle to WiFi. The location is in front of the beach, but in the very end of the 'Beira Mar', where most of the fishing boats are.

Room Tip: single room are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    95
    51
    62
See reviews for
91
100
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I visited during the World Cup 2014 and stayed only 1,5 half nights. If I had to stay longer I think the Hotel wouldn't get an average rating.
First I was brought to a room which wasn't cleaned but after I complained I got an new room which was totally fine.

+ very good brazilian breakfast with lots of exotic fruits, juices, cakes and all you need to have a good start of the day.
+ located 5 minutes from the beach and from the place where fresh sea food is selled
+ friendly staff

- price for the internet (60 Real for 24 h!!!!!)
- you have to pay for shampoo and stuff
- the TV was from the 80's

The room I had was okay, a little bit small, but clean and air conditioned, with a mini bar and a safe. The bath room was small but also clean and the shower had warm water.
The staff didn't speak or understand english so it was a little bit tricky to communciate with my small portugese knowledge but you will alway find a way. :)

So If you don't stay long and all other hotels are fully booked you can stay in this hotel but for a longer stay I wouldn' recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel charges 30US per day for Wi-Fi. The shampoo and conditioner are not included. Local phone calls at charged at 2 US per call. To keep the suitcases downstairs at check-out is 8 US per suitcase. Toilette got clogged and was fixed after 12 hours.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The location is the best. It is just on the street in front of the beach and near the point where you can buy seafood for a reaasonable price and ask for cooking just there.
It is in the end of the street where the security is a little bit worse, but i don´t think that it is dangerous, i felt safe all the time. It is like 5-10 minutes walk on the seashore anda you get in the middle of the Iracema beach.
The rooms are very very simple. The beds not that confortable and the bathrom with problems.
The shower wans't working right, i had to call reception for fixing it, and they didn´t. No warm water, they said it is usual in the region. Air conditioning was right.
The breakfast was very good, plenty of food, variety, lots of juice and even typical food.
They have a pool and a place of games on the roof, very nice.
The staff was nice, but it was not that clean.
The cost is another good point.

If i go to Fortaleza again, i'd probably look for another place. However if i don´t find anything with a good cost, i would stay there again, in spite of the problems.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Have been already in last years in many hotels in several regions, cities in Brazil due private or business trips. Have never seen such an unorganized hotel!
- overpriced
- additional service as parking, internet you have to pay extra. 20 RS for one hour internet? This is unacceptable
- my room was painted in lemon-green. Hotel is old and not up to date
- check-out and check in a mess as it seems, management starts working at 09:00 am and stop working exactly at 5 pm. Have my doubts that they even show up. Despite I speak quite well portuguese, how should a foreign tourist feel?
- didn't see really at my stay hookers there but think if this is the case, then it is also absolutely nothing for brazilian tourists.

If other hotels in Sao Paulo, Rio can offer already well-trained english speaking staff, why can't Management do this?

Advice: better look for another option in Fortaleza.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portschach am Worther See, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Booked for 2 nights I decided straight away to leave the place immideately. The homepage doesn´t say anything abaout any extra costs like - car parking unbelivable (25 Reais) and 1 hour Wifi for incredible (20 Reais).
The room was looking like sub sub class , i have never seen something comparebly bad .

After trying to speak with the manager about the situation ...... there was nobody available and reachable for hours.

Maje yourself a favour ...... stay very far from this place. Nothing than a ripp off...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Over priced. Employees try to attend to the guests, but there is no management presence. So, simple things are a nightmare. If you lock yourself out of the room, you can hear that "there is no key because someone took it home". It is even dangerous to stay there. The bathrooms are too tiny. The mattresses are old and not even. Service is non existant. One of the worst deals I have ever done. No respect for booking rates. Expensive parking. I booked connecting rooms but this was not possible because there were no keys to open the doors (the manager was on holidays). It seems that the manager is the son of the owner...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sambura Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sambura Praia Hotel

Address: Av.Beira Mar, 4530 | Mucuripe, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-121, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 91 Hotels in Fortaleza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sambura Praia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sambura Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sambura Praia Hotel Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sambura Praia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.