We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Trancoso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trancoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas de Trancoso
Save
You added Villas de Trancoso to your Saves list
Estrada Arraial D_Ajuda/Trancoso, n0192- Km 23,5, Trancoso, State of Bahia 45818-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Trancoso
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I recently stayed in the Villas for 5 nights with my children, ages 17, 21 and 24. We stayed at a 2-bedroom villa which offered us a lot of room to fit our luggages and lots of spaces to hang our clothes. The beds were comfortable although the single beds in the second bedroom were quite small for my two boys.

The service at the Villas is remarkable. The rooms were cleaned well. The staff were very friendly and helpful -- helping us book restaurants and outings as well as in room spa treatments. They were genuinely warm and was always concerned about our needs.

The breakfast buffet was excellent offering wonderful choices of fruits, breads, cereals, cheeses, cold meats and made to order egg dishes. The breakfast champagne was also a great addition. We looked forward to having breakfast every morning and it was a great way to start a day at the beach or enjoying the eco tours.

The gardens of the Villas are immaculately maintained and the swimming pool is great for enjoying an pre-dinner soak while sipping a cocktail at the pool bar.

The beach front of the Villas is a great place to spend the day; in any of the private cabanas or lounge chairs. We walked along the beach which was very private, clean and safe. We felt like we were the only ones on the beach most of the time.

The Villas is a perfect beach front accommodation in Trancoso. It is also close to the Quadrado where we had most of our dinners or late lunches. We were glad we had a 4 wheel drive rental vehicle which allowed us to explore the beaches of Trancoso and drive to the Quadrado whenever we felt like eating in other restaurants.

We are planning to return to Brazil and Trancoso will definitely be in our list again. Of course, the Villas de Trancoso will be our place to stay.

Room Tip: if you are here for a romantic getaway and prefer to stay in most of the time, the VIP villa would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
108
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent the most romantic week imaginable in the Villas de Trancoso. Everything was superb. Outstanding food, very helpful, attentive and accommodating staff, beautifully landscaped garden and beautiful villas. We would highly recommend it as a romantic hideaway to every couple that is in love, straight or gay. The villas are more beautiful than one can get impression from their website. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Some rooms are lovely , the one we stayed in was very small, no where to hang clothes and a bit dark. Only a shower , no bathroom. This is meant to be a luxury . No views at all be careful. Staff were delightful and food of fine quality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HZPACO, Owner at Villas de Trancoso, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Each of our villas is unique and has its own special charm and appeal. We regret that this guest was not satisfied but wanted to clarify that all of our luxury villas have full baths with waterfall showers, large closets including areas to hang clothes and many windows offering both fresh air and sunlight. All villas also have verandas with hammocks and chairs and are set in our lighted and landscaped gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Villas de Trancoso on our honeymoon, and we loved it. Everything about it was high class: a perfect beach, beautiful villas, friendly & attentive staff, and nice accomodations. Additionally, the food is at the restaurant is exellent. And there are lots of activities which the staff can arrange for you, including golf, kayaking, and tennis. This is the perfect place to relax and get away from people for a few days. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Trancoso, is already one of the most beautiful beach destinations in Brazil, and when you pair that with a fabulous hotel, the getaway becomes unforgettable! The week that I spend there with my boyfriend was like an early honeymoon! :-P We stayed in one of Villas de Trancosos’ 10 beautiful villas, which had a romantic room with a king size bed and a mosquito net draped over it. The property of the boutique hotel is huge, with a large well-cared for garden, a modern swimming pool with a bar and restaurant, and of course, the best part: the gorgeous beach! We spend most of our time there taking in the scenery and enjoying the kind service of the pousada’s staff. I felt like a VIP there, but it was not over the top, they treated us like family almost. That’s what I call personalized service!! In summary, the food is delicious, beach is beautiful, service is fantastic, and sleeping quality… THE BEST!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Once again I had the pleasure of visiting the Villas of Trancoso and once again I was greeted as a long lost friend. I am often asked why this continues to be a favorite even though we have family in other lovely places. Let's see! Could it be the owner and staff who see to our every need or maybe the delicious food served with style around the candlelit pool under the swaying palms or could it be the pristine beaches that become part of your daily routine? Or maybe the fauna which rivals the colors of Hawaii. It is all of these things and more. A typical morning begins with a walk on the empty beach,checking out the tide and see if sand dollars have washed up. The staff have already put out beach chairs and cabanas making ready to start the day. On the beach at any time of the day or at sunset fills me with peace and reminds me that my world here is one of those special places where time kind of stands still for a few days and one has the opportunity to think about where life has taken them and what the future may hold. That my friends is why. I start to plan my return to the Villas of Trancoso, my little piece of paradise. It is a very romantic place. While the trip is long the memories live on. Truly a Five Star experience that you will long remember. See you there!

Jane and Ken
Tucson, AZ USA

Room Tip: They are all first class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Having visited the Villas de Trancoso a few years back, I wanted to return this time with my wife. Knowing that the word has spread about the villas, I was a little nervous that their standards may have slipped. Am happy to report that Galen and his team have made things better! We were welcomed like long, lost family members and felt at home within a few seconds of stepping foot on the property.

This time I did more adventure "stuff" that the front desk arranged without a hitch: kayaking, jungle walks, golf and horse back riding. Always something to do!

Beach front property. Cold beer. Amazing food. No need to head into town if you don't want to. Order another Kaprioska and just relax. Will be back again this year (hoping) or next!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Trancoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Trancoso

Address: Estrada Arraial D_Ajuda/Trancoso, n0192- Km 23,5, Trancoso, State of Bahia 45818-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Trancoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trancoso
#1 Spa Hotel in Trancoso
#2 Family Hotel in Trancoso
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Trancoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Brazil and just 1.5 kilometers from the historic "Quadrado" of Trancoso you will find our Villas. An oceanfront boutique hotel offering an extraordinary combination of manicured gardens, superb cuisine, attentive staff, world class golf and miles of endless golden sand. Recipient of Trip Advisors "Traveler's Choice Award" in 2013 as the #1 boutique hotel in Brazil. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas De Trancoso Hotel Trancoso
Villas De Trancoso Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Trancoso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.