We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place for a relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Etnia Pousada & Boutique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Etnia Pousada & Boutique to your Saves list
Etnia Pousada & Boutique
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Principal, 25 | CX. P. 142, Trancoso, State of Bahia 45818-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Trancoso
1 review
“A perfect place for a relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at Etnia for our honeymoon. Absolutely fantastic location and service. Rooms are located in eight bungalows set in a tropical garden with a large pool and bar area. A perfect place for a relaxing holiday. The bars and restaurants in Trancoso's Quadrado are less than 5min walk.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Etnia was the best hotel we stayed at in Brazil. The staff was the friendliest ever, the hotel, well amazing, and the location couldn't be better. I recommend this hotel to everyone who can appreciate the beuty of boutique hotels and value great service during their stay.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourton-on-the-Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Andre and Corado have built up Etnia into a lovely small boutique Pousada. The welcome is warm, kind and helpful. Laura, the General Manager, is an absolute star. She makes sure her guests are completely happy at all times.
The rooms are spread around a tropical garden whose center point is the pool and dining area where a delicious breakfast is served with a friendly smile. It is all done with taste and the result is an elegant oasis of calm only 5 mins walk from the Quadrado where most of the restaurants and activities are. One has the feeling to be guests rather than paying guests. We looked around and found Etnia to be the best value for money and the loveliest place in Trancoso. Cheryl and Roelof Quintus

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Etnia was a breath of fresh air. Very stylish but not over done. Professional yet relaxed. Stunning tropical gardens, delicious food, helpful staff, warm & friendly owners that live on site. About 8 villas so its kept very small and personal with a family feel, everyone is on first name terms and I would definitely go back. Etnia is well located with a great pool, a short walk to all that you need, the best beach place to hang out was the newly opened Tangara, just jump on the back of a motor bike taxi there or a 30 minute walk and your dream holiday is realized.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Choosing where to stay in Trancoso (side note, do it!) is a toss up between staying down on the beach itself... beautiful but a good 10-20 min walk back up into the village... or staying in the village itself, somewhere close to the legendary Quadrado everyone talks about. We chose the later and would strongly recommend other visitors do the same, if they are planning on eating and drinking out in the village at night. That choice brought us into a toss up between a few small places of around the same price point, from which we chose Etnia.

We arrived expecting it to be somewhat further out from the village centre than in was - it's actually only a couple of minutes walk from the Quadrado - and, from the main entrance, it doesn't look much. Once inside, however, you are presented with immaculate, large gardens and, after a few paces down the shallow steps, you'll see the view of the pool and communal area that's presented in most of the online picture libraries of the place. First up, the pictures - so often taken to make a place look a lot better than it really is - are spot on. Entia is beautifully presented and appeared to have been fairly recently repainted and tidied up (our stay was in Nov '10).

The communal area itself is used for the (very good) breakfasts and usually has a few of the guests lounging around it late in the afternoon. Apart from that, it's incredibly quiet and actually lends the property a feel of your own private villa rather than a hotel of any kind.

Rooms - of which I think there are only around seven or eight - are situated around the gardens in blocks of either one or two rooms to each small building. Each is themed... think Gypsy, Moroccan, Tribal etc and, again, they appear to be very well maintained by the management and staff. We initially stayed in Tribal, one of the 'standard' (or whatever term they decide to use for the smaller rooms), which was plenty big enough for us and which we'd recommend for the great views down to the pool area. After a few days, we moved to the larger Moroccan suite, which is right down in the far corner of the property and comes complete with separate lounge, bedroom, walk in robe and bathroom. Well worth the extra Real, if you're keen on the extra space.

So, hotel location, good. Layout, great. Gardens and communal area, spot on. Rooms, the same. Which brings us to service, the high point of an already great place. The entire team, from owner to management to kitchen and bar staff to cleaners, clearly take a pride in the place and in the well being of their guests. Every morning, a member of the management team comes down to see guests at breakfast, check everything is okay, make suggestions for the day. When you arrive at the pool each afternoon, one of the bar staff will bring out extra head rests for your sunbed, grab you drinks and snacks and pretty much wait on you hand and foot. Kitchen staff, if you want something, will do whatever they can to make it happen and, as above, the property is clearly a source of pride to the owners who appear to be making constant improvements to ensure the place doesn't become tired.

So, obviously a fan and clearly this is a place I'd highly recommend. Flaws? Hard to pick anything without being pedantic - the pool, being set in the middle of large tropical gardens, gets dirty quickly but what do you expect given your surroundings? The themed rooms, while fine for us, probably wouldn't be to everyone's taste and it's probably worth checking the hotel website before you go to see if anything in particular takes your fancy - my guess is the owners will try to accomodate your preferernces if they can. Apart from that, the only thing to call out would be the three dogs on the property. Again, no problems for us - they are incredibly well trained and well behaved and are great fun to have around, but if you're not a dog lover, it could be a deal breaker for you. That's about it!

Not sure we'll ever get back to this part of the world, but if we do, Entia will be our first pick!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Etnia is a fantastic pousada. The whole territory is like a rainforest! the rooms are nice and spacious (we had Mediterranean suite), breakfast by the pool is something to die for, and the staff is incredible. So friendly, happy and cheerful - seems world is spinning differently in Trancoso.
The hotel is great for those wanting to be close to nightlife, bars and restaurants of Quadrado, but not to the beach - its a 20 min walk. But looking back at it, walking to the beach and along the beach was the best part of the day (head left across the river once you are facing the ocean - thats where the better beaches are, I find).
Prepare for a long bumpy road from the airport - roads in Trancoso are rather directions than roads.
But you will love it, 100%.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Etnia Pousada for one week, and we can honestly say it was an absolute pleasure. During our stay we were upgraded, which took us completely by surprise. Both our original room and the upgraded room were clean, roomy and stylish. Etnia’s manager Laura was incredible, providing us with comprehensive and enthusiastic advice about local restaurants and beaches. Her suggestion of a particular restaurant on Praia do Espelho resulted in one of the most memorable and unique gastronomic experiences of all time! During our stay we hired a car, played golf, and tried lots of local restaurants and Laura looked after all of those details and more. Andre the owner also was full of suggestions for spending our time in Trancoso, and went out of his way to make us feel at home. It was a pleasure to stay at Etnia and we would do so again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Etnia Pousada & Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etnia Pousada & Boutique

Address: Rua Principal, 25 | CX. P. 142, Trancoso, State of Bahia 45818-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Trancoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Trancoso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Trancoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Etnia Pousada & Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Internationally known as an oasis in the middle of the jungle and for combining comfort with unique ethnic decoration, Etnia was elected one of Brazil's four best hotels by the prestigious German publisher, Taschen, in the book 'Great Escapes of the World,' which shows a selection of the 90 best hotels around the world. It has also been featured in Hip Hotel's 'Atlas,' in Taschen's 'Great Escapes South America,' in Conde Nast Johansen's 'The Americas Recommended Hotels, Inns, Resorts & Spas' and was the winner of Elle's chic shack awards 2007. Besides getting special coverage in newspapers such as The Sunday Times and The New York Times, Etnia makes part of Andrew Harper's Clud, among others.A Swimming pool with bar and lounge, a 7000m2 garden, secured parking lot, access to the beach (15 minutes walking) and to the town (5 minutes walking), restaurant and boutique are part of the hotel’s structure. In each bungalow, a stained glass window facing a private garden makes the guests feel even more in touch with the local nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Etnia Pousada & Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etnia Pousada And Boutique
Etnia Pousada & Boutique Hotel Trancoso
Etnia Pousada & Boutique Trancoso, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etnia Pousada & Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.