We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Brazilian expderience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Enseada do Espelho

Save Saved
You added Pousada Enseada do Espelho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pousada Enseada do Espelho
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia do Espelho, s/n, Trancoso, State of Bahia 45810-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Trancoso
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Brazilian expderience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you are looking for a truly beach paradise removed from the crowds, yet surrounded by a classy, friendly, sophisticated and unpretentious group of people; look no further than Praia do Espelho. And among the many cozy and inviting pousadas, Enseada do Espelho stands out. Located right on the beach, accommodation is stylish and comfortable without being over the top. Mario, Valeria, Paulo and the entire team make guests feel at home at all times and are always at hand to provide simply the best service I've ever experienced in Brazil. Breakfasts are superb with a great buffet selection of cheese, cold meets, fruits, bread and cakes. Tapioca pancakes were cooked to perfection. Selfishly, I seldom bother writing reviews, but this establishment deserved my full praise. This is hospitality at its highest mark !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Not only is the location of this pousada wonderful, but the staff is friendly and their attention to detail is excellent. The food is gourmet quality and the man who manages the bar/restaurant is an artist of the caipirinha. Small, but lovely, this is the best place to stay in Espelho. You can read more about our experience and the beaches here on my blog: http://wp.me/pWiwb-192

Room Tip: It is like staying at the lovely home of a long lost relative. One who is the perfect host.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was our second trip to Brazil. We wanted to explore some of the beaches in Northern Brazil that we'd heard about on our first trip, and it is generally warmer in the north during our winters, so I got online to look at our options and found this place which was not far from Trancoso, a very popular destination itself from what I'd read in magazines and online. However, the hotels in Trancoso were not ideally situated for a true beach-side getaway so we took the risk and put our money on this more off the beaten track location. After flying Miami to Salvador overnight and then catching our connecting flight to Porto Seguro followed by a car rental and a ferry ride, and after Trancoso, a very prolonged and bumpy drive to our final destination (phew!); we were greeted so warmly by manager Pablo and his staff that all my worries about the gamble we'd taken were washed away (the free welcome drink of caipirinhas didn't hurt either) .
This place is an oasis of comfort and relaxation with extremely polite and well-trained staff waiting on us hand and foot at every turn--we felt very spoiled. The beach is a haven from the more touristy Trancoso (because of its more remote location they mostly attract day-trippers), although we did enjoy a couple of evenings out in town. The other vacationers were mostly Brazilians which I liked, got by with my Spanish well enough as only Pablo spoke some English. You can walk the beach for miles in both directions or just stay right in front of the pousada with drinks and meals at your fingertips. Can't say enough about the level of service and the relaxed feeling here, especially enjoyed ending the day with dinner served on deck under the stars. I even got a lesson in making caipirinhas and we were offered a bottle of cachaca to take back with us.
Also worth doing is a day trip from here to neighboring town of Caraiva where the ocean surf is more dramatic and there are lots of little streets and small restaurants to explore on foot.
On the downside, the route in and out is somewhat tricky (I found some additional instructions on their own website) and the road is unpaved and deeply rutted so beware that travel by car is very slow and treacherous for several miles. This may be a good place to spend a few days and then travel to a different pousada to stay in town in Trancoso, but not so easy to travel back and forth. Also, we realized later it's best to buy the insurance on the rental car because they hassled us quite a bit on returning it when we refused the insurance, which is understandable given the poor road conditions.
All in all an extremely pleasant atmosphere and very memorable stay!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, especially the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

My fiancé and I were planning a romantic getaway for our Easter Holidays and could not decide which beach to choose from the great ones we have in Brazil... finally, we decided to go to Praia do Espelho in Porto Seguro, Bahia, and, I must say it was one of the best travel experiences we ever had (and we do travel a lot). Although being hard to get to (2 and a half hour fly from Rio plus a 2 and a half hours jeep drive to Espelho from the Porto Seguro airport), it is still an untouched beach, and, even so, the Pousada Enseada do Espelho managed to provide all the amenities needed for excelent comfort, and, on top of that, the rooms are just a few steps away from the beach!!
The rooms are very comfortable, the bathrooms are large and clean, the breakfast has all the Brazilian fruits you can wish for, the dinner is amazing too, and the staff is veryyyy friendly, ready to help you even before you called them!
If you are looking for people watching, great noisy restaurants, this is not the place. But if you are searching for a romantic and quiet getaway, book the Enseada do Espelho!

  • Liked — Just a few steps from the beach
  • Disliked — Praia do Espelho is hard to get to!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada Enseada do Espelho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Enseada do Espelho

Address: Praia do Espelho, s/n, Trancoso, State of Bahia 45810-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Trancoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Trancoso
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Trancoso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Trancoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada Enseada do Espelho 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Pousada Enseada do Espelho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Enseada Do Espelho Trancoso, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Enseada do Espelho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.