We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Villa Carmo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada Villa Carmo to your Saves list
Pousada Villa Carmo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Carmo, 58 | Historic Center - Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 108 Hotels in Salvador
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The location is excellent just a five minutes walk to the pedestrian zone of the Pelorinho! There are also some reastaurants next door to the Pousada.
The room was quite large, bathroom very small compared to it. But everything was manageable.
The breakfast area is nice and you have a good view over the lower city (altough the view is not super beautiful). Breakfast is good with a variety of juices, breads, cakes, ham and cheese.
Also the owner is Italian and speaks English which is a rarity in Brazil. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suzhou, china
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The pousada is well located and very well decorated
The owner are very nice & helpful. we would not have discover the city & nightlife this way without all their tips.
The breakfast that stays available until noon is perfect for those that like to spend the night out

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Pousada Villa Carmo is very well located in the centre of the Pelorinho. It is safe and supervised 24/7. We stayed here in August 2011 and paid R$150 for a double room and breakfast which is pretty good for Salvador. Staff is very friendly and helpful! The breakfast area is on a balcony overlooking the baía de Todos os Santos, its beautiful to sit there drinking your juice and overlooking the bay. the room was not the cleanest, there was a layer of dust covering everything. rooms are very small, we didnt have a window and the bathroom was tiny. it was hard to even turn around in the bathroom and after i had a shower the entire bathroom was under water.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY&BsAs
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I found this pousada on venere when I was having trouble getting a room last minute. The owner was quick to respond to my questions and when our flight was delayed out of Recife the night concierge handled our airport transfer changes and our driver was there to meet us at 5am.

We stayed in room 1 overlooking the cobblestone street, with a view up to a spectacular church. Super high ceilings and lots of space, we regretted that our stay in Salvador was brief. Breakfast on the back terrace with sweeping views of Salvador and the sea was unforgettable.

But Salvador is quite intense, we felt it was more dangerous than either Sao Paolo or Rio. It's too bad, it is a special place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We were in room 4 (clearly the best, overlooking the harbor), two of the nights with our adult daughter. The layout of the room makes it a good choice for 3 people. We found the room, and little balcony, and the terrace downstairs to be very pleasant places to hang out. Now that we've been there, we know we would only want to be in a room like that, facing the harbor. Owner's English was very good. We highly recommend the location too - Santo Antonio neighborhood is enough away from Pelourinho hubbub. Very near a good "quilo" restaurant.

Room Tip: room for 3 should get you room 4, the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

It's a very good place to stay in Salvador, near Pelo, pretty and clean pousada, very kind manager and staff.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

This is a beautiful pousada, right in the heart of the old city of Salvador. It was clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet given the location. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard fare, and nice enough. Would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — beautiful building
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Villa Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Villa Carmo

Address: Rua do Carmo, 58 | Historic Center - Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 108 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Villa Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location: The Pousada Villa Carmo is located In the heart of Salvador's Historical Center, where tourists and local residents are immersed in culture, tradition, leisure and fun. The atmosphere is cozy: the environment is family-like and offers comfort and safety, uniting antique and modern elements. The lobby area is welcoming and warming: nothing more natural coming from Pousada Villa Carmo owners, Ana Luz, Brazilian and Gianluca, Italian. Dating from the XIX century, the Inn occupies a colonial building at the traditional Rua do Carmo and neighbors a rich colonial architectural compound preserved since Brazil's colonial time. Leaning over the sea of Todos os Santos Bay, Pousada Villa Carmo is at a few steps from some of the most important architectural monuments of the city, such as the religious compound formed by Nossa Senhora do Carmo and Ordem Terceira do Carmo churches, including the Cruz do Pascoal Oratory. It's in this historic environment, joyful and strong cultural scenery, that Pousada Villa Carmo guests find the perfect environment to enjoy the best of Salvador, making good use of the coziness, culture and pleasures of Brazil's happiness capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Villa Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Hotel Carmo
Pousada Villa Carmo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Villa Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.