We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa do Amarelindo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa do Amarelindo to your Saves list
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Portas do Carmo, 06 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 108 Hotels in Salvador
Beringen, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Thanks to Tripadvisor we choose this hotel. The location is perfect except for the people who come for a great swimming pool(Salvador has other more important things to do!); the hotel is really excellent from the moment you enter: they pay attention to their clients who are at home! the rooms are nice, the details of the decoration in the hotel are done with taste. So is the food of the hotel as well as the caipirinha and great payable wines they serve. A place to recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    83
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
83
460
51
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every single moment in the hotel and Salvador. The breakfast was so plentiful and yummy. I love it how I got 2 fruit juices every day.
Very good location, clean room, nice balconies/decks.
The staff were super helpful and very attentive. The restaurant staff may not be able to speak fluent English but they are nice and try their best to serve you what you want.
A little inconvenient is the inconsistency of the Internet. Hopefully the owners/managers would look into improving this part.
I also went on two tours (Salvador tour and day trip to Cachoeira) organised by the hotel. My tour guide is Josuel ( +55 71 88997744; josuelqueiroz@hotmail.com). He was very knowledgable about the city and neighbouring town. Highly recommend a private tour with Josuel if you like to ask so many questions about the visiting places like me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Perfect hotel to stay in the historical center of Salvador (Pelo). Beautifully restored house, nice room, hot tub, great breakfast served wherever you want. (we always asked to be served at the pool, looking at the beautiful views). Staff very very helpful and knowledgeable. Food is delicious and you get a welcome Caipirinha! Ask for a room in the back with views. Front rooms could be noisy!Not cheap but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Salvador was the first stop in Brazil for my colleague and I before we continued on to Rio for business. Arriving in this high energy city can be overwhelming when you’ve just completed a long overnight trip from the States, made a connection in Sao Paulo and only speak English. But we had the good fortune to find and reserve a room at Casa do Amarelindo when making our travel plans and would encourage any traveler who seeks the boutique hotel experience to do the same. Our stay was fabulous from start to finish thanks in large part to our hosts at Casa do Amarelindo and the tour guide they arranged for us!!

We had requested a driver through the hotel who was waiting for us as we exited baggage claim. It is wise to do this since you will need a driver that is familiar with driving in the historic section, Pelourinho, if you are going to have a chance to be taken right to the hotel door. The hotel is on a street with restricted traffic and drivers have to negotiate with the Federal Police on whether they will be allowed in to take you right to the door. Alternatively they can park at the top of the hill and you walk down a short distance and the hotel will get your luggage from the car but of course when you are tired it is much better to avoid this extra step. Our drivers always were able to get permission to get us to the door but just be aware that could be a different experience and you will want to arrive with good walking shoes on if that is the case. In fact, walking shoes versus sandals is highly recommended for walking in Pelourinho as the old cobble stones can be challenging to walk on. Definitely avoid heeled shoes.

Check-in was swift and we were taken on a quick tour of the charming hotel, lovingly restored by its owners and tastefully filled with the artistic spirit of the area. We walked through the small dining area and bar in a cheery, garden setting, a small pool (enough for a dip to cool you off) that has a wonderful view of the harbor and then up to roof top terrace where you can watch the spectacular sunset over the water. We had asked what time to expect sunset when we checked in so we would make sure not to miss it. Good thing too as the sun sets very fast. We stopped at the bar first for our complimentary Caipirinha made with lime (the BEST we had in Brazil) and enjoyed sipping them as we watched the sun disappear over the water. (Later during our stay I tried a Caipirinha made with a red berry that was very good too). Then off to nearby Sorriso Da Dada for a delicious authentic Bahian meal (Bahian meals are often served family style so advise you to order one and share).

Throughout our visit we appreciated the presence of the Federal Police in the area, they were friendly and gave you a good sense of being well protected, in a pleasant sort of way.

The drumming performances by street groups were absolutely magnificent, so exhilarating, if there wasn’t so much to see and do we would have spent a good portion of our time listening to them.

We stayed in a deluxe room with a view over the water, which was nicely appointed, roomy and had a nice large bathroom. Each morning we were greeted with a beautifully presented, tasty breakfast of tropical fruit and two fresh juices, scrambled eggs and a ham and cheese roll, basket of breads and jam, dessert and coffee or tea.

The hotel had arranged a private tour for us with Josuel Queiroz, an English teacher in Salvador. We were absolutely thrilled with Josuel as a guide as he gave us valuable insight into the history and culture of the area in a short period of time and provided us with a full day of wondrous sights. In the morning we walked the historic district, touring the four churches and a Center about Candomble (an interest of mine) and a place that visually compared Candomble ceremonies with practices in Africa through old photographs. We also stopped in a fascinating gem and jewelry shop called Lasbonfim right on the main square. They have an impressive array of stone carvings and I was able to find one by a specific Bahian carver I was looking for. Walked down the streets with the colorfully painted historic buildings and saw the place where Michael Jackson had filmed his “They Don’t Care About Us” music video.

In the afternoon, we headed out toward Ribeira, stopped in at a local artist shop-Prentice- for tile paintings of local scenes and then took a ferry over to Boca de Galinha (Chicken Mouth), a well known restaurant by the locals, for a delicious lunch of fresh Bahian seafood served family style bubbling in a cast iron pan. The restaurant gave us a beautiful view of Bahia de Todos os Santos (All Saints’ Bay). Next we stopped at a local farmer’s market so I could get a pair of beads like the ones I had admired earlier in the day at a Museum and then we ended our tour by stopping at Dique de Tororó Lake with the Orixás statues by Tatti Moreno. Before parting, to our surprise and complete delight, Josuel invited us to attend a service at his temple the following evening. We were extremely honored and cherished the experience. His temple was filled with a community of welcoming, warm, beautiful people. If you are lucky enough to get an invitation to a service, be respectful and make sure you wear proper clothing –not black. Also we learned that each Orixa has twelve different characteristics and each temple focuses on different ones so I am not sure all temples would be as uplifting as the one we attended.

We enjoyed dinner at the hotel that evening and then headed to a performance of the Folklore Ballet at a theater that was a quick walk from the hotel. We had left money at the front desk earlier in the day so they had purchased our tickets for that evening’s performance for us when the box office opened. Everything else we had learned earlier in the day made the performance all the more enjoyable for us since we had a richer context for what we were watching.

Casa do Amarelindo is the ideal spot for touring the historic district. It is like staying at a welcoming, cozy home, a perfect respite after a long journey while you are getting your land legs back and finding your way around the high spirited Salvador. I can’t wait to return and this is exactly where I want to stay again!

Hints:
Wear comfortable walking shoes
Lock valuables in the safe and only carry copies of your passport and a small amount of cash.
Dress simply with a cheap watch and don’t wear anything with diamonds or gold that would attract attention.
Consider using a simple digital camera versus a smartphone camera (smartphones are very expensive in Brazil due to high sales tax so they are big targets.)
Pay attention to the safety recommendations of the hotel---stay away from area still under reconstruction and indicated with red “x” on map.
Think about where you might want to hang a new piece of art at home and then focus in on that size. The streets are exploding with wonderful art pieces but it is almost overwhelming to try and absorb and focus on a particular piece as there is so much being offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We only visited for food and we were not disappointed. I had coconu6t fish and shrimp curry - best meal i had throughout my time in Brazil! Good value - may cost more than otyher places but worth it. Beautiful interior and friendly staff, located in the heart of the historic diatrict. We even came back the following night just for ice cream on the roof top bar!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A charming hotel in old Salvador where English is spoken by the host. The location is great in the heart of things and you can get a room overlooking the harbor and ships. The bed was the largest we had ever seen and the room very comfortable with good view. We saw the pool below us but did not partake.. We only stayed one night - did some shopping at the market within walking distance, and left early so we are unable to talk about their food other than a quick eat up on the rooftop bar overlooking the harbor. We were supplied with a map of the area and told the best places to walk to shopping and where we might stay away from while walking - a welcome bit of knowledge. We left very early to resume a tour of Brazil so missed what I have read as an excellent breakfast. All in all we would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

With a free welcome caipirinha on arrival the two owners certainly set the standards high. so then what could be wrong.....Location? - No in the heart of beautiful Pelourinho. Rooms? No - double sinks and plenty of amenities (essential for 3 ladies sharing a room!). Breakfast? No -this was something else. the menu changed daily (in the evening turn down service we received prior notice of what it would include in the form of a little ribbon tied scroll) but all you need to know is that it's an obscene amount of food which consisted with daily variants of; fresh fruit juices, fresh fruit and yoghurt, scrambled eggs, meat, quiche, salad, breads and cake.. oh and tea, coffee or hot chocolate. Free wi-fi worked in room 4 but not all the way up in room11 but then that's my excuse to go down to the lobby and lounge on their day bed to get a better signal! As we were staying for the carnival many bands and processions passed the hotel so you were right in the heart of the action.We loved this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed twice during our trip to Salvador. Stayed in room 4 and room 11.Room 11 had a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa do Amarelindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa do Amarelindo

Address: Rua das Portas do Carmo, 06 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#3 Family Hotel in Salvador
#12 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa do Amarelindo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de charme in a fully restored XIXth colonial house in the very heart of Pelourinho, facing All Saints' Bay. Sunny swimming pool and panoramic roof-terrace. 10 High standard rooms with luxury bedding, 1 gastronomic restaurant, 2 bars, 1 solarium, 1 fitness. All rooms with full sound insulation, air conditioning, ceiling fan, free broad-band internet access, free electronic safe, 42''LED TV, DVD, frigo-bar. Most rooms with private terrace or balcony with bay or city view. Free WiFi at restaurant, lobby and garden-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa do Amarelindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador
Casa Do Amarelindo Hotel
Hotel Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa do Amarelindo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.