We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded My Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa do Amarelindo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa do Amarelindo to your Saves list
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Portas do Carmo, 06 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-290, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Salvador
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Exceeded My Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

This was my first trip to Salvador, Brazil. I use tripadvisor all of the time to review hotels and read past guest comments. I was a little skeptical of how such a small boutique hotel could have so many excellent ratings. Well, after staying at the hotel for 3 days in March, I must say they deserve all the positive feedback. This hotel exceeded my expectations. I loved that they arranged for my pickup at the airport. The hotel is in the middle of all the action in the section of town called Pelourinho. We were only steps away from great restaurants, music and shops. When checking in, one of the owners personally came to greet us. Then, the receptionist Paulo Jackson gave us tons of useful information about Salvador (dining/music/etc) and a detailed tour of the hotel. The comfortable bed and the bay view from the room was a slice of heaven. This is a very well designed and quiet hotel. Everyone at the hotel made you feel like it was your home too. I was amazed at the politeness of the entire staff from the breakfast servers, bartenders and various receptionists. The staff made our trip to Salvador amazing. We had a problem with a tour I had booked with my travel agent and the hotel helped us at the last minute find a new tour guide that was amazing. We will definitely return to this hotel. In my opinion there is no need to consider other hotels. Simply, Hotel Casa do Amarelindo is the best!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    72
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
433
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

we came to stay here for carnaval and found the hotel a haven from the frenetic activity outside at that time - the owners are very attentive and their team is excellent so newcomers feel informed and welcome very quickly - biggest bed i have ever slept on and a great position to explore the pelourinho - now we need to return at a quieter time to really explore the whole city...best breakfast we have had on a year of travel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This is our third stay at the Amarelindo, and our first time during Carnaval. The hotel is an oasis in the midsts of the colorful, active and constantly moving Pelourinho area of Salvador Bahia. Stepping inside one is surrounded by beautiful sculptural renditions of the Orixas, tropical plants and light! It is very quiet, even on the street side of the hotel (even with the bands going by throughout carnaval). The staff is very helpful and what they do not know they will look up for you. They arrange for taxis and transportation to anywhere. The views on to the sunsets on the Bahia de Todos los Santos are breathtaking We could go on and on. Comfortable, very safe, and totally amazing! This is not a high rise hotel on the beach but it is a home away from home (something a high rise can never be).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed at Amarelindo during the carnival 2011 and must say that we were very impressed by the excellent service and spacious and clean room. The staff spoke good to excellent English and was very helpful. Even though the carnival festivities were just outside the window, it was no problem to sleep at night. The breakfast deserves a special mention, since it was very munch out of the ordinary (in a good sence) and was served at request also after the normal breakfast hours. The daily glass of sparkling wine was a nice surprise too! It should be mentioned that it is not possible for taxis to drive up to the hotel (or even close) during the carnival, which made it somewhat difficult to get to/from the hotel, especially at night. The believed size of the pool on the poolpictures is not the way it appears, could have been a jacuzzi instead.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011 via mobile

This is an island of calm and comfort in the midst if the intensity and color of the Pelourinho The staff were excellent, the owners gracious, our room was amazing. The small dining area where we had quite a full breakfast (included) is charming and, like the other common areas, tasteful and beautifully appointed. We will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I arrived home yesterday from a 2 month trip to Brazil and this is my first review - prompted by the most disgraceful reply to a previous travellers very real concerns. The management chose to lambast a client in the most patronising manner for suggesting that their room was not satisfactory. Whatever the rights and wrongs of why they ended up at the hotel, their very real concerns deserve an adult response.
We selected this hotel for it's cental location in the old city and it fitted our requirements on that score. It is a symathetic, stunning restoration of a historic town house; . an interesting book has been produced, in the reception, charting the history of it's makeover. The bar and restaurant staff were utterly delightful, always ready to oblige any request. The food, both at breakfast and from the 'a la carte' menu, was first rate. The pool and roof terraces were exceptional, with fantastic views, as there were from the bedrooms.
This is where we would have to agree with the critic from Brazil, the bedrooms are fairly well appointed although we did speak to other guests who were very unhappy with their broken furniture and slimey showers. We, however, did have problems with the airconditioning unit and also felt the towels were tatty and soiled for a hotel of this quality. These concerns did not overly bother us and, baring in mind the quite hostile reception, we did not bother requesting a room change.
Had we realised the complete arrogance of the management we would have asked to speak to the owner. I would like to have recommended this hotel to others but our expereience, in the knowledge of other concerns and the patronising manner with which they have been treated, make this very unlikely. Do not be put off visiting this beautiful city, try and lodge in the atmosheric heart, and make sure you take time to relax and let it's allure take hold. You will want to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarelindo, Owner at Hotel Casa do Amarelindo, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Thank you for your nice comments regarding the hotel, restaurant and bar. We’re very sorry to learn that you had some problem with your air conditioning and towels, and we would have liked to be aware of that while you were staying with us. All our team, from receptionists to management, is totally, and at any time, receptive to give our guests the best attention they deserve. Technical problems may happen with higher frequency in tropical countries, where humidity is ruinous, and maintenance is one of our most important concerns. We’re regularly checking the equipment of our rooms, but the opinion of our guests is always very helpful to detect as soon as possible what may not meet our standards anymore. In that case, we’re always happy to hear these comments and we do our best to take immediately all the necessary corrective actions. Be sure that we already scheduled such actions for all detected problems in the last reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I should qualify this heading by mentioning that we reserved this hotel through a UK booking agent and feel that we payed a little over the odds for their standard room. I had attempted booking on line but believe that in busy periods they possibly only deal with agents. This was the 10 th hotel of our 6 week South American travels, chosen for it's local atmosphere and central location - it fitted our requirements perfectly but for the rooms. We, too, had a problem with the aircon, we ended up sleeping with our heads at the foot of the bed to avoid being in a hurrican We returned twice to the hotel and were in another standard room the second time, with the same problem. Possibly because we were fully relaxed by then, we chose to laugh about it sooner than complain - we had been told at check in that the hotel was full and we would only get what we reserved!
However, everything else about this property was beautiful, the breakfasts were truely sumptuous, the roof terrace spectacular, and the staff charming. The bar also makes some of the best cocktails in Brazil, served with the friendliest of smiles.
The location is unbeatable - in the center of the historic district with a wide variety of retaurants and cafes within a 10 min walk. We were warned of a couple of no-go areas at night, but then there are areas of any city in the world where I would only go with caution.
We would return to this hotel but make reservations directly and avoid the VERY standard rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarelindo, Owner at Hotel Casa do Amarelindo, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
We first would like to thank you for your very nice comments regarding the hotel. We’ll transmit your high satisfaction to our bar team for their wonderful caipirinhas!

We regret you didn’t manage to book the room you wanted online. For being a small hotel with only 10 rooms, the availability we open for online booking is necessarily limited.

You can get in contact directly with us through our website, but also through the hotel e-mail link available on our TripAdvisor web page. We do answer to all direct requests in a minimum of 7 hours (night break). We do not have any exclusivity deal with agents and we would have been glad to have your direct booking.

Although you find an original solution, we would have liked to be aware of your problems regarding the air conditioning. The orientation of the air flow may have been thrown out and we would have been pleased to fix it. On check-in, our receptionists are trained to show the use of the air conditioning to make sure that our guest may find the more comfortable tuning for them. Although our guests may find air conditioning guidance in the information book in their room, we will reinforce this information through the use of a control remote holder that will show the basics of the air conditioning control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa do Amarelindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa do Amarelindo

Address: Rua das Portas do Carmo, 06 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-290, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salvador
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#10 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa do Amarelindo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de charme in a fully restored XIXth colonial house in the very heart of Pelourinho, facing All Saints’ Bay. Sunny swimming pool and panoramic roof-terrace. 10 high standard rooms with luxury bedding, 1 gastronomic restaurant, 2 bars, 1 solarium, 1 fitness. All rooms with full sound insulation, air conditioning, ceiling fan, free broad-band internet access, free electronic safe, LCD TV, DVD, frigo-bar. Most rooms with private terrace or balcony with bay or city view. Free WiFi at restaurant, lobby and garden-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa do Amarelindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador
Casa Do Amarelindo Hotel
Hotel Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa do Amarelindo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.