We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cocoon to your Saves list
Hotel Cocoon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Haeckel Jose De Almeida 238 | Jaguaribe Beach, Salvador, State of Bahia 41613-100, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 106 Hotels in Salvador
argentina buenos aires
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is small, the location is not so good, only for one night is fine.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You are absolutely right: we are a small hotel. But t I don’t agree with you about our locations.
We are on the best beach of Salvador at only 8 km from the airport. Really in our district we haven’t the best Salvador nightlife. The best nightlife is in Rio Vermelho district but there is no beach. So you have to choose if staying in the chaos of Rio Vermelho with no beach or if stay in our quiet district with a beautiful beach. In our district, Jaguaribe, there are some night places like Bali beach club ( the best samba of the city ') and Oba Oba (the best pagode music of the city). More than this we have some good restaurants like the churrascaria Sal e Brasa , the Japan restaurant Zen Paulista and the famous bahian restaurant Yemanha.
So even here we have a bit of nightlife. Thank you for your preference and thanks for the review. Best regards.

Pielruigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    63
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
24
76
21
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

As a former manager for a luxury international hotel chain, I feel qualified to leave this review:

The pluses: Warm staff, great food on the restaurant menu & for breakfast, close to beach, a relaxed ambiance, good music, nice pool, and a very international clientele the week I went.

The minuses: Went during Carnival & didn't realize distance from the historic district of Pelourinho -- it cost 30 USD each way in a taxi & it was 40 min. ride -- a little dangerous when drivers are taking you through some sketchy areas at night. Only one person on staff spoke English during our stay, and she did not work every day. I read reviews on TripAdvisor while staying there & noticed that the owner commented on this fact to other reviewers. but the truth is that during even the busy week of Carnival, there were no regular English-speakers on staff. Ants were also a problem.

The hotel needs to do a better job in their in-room literature on resources nearby in several languages for guests (a nearby supermarket, a shuttle to the mall, possible restaurants close by, etc.). I learned of several of these things near the end of my stay only by chatting with other guests.

I'd recommend this place for any tourists as an antidote to the hustle & bustle of the compact Pelourinho area for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review is one of the most useful , real end objective on our Cocoon.
You have absolutely right : we have problem to find workers who speak English, but in the last 6 months we have changed some front desk receptionist and now we have 3 of 5 who speak English.
Also about the location you have partially right. Our district has’t the best Salvador nightlife. The best nightlife is in Rio Vermelho district but there is no beach. So you have to choose if staying in the chaos of Rio Vermelho with no beach or if stay in our quiet district with a beautiful beach. In our district, Jaguaribe, there are some night places like Bali beach club ( the best samba of the city ') and Oba Oba (the best pagode music of the city). More than this we have some good restaurants like the churrascaria Sal e Brasa , the Japan restaurant Zen Paulista and the famous bahian restaurant Yemanha. So even here we have a bit of nightlife. Thank you for your preference and thanks for the helpful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pielruigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Stayed here on a trip to Salvador while living in Sao Paulo. The hotel is wonderful. The staff incredibly helpfu and friendly. The food was wonderful, especially the bruschetta. The rooms very comfortable. The hotel is ultra modern. The pool nice. My only concern is that there isn't much for restaurants and other things in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the good review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We're assuming that the theme of this hotel is based on the movie cocoon, since that's what it's called and it has a spaceship theme, complete with a habit of referring to its guests as astronauts. There isn't really anything I can say that is overwhelmingly bad about this hotel, but I find a lot about it confusing. The design sense is interesting if a bit cold, warmed up by shots of bright orange everywhere. There are even some kookie, fun features in the room, like a sliding mirrored wall that hides the bathroom and an orange fridge.
But why have every light, tv included, be on an on/off switch controlled by a key pocket so you can only have everything on or off? The toilet seat is also discolored, a funky yellow which is disturbing. It's in a strange neighborhood in Salvador, with nothing much nearby. The sheets on the bed feel like sandpaper, but the food and this restaurant isn't bad and the staff is full of eye candy. All in all, I'd say a better location, some English-speaking staff and tweaks to the rooms would make this interesting hotel worth a second visit.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review was very helpful for us.
In the last 6 months we have changed some front desk receptionist and now we have 3 of 5 who speak English.
We also change all the toilet seat and al the sheets ( 300 pefil).
Starting from march 2011w e have a new chef de cuisine , Dario, and we are receiving a lot of good review about our new gastronomy. Someone is speaking that we have the best Italian restaurant in Salvador
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon for check all the news Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I am happy that Salvador has finally a small stylist design hotel with a very good price. Is the first time in my live that I meet a design hotel with a right rice.

I know the city very well and the location is good for Salvador standard, where nothing is really close and there is no perfect location. The COCCON is located very closed to the airport and only at 200 mt from a beautiful beach.
The hotel has a orange pool and wonderful sun beds which we enjoyed very much. Breakfast has a great variety of choice including typical foods from Bahia and natural fruit juice.

Service was always polite and with a big smile.
I did not care much about the decoration of our room, but everything was clean and in order. Very good choice of TV channels, also international.
The only thing we both really disliked was the wine card. Only one type of French wine.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Starting from march 2011w e have a new chef de cuisine , Dario, and we are receiving a lot of good review about our new gastronomy. Someone is speaking that we have the best Italian restaurant in Salvador. But you are right, we have to improve our wine list and we are working for do this.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRIESTE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Only one week..... not too much for tasting all the comfort that the Cocoon offer...
I leave there a piece of my mind looking the sea im my sweet room, with sea view!
A big kiss at our room cleaner, and all the people that work there....
A very good Hotel, a very good Holiday italian Style.....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padova
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

It 's a small hotel with its own style and very well decorated with products made with recycled cans tabs that are fantastic as well as has a valuable social and ecological content. I buy a fantastic bag for my notebook.
The food is excellent and in the evening the lounge is very relaxing and well attended.
The music that the DJ played in the lounge was too much "house". I think “soulful” music will be more appropriate.
All the staff is young and very nice and I made friends with everyone: Adriana, Camilla Anaclaudia, Giulinao, Cida.
The hotel is far from Pelorinho but has an excellent beach and many restaurants nearby ( do not miss the churrasqueria Sal and Brasa )
I enjoy my stay and make good friends. Worth.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cocoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocoon

Address: Rua Haeckel Jose De Almeida 238 | Jaguaribe Beach, Salvador, State of Bahia 41613-100, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cocoon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cocoon & Lounge, the unique design hotel with italian restaurant in Bahia. On one of the best beach in Salvador. The best pool with muticolor lights and with eletrolize system without industrial cloro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cocoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Salvador
Hotel Cocoon Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.