We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, History & Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Convento do Carmo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Convento do Carmo to your Saves list
Pestana Convento do Carmo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Carmo, 1 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-330, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Salvador
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Location, History & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Historic Centre in Salvador, the Pelourinho, is now a UNESCO site with more than 800 colonial houses of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries and buildings such as this hotel, the Pestana Convento do Carmo, a former 17th century convent. Our first room was too small for our needs so we switched to #235 a large room on the same floor. It had a beautifully renovated spacious bathroom with two sinks, a huge bed (bigger than king size), seating area with couch and table, separate work desk, extremely high ceilings and more. The hotel was a fairly close walk to the centre of the Pelourinho (the older part of the upper city) and lots of restaurants. However when we tried to walk to a restaurant the first night we got lost and police pretty much insisted that we take a taxi immediately to get to our destination. It did not feel safe to be walking about in the dark to say the least. The breakfast was disappointing - too many pastries and not the type of food we like (just brought to us table service and not buffet except for the last day of our stay) - however we could order eggs any style and they were tasty. The spa wasn't air conditioned but the therapist was sweet and the massage quite good. Had some internet connection troubles and communication issues with staff that spoke no English. Loved the "anti-stress" cocktail but the bar ran out of its fresh ingredients and we couldn't order it the next two nights we tried. Other than that a most pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are charming but small. If you have an issue with that go up a category or two. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    91
    39
    13
    10
See reviews for
72
178
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is an idyllic oasis on the edge of the Pelourinho district of Salvador. The welcome and check-in by the reception was efficient and comprehensive, but a warning about dangers of being mugged or accosted for money in the surrounding area and a recommendation to be back at the hotel by 10 pm set mental alarm bells ringing. (We subsequently did experience some aggressive begging for money and overcharging by taxi drivers, but this appears to be common in Brazil and not exclusive to Salvador). The hotel has a serene quietness to it and walking through the cloistered courtyards to our room did give a sense of luxury and security. We had booked a junior suite (313) in the newly created upper floor which was proved to be an excellent choice as this was extremely spacious compared to your typical corporate business hotel room with beamed ceiling, sofa, desk, enormous bed and a shower room/toilet. Room service and houskeeping were excellent. Wifi access was included and connection was on the whole good but often erratic and slow at times.
The swimming pool in the main courtyard is actually bigger than it looks in the photos on their website, and there are adequate areas of shade and sunshine to meet all preferences ( when it stopped raining). The restaurant food can be well recommended although the dinner menu is very limited (as was the breakfast menu) and we found that some dishes were never available. Similarly, choice of wine was restricted by non availability. Overall the dining room staff were very pleasant, courteous and efficient, but some obviously required a lot more training to do justice to the hotel's claim that this was one of the top 40 restaurants ( in Brazil? South America? the world?). The bar staff were also very pleasant, but service stopped promptly at 11pm, so order that extra caipirinha early !
Finally, be warned that the 15 minute walk from this hotel to the upper level of Pelourinha (San Francisco Square), involves walking down a steep incline to the lower part of this area then up the longer, equally steep other side where you can find many bars, restaurants and shops. So after your meal around San Francisco Square, set off early to complete this trek back to the hotel, if you want to be back before 10pm !

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite on the top floor for the additional space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I am very happy to express my complete satisfaction with the facilities, staff and service that me and our Rio based group tour coordinator received during our recent stay at Pestana Convento do Carmo for the BNTM tourism conference, April 10-15-2013. The overall service we experience from the staff was super! No worries, if your Portuguese needs improvement, because the front desk was staffed 24/7 with a super friendly, very professional, English speaking employee. The breakfast was excellent, the rooms were super comfortable, and the manager and staff all seemed committed to making our stay at this unique hotel property an overall exceptional experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Travelled with my family to Salvador,Brazil in late 2011. The travel agent suggested this quaint hotel, which was previously a convent in "old town". To get the hotel you travel through cobbled ,narrow roads which enhance the experience tremendously. There is a cable car which can be used at a nominal fee to connect Old Town to the city below. There was a vibrancy in the town with regular festivals and parades which we found most enchanting. The hotel has Free wifi and a delightful pool, however the restaurant was " disappointing". Thankfully we could walk to nearby restaurants for dinner and also enjoy the " vibe" of the town.

Room Tip: Sea view or street view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a very luxurious and very calm and quiet hotel in the historic district of Salvador. The staff went out of their way to look after our every need. The historic monastery building has been tastefully converted in to a very spacious modern hotel. It is a bit of a walk in the hilly city to some of the other sights, but the doorman always could get us a taxi (inexpensive) instantly. The breakfast was good and the bar has a reasonable selection of appetizers and sandwiches if you don't want to dine in the fancy (and expensive restaurant). There are two good restaurants a block a way. Free Internet had occasional outages.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a step up to the bathroom. If you tend to wander around half-awake in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Convento do Carmo is a oasis in the middle of the busy and vibrant district of Pelourinho, in Salvador, Bahia, Brazil. The impecable service goes beyond expectation. Nice staff, excellent food and the unbeatable relaxing atmosphere of a monastery will make you feel like a king. I strongly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Salvador. Furthermore, its history itself worth a visit (the building dates from 1658).

Room Tip: We stayed at a loft suite, but rooms don't change much in style and comfort. The only differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We expected much more from the ratings but the staff and service really let this hotel down. Breakfast was very poor.The staff were poorly trained and putting empty coffee pots back with the full ones. The juice they brought was undrinkable and the choice of food was limited. Water in the shower was lukewarm at best. The building is very large and no help was offered with our cases when we checked out because they seemed to be very understaffed. After 2 days, we had already realised this, so had to give ourselves plenty of time to get them down to the entrance in the very small elevator. Plenty of room for improvement!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Convento do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Convento do Carmo

Address: Rua do Carmo, 1 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-330, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Salvador
#2 Business Hotel in Salvador
#3 Family Hotel in Salvador
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Convento do Carmo 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Convento do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Convento Do Carmo Hotel Salvador
Pestana Convento Do Carmo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Convento do Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.