We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, courteous staff, comfortable and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Redfish

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada Redfish to your Saves list
Pousada Redfish
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ladeira do Boqueirao, N.1, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-360, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 138 Salvador B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, courteous staff, comfortable and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in a lovely room on the second floor. My sister had a room in the lush courtyard. Very comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff were helpful, breakfast was delicious and we found the location to be very convenient to main historic areas. You do have to be aware of your surroundings when out and about and take proper precautions, however this is true for most of Salvador - and many of the world's big cities - I should think. We had no problems even when returning home late (11-12pm) from dinner. Its a beautiful, historic area that is being gradually restored so yes there are some derelict buildings however overall it is full of life and character with plenty to see. Take heed of Charles's (the owner) tips for where to eat - he lives there and knows what he's talking about - we had brilliant coffee and great food on his recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    31
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
44
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Matheus and Tessa were both extremely helpful and nice. The kitchen staff at breakfast was also nice and would prepare omelettes, eggs etc. to order. The whole poussada has original artwork throughout and has the red fish motif /design delightfully placed all around, even the ironworks.
The garden courtyard has hammocks and the whole building seems to get breezes at night (although each room has AC).
We felt very comfortable at the Poussada and enjoyed our stay. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views but lower floors have fewer stairs and are closer to the garden/cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Salvador before but enjoyed it so much more when staying at the redfish. The rooms there are huge, the owner Charles is an artist and has done the whole place very beautifully . In addition the staff are amazingly helpful and you have a very central location right in the heart of the pelorinho. I could not recommend the place more !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

In order to avail myself of Salvador's New Year's Eve party in its new location in the city center I took a room at Hotel Redfish, where I stayed several years ago.

It was all there, the high ceilings, the cool stone floors, the general feeling of space and light (not surprising really, the owner is an artist). To my surprise the hotel's chief jack-of-all-trades Marcio was still there, well-intentioned and helpful as always!

In spite of it being New Year's Eve morning Charles, the English owner (and above-mentioned artist), was in at breakfast time, full of news about the city's new cultural programming and redevelopment projects. During this I was able to enjoy a cup of tea that I thought wasn't possible outside of the British Commonwealth!

Great start to the year!!!

P.S. As a huge Monty Python fan I was thrilled to hear that Michael Palin stayed here while filming for his BBC documentary BRAZIL!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at Pousada Redfish 2 weeks ago for 4 nights. It was an excellent choice. The owner and staff made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. They offered us a nicer, larger room than the one we reserved because it was available. This better room had 2 comfortable, king beds--we slept well--and a private balcony. The staff helped us to figure out our paths to explore Salvador. The tropical fruits at breakfast were delicious and something to look forward to every morning. The kitchen staff had breakfast early for us on our final morning when we had an early departure. The hotel was clean. We liked the art on the walls. The hotel is a short walk from the Pelourinho, close enough to get there and back quickly but far enough away that the noise of the Pelourinho didn't disturb us when we were at Redfish. We'd be glad to stay here again if we return to Salvador.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1, the larger room on the top floor with the private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The rooms are fairly nice. The breakfast is delicious and you can even make special requests. The hotel is clean, although you will see an occasional lagartixa (or white lizard). The price, however, is a ripoff. The location is isolated and dimly lit. You are in walking distance from Pelourinho (the city center), far from the beach (the Barra area), and close to impoverished areas that are not recommended for tourists. Please use a taxi after dark or early in the morning (i.e., before sunrise and business hours).

Overall, I was comfortable in the hotel, but the owner is totally taking advantage of customers by charging so much in a place where service positions (housekeepers, cooks, etc.) are paid so little (e.g., R$25-70 per day for an entire household). I recommend shopping around before you book a room here!

Room Tip: Always ask for student discounts. Sometimes you can save up to half off the original price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Owner at Pousada Redfish, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
The trouble with Trip Adviser is sometimes owners of hotels, restaurants, etc. to put up with reviews that seem to be written without a huge amount of thought put in. A hotel review should be about the hotel. It is fair to comment on the quality of the experience staying at said hotel, using criteria such as comfort, cleanliness, how one was treated, quality of the breakfast, etc. Obviously one could complain if the hotel’s publicity was at all misleading (i.e. stating said hotel was near a beach when it wasn’t; claiming a/c when there was none, etc.). The price can also be criticized if proven unreasonable compared to similar establishments. I don’t think this review follows these criteria. The guest was obviously pretty comfortable, was happy with the levels of cleanliness and is very complimentary about the breakfast. But marks the Redfish down because it wasn’t near where I (the owner) never claimed it to be near to, and was over-priced (a “rip off”) because people aren’t paid very much in Brazil.

The Redfish is located exactly where we state it is in all our publicity; in fact Adrienne seems to agree with our stated location “walking distance from Pelourinho”. Salvador is a pretty big city (over 3 million) so anyone visiting needs to chose between the Historical Centre, Barra and other locations (Rio Vermelho, Convention Centre, airport, etc.) depending on their needs and preferences. It is simply not possible to be both near Pelourinho and near the beach at Barra, and we never suggest otherwise. As to our neighborhood, if it was so wrong, how can anyone explain the large number of pousadas, hostels and even boutique hotels established here? Pelourinho is perhaps the only neighborhood in Salvador with a higher density of such establishments.

And “rip off”? On what basis does she reach this conclusion? She obviously has no actual complaints about my hotel. My rates are actually pretty competitive (I actually found out last year that it was cheaper to stay at the Redfish for carnival than taking a bunk-bed in a hostel, if 3 or more people shared a room): you will not find a similar level guest house any cheaper in Salvador unless you manage some special deal. And talking of special deals, I fell for her student plea and even gave her a 15% discount!! So she actually paid R$161,50 (equal to US$70 at today’s rates) for a double room with a queen-size bed, a/c, and lovely bathroom with a proper hot shower, and including what she considered a “delicious” breakfast.

In conclusion, I have checked my reservations and it appears Adrienne stayed at the Redfish in March 2011. At no point in any of our email correspondence did she give any indication she wished to be near a beach or she thought our prices were anything other than what she expected. As mentioned I did give her a 15% discount and it does seem she was pretty satisfied with the hotel. So please follow her suggestion and “shop around” before choosing where to stay. And, if you don’t like the occasional gecko sharing your hotel, it is perhaps best to avoid the more tropical parts of Brazil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel Red Fish is located in a fully renovated colonial building about a fifteen minute walk from the Historic Center of Salvador. The rooms are large and well-appointed with brightly painted funky furniture. The halls are lined with the hotel owners artwork (Charles Butler) featuring three-dimensional scenes of Salvador. Breakfast is included with a variety of fresh fruit juices, yogurt’s, breads and eggs. It is more of a funky boutique hotel so do not expect the four star service but instead loads of charm.

The room I stayed in, was large with two king size beds and a balcony with views of the neighborhood.

THE PROS
Colorful rooms some with view
Great breakfast
Colonial charm

THE CONS
15 minute walk to tourist sites
Beds are firm
Limited Amenities

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Redfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Redfish

Address: Ladeira do Boqueirao, N.1, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-360, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Redfish 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Redfish is a lovely hotel/pousada located in the Centro Historico, a short stroll from the famous Pelourinho. It was rebuilt and is owned and run by an English artist in the style of a comfortable guesthouse with a strong aesthetic appeal. This means Redfish is very spacious and has beautiful, high, wooden ceilings, patterned stone floors and painted furniture thoughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada Redfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Redfish Hotel Salvador
Pousada Redfish Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Redfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.