We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room stuck in the seventies, would be great if all rooms were updated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bahiamar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bahiamar Hotel to your Saves list
Bahiamar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Joao Mendes Da Costa Filho, 125 | Jardim de Alah, Salvador, State of Bahia 41750190, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 106 Hotels in Salvador
Sheffield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Room stuck in the seventies, would be great if all rooms were updated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our room was outdated (seventies style) and so was the bathroom, but everything was very clean. I noticed that some bedrooms were updated and modern (the ones with sea views I think), but unfortunately ours wasn't. The breakfast is fantastic and very varied and the service is generally good. The hotel is located near the beach, it takes about 20 min to get to Pelourinho by car and 30 min by bus (if you don't speak Portuguese it will be difficult to get the bus, as there is no information at bus stops and you need to ask people). It also takes 30 min to get to the airport from there by taxi. It would have been good if the hotel had had a shuttle service to the airport instead of having to bargain with taxi drivers (if they ask for more than 60 reais to drive you from the hotel to the airport they're ripping you off and they'll put up the price immediately if they see that you are a tourist).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    82
    51
    12
    12
See reviews for
63
36
5
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I always stay there when I travel to Salvador to work.
It's located at the waterfront.
There is many options of public bus. You can came and go to the airport by bus and micro bus.
It's near to the beach. Just a few minutes by walking.
Good instalations. The rooms are comfortable and spacious.
The only problem to me is the pillow top: it is much flexible.
There is a good swmming pool, with warm water (because the sun).
The breakfast is very good. The restaurant prepare snaks and plates at night. Very good.
The staff is very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were there in February 2010 we had a good room the people were very helpfully the restaurant was very good and the breakfast was the best I would go and stay there again.the beach was across the road great beach the front desk people were always very hellpful it was a little removed from pelourinho but cabs were always available and they were very resonabal priced .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Although we did have a good time at Salvador I have to say the Hotel was not the best! I have to say this hotel seems to be needing some maintenance! The elevator is terrible! Every time you go in it seems it is going to get stuck! And we did get stuck once! I did complain to the front desk and they didn't seem to care that much!
To be fair the breakfast is really great and the staff is very friendly as everywhere else in Salvador! But the bed wasn't that great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monza
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

good hotel, just in front of the seaside, with a beautiful pool.
also the restaurant is good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camboriu
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

The only thing good in the hotel is the breakfast... old rooms, bad service. The parking is free at least

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Before I start this review, please bear in mind that I did not pay for my stay in this hotel, I was booked in by the organisers of a congress in the nearby Salvador Convention Center. My views are therefore qualified by the fact that I was not spending my own hard-earned cash to stay there.

Overall, I had no problems staying at this hotel. In summary, its plus points are: proximity to the convention center, truly excellent breakfast buffet, proximity to the beach, perfectly adequate room facilities. On the negative side, it's nowhere near the centre of town, the on-site leisure facilities are limited (small pool, limited gym equipment, it doesn't have a proper bar) and from the posted prices at reception, it does seem expensive.

I get the feeling that this hotel suffers for falling between two stools, I'm not sure that it knows exactly what it wants to be. I couldn't really recommend it as a family hotel, as the on-site facilites are limted and the beach, while lovely, is not great for kids as the waves are quite large (although a competent adult swimmer will be OK). Yet I'm not convinced it makes a great business hotel, as it is quite small and, according to the other reviews, lacks some facilities. I'm guessing that most of its guests would be attending conferences in the nearby convention centre, and thus don't need many on-site "business hotel" amenities, and yet without many families there staying either.

The hotel is practically right on the beach front, with a pedestrian crossing as well to help you across the very busy road (extremely helpful). The beach is wide and sandy, and in the stretch in front of the hotel, jammed with barracas (beach snack bars) which have their tables lined up down to the tide line. This is because to either side of this ~ 500m stretch, there are rocks which would make swimming much more hazardous. This sandy section is also covered by lifeguards which is reassuring. Swimming here must be classed as OK-to-dangerous, if you are not a competent swimmer then I wouldn't venture in. But for those that do, the surf is invigorating and the beach dips slowly, so although the waves can pound you and sweep you around, the currents aren't so strong that they will whip you out to sea, and nor will they whisk you quickly out of your depth. Also, check with the lifeguards or beach waiters or surfers if there are any jellyfish that day, as they do get blown in occasionally, and the sting is painful (I can personally vouch for that!). If you do get stung, get out of the water straight away and ask in one of the bars for vinegar and salt, which should be splashed on the stung area. That will rapidly soothe the pain. I mentioned surfers, and here seems to be where a large number congregate to enjoy the heavy (and rock-free) surf. They are further out than the general area for swimming, although they occasionally ride all the way in so keep an eye out while in the water.

If you don't want to swim, or between dips, then just sit on a chair under the parasols, grab a cold beer, order some snacks and just enjoy the view. The people here are very friendly, and will help with just about anything (including the all important vinegar and salt remedies!). There are a few intinerant vendors, but they are very low-pressure and not-at-all bothersome.

Nearby the hotel are some decent restaurants (Yemanja and a portugese bacalau restaurant - beware, portions are huge - are the two I tried) and a short walk away (but only walk if you are in a decent sized group, otherwise take taxis) are a couple of bars with a lively evening scene (I went to Happy News, where there is live music at weekends). The Aeroclube is also a short drive away, with all the restaurants and bars you could ever need in one place. Also nearby is a good, 24 hr supermarket (Bompreco) with ATMs inside.

Overall I was happy with my stay at the Bahiamar, but find it hard to recommend to vacationers. There will be better located, better appointed, and better value hotels in Salvador for sure.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahiamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahiamar Hotel

Address: Rua Joao Mendes Da Costa Filho, 125 | Jardim de Alah, Salvador, State of Bahia 41750190, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahiamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahiamar hotel offers 129 rooms (Standard, Luxury, Executive and Suites) with cable TV channels, direct-dial telephone, 24 hour room service, in-room safes, broadband access and private balcony, form where you can see the beach. Everything to ensure you a perfect night. Same price for one or two people per room.The Hotel is conveniently located in front of the beach of Jardim de Alah. Close to the Convention Center of Bahia, main restaurants of the city, malls and tourists points.Wireless internet;Free parking place; Restaurant and leisure FacilitiesEnjoy the Marlin restaurant with its tradicional and internacional cusine. The restaurant also offers a fantastic buffet with international and traditional brazilian breakfast included at the daily fee. It is the perfect place for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Recreation area with swimming pool, sauna and restaurant overlooking the sea;Special Breakfast;Grill eats the swimming pool.Conferences and Business RoomsWith meeting and banquet facilities for up 300 people, we have the flexibility to cater to your needs.We also offer a modern Convention Room for 300 people, with a total space of 335m², secretaries and small meeting rooms, toillets, foyer's, sound room audio-visual equipment, air conditioner and energy generator.Our staff is willing to work with you in order to make your private receptions and corporate functions successful events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bahiamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahiamar Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahiamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.