We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho

Save Saved
You added Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Monte Conselho, 505 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-370, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #31 of 105 hotels in Salvador
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

This hotel is very good, but the rooms that are turned to the sea have a litle problem because of the "Mercado do Peixe" that is rigt above the hotel, peuple go there to eat at the end of the night, after the disco and there are a lot of noise.
But if you stay n the rooms that are turned to the front of the hotel it is very calm. The view is not so beautiful, but...
The rooms are very big and clean and the breakfast is great.

  • Liked — The room and the breakfast
  • Disliked — the noise
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    178
    84
    24
    6
See reviews for
56
115
22
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

We stayed at the Blue Tree Hotel for 2 nights during a tour of Brazil. The hotel was excellent for service and quality. The room we had was close to the top of the hotel and had excellent views of the beach and the coastline of Salvador.
The location was not too good as we needed a taxi to get into town which was not to expensive - approx £6.00 but each time we went they took a differenct journey in so we saw a lot more of the area.
Room service was excellent and nothing was too much bother, the staff was friendly and the hotel very clean. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Clean and views of Salvador
  • Disliked — Just a little too far to walk into town
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2006

The hotel was fine - nice rooms, good service from reception and in the dining room. We arrived late after trying to sort out missing bags at the airport and keen to unwind with a drink. Bar had just closed at midnight, and we had to wheedle a bit but they did let us have a drink.
Not sure about location but it depends what you are in Salvador for. We just wanted to do the tourist stuff around the Pelourhino, which is a good half hour taxi drive away. For a short visit I would have preferred a hotel in the Pelhourinho, but I think the Blue Tree Tower was probably more comfortable and less noisy. Our room overlooked garden and was very quiet - or perhaps we were just so tired that we didn't hear any local noise!

  • Liked — quality and comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — Salvador great for shopping. Buy those havianas here!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning of a 2 week tour of Brazil at the end of July 2006. Our room was quite spacious and clean, if a little dated and poorly lit. We were staying here for 3 nights during the Brazillian winter/low season and so the hotel was very quiet (in terms of number of guests) and we were only one of a handfull of people in the dining room when we ate in the hotel. We opted for the evening buffet as we wanted something quick. It was pretty cheap, less than £10/head but of only average standard.
We felt the location of the hotel was poor for a few reasons. The hotel is perched on top of a hill and a steep climb up from the main road below. There did not appear to be any decent looking bars or restaurants near by. In fact we heard from a local guide that you need to be quite careful if wandering about in the area and try to aviod carrying handbags, jewelly and cameras. A taxi seemed the only option to get around and would take around 20minutes to get to the Pelourinho district. Although the hotel has excellent sea views from the roof top swimming pool there is no beach at the hotel. The final issue about the loaction was the close proximity of a number of scruffy looking bars to the hotel which were quite noisy right up until 6am, so pack a pair of ear-plugs. These will also help block out the noise from within the hotel as all the floors are tiled which means trollies, chairs being scrapped and footsteps also create a lot of noise.
Bar, reception and restaurant staff were all helpful and pleasant but not much English was spoken.

  • Liked — Nice views from roof top pool and restaurant
  • Disliked — Location and noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Ear-plugs!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

My girlfriend and I went to Salvador for the carnival this year. She is from another area of Brazil and one of her sisters had arranged a place for us, an apartment in an area that was the 'Beverly Hills' of Salvador.
It was not like any Beverly Hills I had ever seen. Without saying too much about the apartment I will say that we got in a taxi and went looking for a hotel within an hour of landing there.
We were sure we would never find anywhere on the first day of carnaval but got lucky with the Blue Tree Towers.
Great service, all the amenities to help with carnaval abadas, blocos etc. and great food.
Stay there if you ever go to Salvador for carnaval.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2005

We stayed there for a 5-night trip, and we really enjoyed the hotel.

The service was great, the front-desk staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was simply amazing: they have a restaurant with a superb view and there were dozens of options in their delicious breakfast. We had lunch there a couple of days and the menu was fine, with options for all tastes.

The hotel was perfectly clean and comfortable, as well as the rooms. There is a business center and a gym, but didn't use any of it.

The pool is amazing, with a great view to the sea, and there's a pool table for the rainy days.

We went during the low season (during Winter in Brazil), so the hotel was really calm. It was a place to relax, so I have no idea what does it looks like in the Summer. Despite being Winter, the weather was really hot, with temperatures between 25C and 30C, with some showers in the evening.

The only bad thing about this hotel was the location: there are no points of interest nearby, so we needed a cab to go everywhere. Also, another thing to consider is that, to get to the hotel, there's a low hill we have to walk up, so it's very, very tiring... It won't bother if a person is driving, tough.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho

Address: Rua Monte Conselho, 505 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-370, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#21 Family Hotel in Salvador
#24 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho is close to all the best beaches of Salvador. Located just 30 minutes from Salvador International Airport and 9 kilometers from the city center, where the city’s Pelourinho and Mercado Modelo tourist attractions are located.The hotel has 200 apartments, distributed in three categories, os apartamkentos Standard, has an area of 30m², with air conditioning, safe, TV with cable programming, telephone, wi-fi internet and minibar. The Deluxe apartments has an area of 40m² with many comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho Hotel Salvador
Blue Tree Hotel Salvador
Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.