We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nosso Senhor do Bonfim church

Nosso Senhor do Bonfim church
Praca Senhor do Bonfim, s/n | Igreja Do Sr. Do Bonfim, Salvador, State of Bahia 40425-360, Brazil
(71) 3316-2196
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$54*
and up
Ranked #13 of 138 Attractions in Salvador
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tue-Thu & Sat 6.30am-6pm, Fri & Sun 5.30am-6pm
La Canada Flintridge, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not the best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Would not go out of my way to see it again, but I was glad to learn the real meaning of the word Bonfim...good ending to a dangerous trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,161
    858
    304
    37
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This church is a post card of Salvador. In the second thursday of january, occur a big fest in the church.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place to say a prayer, give thanks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We loved this church and all the ribbons and signs of religious devotion. Indeed the ribbon sellers are overwhelming and I think we overpaid. But is there a price on prayers for the believers? We gladly tied on ribbons, visited the gorgeous church and the room of miracles. If you wish to give thanks to Bomfim, go ahead and buy a wax head or body part outside of the church and place it in the box in the miracles room. The area around the church is lovely and offers a nice view. It is tourist trap with everyone trying to sell you something but just accept it for what it is and enjoy the visit! We would go back again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“worth a viist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

this church is located in the lower city of salvador, different from the historial center. more close to the local people.

located at the hill, nice setting when you got off from the bus.

i would say i like this church more than Sao Francisco Church because of the setting and background info. something i missed when i was there. this church is believed to have a healing power. there's a back room hanging a lot of plastic replicas of the bodies' parts from people who said thanks for cures. (i missed this room) don't miss when you're there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Terrific insight into Bahian culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The church is a must see for those interested in the Bahian culture since religion plays such a large role in it. The sights and colors create a vivid display of how Africans imported as slaves kept a hold on their roots and religion through rituals and beliefs manifested in this church through murals, artifacts and string -- yes, string. Every visitor gets bestowed with a string wrapped around his finger which you must wear until it drops off!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nosso Senhor do Bonfim church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosso Senhor do Bonfim church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.