We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, near the Pelourinho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada da Praca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pousada da Praca to your Saves list
Pousada da Praca
Rua Rui Barbosa, No 5 Centro, Salvador, State of Bahia 40020070, Brazil (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 106 Hotels in Salvador
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly staff, near the Pelourinho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A friend of mine and I stayed in that hotel during the worldcup 2014. The prices for that period were competitive and the staff really helpful and friendly. We used to share many drinks with them and the other foreigners and I will highly recommend that hotel to everyone ! See you next time I'll come back to Salvador!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Yeah, good hostel, but the ants, big red fokkers were simply too much.
The night we found them we left the room (after doing the ant holocoust with RAID - they kept coming), the next day we left the Pousada.
Moved to another one south of the center.

Location is good. If you will not get in the room with those big red fokkers (omg that were not like european ones, really big, like 1-1.5 cm) the place is OK.

Watch out on the beaches of Salvador. We were jumped and had to fight for our lifes with thugs.

Brasil is so much fun :-P

Room Tip: Dont use the rooms in the middle of the building, there were those "Grande Vermehlo Formigas&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is simple but nice because it offers affordable rates and it lies in a very central location, quite close to Elevador Lacerda and Polourinho, as well as Mercado Modelo (for those who want to head for the islands, such as Morro de São Paulo). The staff is really helpful and courteous, they're willing to give you any sort of tips that you may need on where to go and how to get there. They also offer a transfer at a good price for those coming from the airport. As October, 2012, I'd really advise you to get it. The driver is very gentle and will also show you a couple of spots on the way.
The room that we stayed was simple and basic, but clean and with good amenities. BF was alright.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good place to stay for a couple of days, very delicious breakfast and polite stuff, but nobody speak English ( not only in pousada but in the town too) so start learning portuguese to understand simple things... it's really close to city centre and to the bus station to Barra...there is a small cheap cafe por kilo near the pousada, where you could eat fast. I recommend to have dinner in the Barra's restaurant on the front raw to the beach... Food is great, especially bobo de camarao!

Room Tip: We had a triple room with bathroom inside on the second floor...It was quite well, but windows looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

In the reservation engine I have used on internet it was published that it had air conditioned in all rooms.

Well, it didin't have air conditioning at all, and a very noisy ceiling fan with 2 options... "off" or "tornado". No common sense on this, had a bad time with warm weather.

Toilets ok, rooms basic to the extreme but very clean. Personnel helpful. I have found breakfast horrible, much worst than most brazilian hotel I have visited. No fresh fruits, awfull coffee...

Ok place to stay short time if you are on the way to other places as Morro Sao Paulo

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

-room was more old than new
-not very clean (shower and toilet with stains from permanent humidity)
-windows and doors did not close properly
-aircon did not work properly
-doublebed room-> second bed was no bed in that sense, very hard, obviously we had a room worse than the others
-loud since pousada is located directly near market square, we were lucky since we were there out-of-season, otherwise sleep would have been impossible
-since the room service would always leave the window open, sheets and cushions always had a wet touch
-breakfast was excellent, enough, lot of fruits, no buffet

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada da Praca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada da Praca

Address: Rua Rui Barbosa, No 5 Centro, Salvador, State of Bahia 40020070, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 106 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada da Praca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Da Praca Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada da Praca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.