We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must-Stay Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme

Save Saved
You added Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua Aloisio de Carvalho, 95 | Vitoria, Salvador, State of Bahia 40081300, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 133 Salvador B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Must-Stay Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I are on night 3 of a 7-night stay in Salvador, Bahia (Brazil) at Casa Da Vitoria. This place is FANTASTIC. First of all, Salvador is awesome. A vibrant city with delicious food, stunning ocean views, and exceptionally nice people. Ditto these exact same comments for the pousada Casa da Vitoria.

It's very elegant, reasonably priced, comfortable. Perfect, really. The aesthetic is understated, with an emphasis on art and books. The furnishings spare, but stylish. Even with white walls and tile floors, the feel of the space is warm and relaxing and inviting, not cold. Think old world architecture, breezeways, ironwork, greenery, cantilevered wood stairs, a terrace with a view of the water (and the sunset.)

The breakfast is reason alone for coming here. I can assure you that whatever I say here will not do justice to the breakfast. This morning, for instance, we had piping hot coffee with warm milk, fresh persimmons, kiwi, mango, and guava. Toasted rolls with sweet butter and homemade jams—a kiwi cinnamon jelly and another that tasted a bit like pear, but was an exotic fruit from the amazon. So seriously good that my boyfriend and I wanted to eat them both by the spoonful. We were also served another fruit dish, some sort of homemade apple compote with chilled yogurt, a savory pancake-like thing with minced ham in it, a roasted tomato stuffed w/a local cheese and scented with whole cumin seeds. And finally, dessert. Yes, at breakfast. Warmed banana bread with cinnamon ice cream.

The only downsides: 1)I wish there were a couple of towel hooks in the bathroom. 2)There's a dedicated wifi modem for the downstairs and a dedicated wifi modem for the upstairs. Our upstairs modem has a strong signal but is cutting out frequently. They're calling a repairman tomorrow, so we have high hopes for a quick repair. At any rate, neither of these qualify as downsides, and I would unequivocably recommend this place to anyone.

As an aside, several reviews we read before the trip mentioned an issue with the open-air bathroom and lack of privacy. This has been resolved with a curtain.

We're only halfway through our trip, so I'll update my review if needed. So far, so good. We'll be coming back, and bringing friends the next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
66
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Casa da Vitoria and we just loved it!
The Pousada is in a newly renewed town house wonderfully furnished with basic yet elegant antique furnitures. Room was clean and bright... we felt immediately at home.

Augusta and Thales were perfect host, always kind and helpful but never sticky. The location is good, only 10R$ from Pelourinho in an upper scale neighborhood. You get to see some of the real Salvador instead of just the touristic center.

Finally THE BREAKFAST simple amazing experience of gourmet cousine with plates carefully designed and served by an impeccable waiter. This is a must try, we literally looked forward to it every night wondering what new combination of fruits, ice creams and treats we would be offered.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Four of us stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and that was a great stay! The owners are very nice and helpful, they provided us with great recommendations on the restaurants and what to do in the city - very useful tips! The property is very well maintained and nicely decorated, located in a very good and safe premium residential area, close to the beach and 7-10 min drive from the tourist area, liked it a lot! And the most astonishing were breakfasts - that was an example of fine dining (but in the morning): individual approach, food design is at the top level, as well as the variety of food (we had different breakfasts each morning) and its quality. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so better take the room on the down floor, so that you don't have to bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Thales and his sister are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your trip! The place is lovely, the room was spacious and super clean. Breakfast is different every day but always a 4-course gourmet breakfast :) Every day they would prepare a list of possible activities for me and gave wonderful tips on what not to miss in Salvador. It certainly became one of my favorite cities and I strongly recommend staying at casa victoria!

Room Tip: The room I stayed in (top floor) had a small problem of water dripping from the ceiling one night bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Thales told me that he was responsible for the restoration/conversion, one look at the place tells you that he put a lot of heart into it. Augusta is a charming, well-travelled hostess with such enthusiasm for this project---her heart is displayed in the most carefully designed and prepared breakfasts and a very high standard of housekeeping. The place attracts interesting people from all over the world, we enjoyed some great company.

This is one of a very limited number of places which will stay in or thoughts for a very long time

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaucluse
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

a very good hotel in Salvador, an oasis in the very bussy city! you can walk to the beach and the owners can organise a good taxi driver to visit a lot of things, good restaurant just next door...we did a special architectural tour and the owner explained the taxi driver where to go!great!
The rooms are really good and you feel at home! and then , the breakfast!!! woooo, a michelin star!really fantastic....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

A recently opened Pousada in an old villa in the leafy suberb of Vitoria.
We had the master suite which is beautifully furnished and spacious including a balcony. The "open window" in the bathroom is not a problem because it is screened.
Augusta is a charming and attentive hostess whose breakfasts are wonderfully inventive and beautifully presented. My only problem was that I could not persuade them to give me a cup of coffee first!
Not much in walking distance but the busses are easy to get to Barra where there are bars and eateries or go futher along the coast road to Vermelho and the excellent Fogo de Chao.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme

Address: Rua Aloisio de Carvalho, 95 | Vitoria, Salvador, State of Bahia 40081300, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa da Vitoria is the result of adaptation of a residence of the 60s carefully transformed into a charming guest house.Seven suites with air conditioning, minibar, safe, solar heating and free wireless internet.The Casa da Vitoria provides a family atmosphere with personalized service by owners and have spaces in their terrace overlooking the sea, TV room, reading room and library brasiliana focusing on history and art of Bahia. Included in daily, we offer a delicious breakfast carefully prepared with homemade and regional products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Vitoria Pousada De Charme Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.