We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to sleep in Salvador - CENTER LOCATION!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical to your Saves list
Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical
Largo do Pelourinho 7, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026280, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Przemysl, Poland
1 review
“Place to sleep in Salvador - CENTER LOCATION!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Fantastic Hostel placed in a heart of Salvador. The view from window is great and you can experience there the soul of Salvador. Tasty breakfast ( includes fruits and eggs), lockers for luggage in room and clean toilets. Very kind and helpful stuff. I could be in Salvador only 2,5 day and it was the best solution for me. Everywhere close, safe area around with police guys every street taking care of your security. I recommend this hostel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    35
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
46
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location in the middle of historical center, gives You possibility to feel the atmosphere of the Brazilian city. The place is excellent for open people, looking for fun rather than quiet. The music is all around, concerts, lessons, parades etc. The Pousada itself is nicely painted and offers a good various breakfast. There is a kitchen to be used. It is a great place to meet people, there's almost family atmosphere. Good choice for longer visit as well as short ones.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

First I want to mention that there’s a Samba/Percussion school on the bottom floor of this building. Loud--very loud music was often played non-stop between 10am-7pm and could be heard throughout the pousada. The variety at breakfast was good and the eating area was a fun place to chat & meet people. As another reviewer mentioned, I also had the first single room on the floor above the reception/eating room area. I kept the bathroom door closed since there was still a sewage odor (most likely due to that shower drain trap being emptied as water was used elsewhere in the building). In my room, there were no windows to the outside and the small wooden windows to the hallway could not be locked. The location is excellent and therefore bumps my 3 rating up to a 4. I’d consider staying here again knowing that I’d not be there during the day when the very loud percussion classes take place. I found the staff to be helpful & kind the five days I stayed there.
A slight misunderstanding on the quoted price was quickly resolved with a printout of the email correspondence between me and an employee who apparently doesn’t work there anymore. (Months before my arrival, it was discussed that I had to book a double/2 person room on a hostel booking website--although I would only be made to pay half of that price upon arrival since I was only one person. When I got there, they tried to charge me the double price.)

Room Tip: You might ask to check the room before you commit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luiz Felipe S, Proprietário at Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
When you rent Simples Room in the "Booking" or "hostelworld" is informed that kind of room has no window. We have two simple rooms without windows, but we have also two superior rooms with two windows in each room. Please take more attention when making the booking. You should read the description of the room before you rent it. About percussion school it is on the ground floor and in the basement of the hostel, but does not belong to our hostel and classes are (sometimes) maximum of three times per day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaramiranga, CE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hello! I had a great time here in Salvador Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical, Everyone on the team make you feel at home, helping you out for anything you might need, getting to understand how to make a phone call with all area codes that you have to dial, explaining where to go to visit the city ! They also organize nice parties at night. The breakfast was very good and being in Pelourinho was just perfect. Music, dance, percussion! Muito obridaga :)))) I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This Pousada is in an amazing location, right in the centre of Pelourinho. The owner is a great guy - really welcoming and helpful, and the atmostphere was relaxed and friendly. I had a room to myself with an en suite which was clean and quiet, although it is probably noisier if you have a room with a (beautiful) view of the street. A great breakfast too. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Location / even though I have to say that the historical centre has become quite unsafe especially by nightime....maybe for the world cup it will get better?!
The kindness of the owners
Cons: The room we were in was very small and the only window it had had a view on the pousada's staircase.
The mattress was extremely uncomfortable unless you do like sleeping on rocks!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luiz Felipe S, Proprietário at Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
When you rent Simples Room in the "Booking" or "hostelworld" is informed that kind of room has no window. We have two simple rooms without windows, but we have also two superior rooms with two windows in each room. Please take more attention when making the booking. You should read the description of the room before you rent it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The hostel is located at the center of Pelourinho and very near to the elevator which takes you to the port, near the Mercado Modelo (which is nice to visit and buy crafts and gifts).
The place is wonderful and picturesque, being in a typical Pelourinho house. It has a great view, especially from the upper floors, views to the sea and all the old churches and buildings.
The staff is wonderful, the recepcionist Rosario is very kind, friendly and attentive.
The beds are clean and comfortable.
I loved my stay there!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical

Address: Largo do Pelourinho 7, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Colonial style located in the heart of Pelourinho, this hostal is in front of the Museu do Poeta Jorge Amado, right next to Grupo de Afoxe Filhos de Gandhi and the famous Olodum. In addition to the impressive view of Casaroes do Centro, you can reach the nearby beaches of Salvador in eight minutes by bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.