We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place for the budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Hostel Salvador

Alpha Hostel  Salvador
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alpha Hostel Salvador to your Saves list
Alpha Hostel Salvador
Rua Eduardo Diniz Gonalves 128 Barra, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140310, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 108 Hotels in Salvador
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decent place for the budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stay 3 days and its nice place. Great staff. It´s clean and it was located on a good area. Walking distance from the main attractions.
Night walks you need to be carefull, nevertheless you get this kind of advise from the staff.
You get to know new people that have same travelling goals and get good opinions.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My aunt and me stayed there for 5 nights and was amazing!!! Everthing near like restaurantes and supermarkets, buses to the center and Barra is a great place! Bars and great night. The location by itself i didnt like very much...i mean the street of the hostel...after 11pm its kind a wierd...but nothing happend to us. The breakfast is amazing and the guys that workd there too!!! Tey help you with informations and anything you need.

Room Tip: Rooms in the south part is amazing...but you have a view of the street in the north part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 days, in a basic double with a private bathroom. As far as hostels go and my experiences with them in Brazil, the place was pretty much on par with the rest. You'll pay R3 for computer/internet use but it is apparently free to use if you have a wireless device (laptop, ipod, etc.).

PROS-
There is a free breakfast; coffee, bread, cheese, ham, and a fruit selection.
The staff are all very friendly, a few speak english as well.
There is no lockout time; make sure you take a cab back in the evening if you're coming from the center or the Pelourinho.
It is very affordable depending upon your preferences- We stayed in the double with private bathroom for R45, having received a travel discount. I'm sure the dorms are even cheaper.
They are located about 3-4 blocks from the beach and Av. Oceanica. From here, you can catch busses or cabs going east to Rio Vermelho (or further for nicer beaches), which has some great food and some night spots.

CONS-
It is about a 15 minute (on a good day) bus ride to the center. It can be an even longer (possibly double the time) trip back in the evening.
With the exception of Bohemia Music Club (three blocks away), Shopping Barra (if you dig malls for your shopping), and the Farol da Barra (the lighthouse/beach), there isn't too much around to see or do.
We noticed this part of Salvador to be a bit more upscale and pricier as well.
The street it is located on doesn't appear as very "inviting" and may be a bit intimidating to certain travelers.

My suggestion is, if you've come to Salvador and want to do the beach thing, this a great, cheap spot to stay. You'll have easy beach access and can go further down the coast on a short bus trip for better sands. Otherwise, I'd suggest staying closer to where more of the action and other sights are, and make Farol da Barra or Rio Vermelho an afternoon or day/evening trip once or twice. We would have liked to be closer to more music venues and better dining options and not worry about transportation as much.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I did not stay in this hostel for more than a few hours I was so unhappy with it.
We had a private room which was apparently a superior room. The bed was like a rock, my back ached after 10 mins on it. The street was full of all sorts of dodgy looking people and there was a door to the outside which had no proper lock on it.
We left after a few hours despite having paid up front. They did not give any of the payment back and it was for 4 nights.
The fact that we were prepared to give up around $400 real each speaks volumes to how bad this place was.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpha Hostel Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hostel Salvador

Address: Rua Eduardo Diniz Gonalves 128 Barra, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140310, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 108 Hotels in Salvador
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Alpha Hostel Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hostel Salvador Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Hostel Salvador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.