We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in Salvador” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahiacafe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bahiacafe Hotel to your Saves list
Bahiacafe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca da Se, 22 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40021020, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 108 Hotels in Salvador
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in Salvador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I booked the hotel in Salvador in the very last minute for the Carnaval. I know, one should not do that! Based on the reviews I really wanted to stay at Bahiacafe but unfortunately I could not find an available room for my whole stay. Thus, in the middle of my stay, I had to move to another hotel which is also rated extremely well here! The difference was incredible!
Bahiacafe is a very nice hotel in an amazing location! You are right in Praca da Se, in the center of the old town! Rooms are very clean, both modern and with a colonial feeling to them. The breakfast is amazing (I miss those fruits and the fresh juices like nothing else!) and the WiFi in the room is pretty reliable. If your room is too far from the router you can always go downstairs where they have a restaurant and an internet cafe. There the internet is free for guests and it is so reliable I was able to work a couple of days remotely from there. On top of everything you get great food and fantastic caipirinhas!
Last but not least, the staff and especially Michel and Nataly are amazingly nice and helpful! I will surely stay there if I ever go to Salvador again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    158
    35
    5
    10
See reviews for
41
183
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mpierce64
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

What can I tell you, you get what you pay for in life. Our room, as mentioned before, was very clean and the service was great, especially from Nataly who help arranged a transfer to the airport for us (which, at R$70, was a very good price). The bed also was a king I believe -- very large and comfortable. We stayed in room 1 which was at the foot of the stairs and was just above the kitchen and the bathroom below and just down the hall from a communal bathroom so you occasionally got whiffs of all of them when standing outside the door but nothing inside the room.

My one and only complaint was that when I made the reservation on easytobook.com the site said the hotel had air-conditioning, so I was a little peeved when I walked in the room and found a big bay window and a ceiling fan. The location of the hotel by the sea provided enough breeze that with the ceiling fan things were tolerable but trust me Salvador is HOT and I wanted AC. Not sure if I just misread something or if it's the booking website's fault or what but I thought this was a bit of false advertising that people should be aware of and that should be remedied.

Overall I liked the place but got the feel that it was more of a very upscale hostel on top of a restaurant that had some private rooms/ensuite bathrooms. But it was clean, safe and cheap. I think as long as you go in expecting that kind of feel you and are ok with it you will be pleased.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We felt like if we were at home. We were very well treated by the dedicated and charming staff which really cared about making our experience in Salvador unique. The hotel is in a historic building and has been decorated with a detail-oriented, customer friendly, stylish approach which makes it one of its kind. Thank you for such excellent treatment overall.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

General - Well organized, clean, friendly, good food, perfect location for visiting the city highlights. You feel the spirit and the love for details of the hotel owners in every place of the hotel

Rooms - My room was located in the back of the hotel. Very clean, pretty and individual designed (style of Bahia), comfortable and for a city hotel very calm. Bed was comfortable and big enough (Kingsize) for a single traveler. Bathroom was clean and well equiped.

Location - Located at the Praça da Sé. Perfect for visiting the highlights in Slavdor. Near to Pelourinho and Lacerda. Convento de São Francisco is just around the corner. Buses can be taken at the busstation near to the hotel (300m).

Restaurant - Good international and local food can be ordere at the Restaurant/Bar in the hotel. Nice and friendly staff.

Services - Very nice and friendly staff. Hotel owners recommending nice places for sightseeing and trips in and outside Salvador. WiFi access in the whole hotel.

I definitively will recommend this hotel to my best friends!

No complains

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Cute hotel but very noisy all night. Owner refused to give us a discount as we had to leave before breakfast was served. You can find a better deal in the same area

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I strong recommend Bahia Cafe Hotel for any kind of travel and purpose!

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The hotel is beautiful, the pictures on their website are very true to life. The service is great, and the complimentary breakfast is delicious. The one downside is that it's right off of the plaza, which can make it noisy through the night and early in the morning. Pelourinho is a fun neighborhood and worth staying in, but there are some blocks that are dangerous though we never had a problem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahiacafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahiacafe Hotel

Address: Praca da Se, 22 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40021020, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahiacafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bahiacafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahiacafe Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahiacafe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.