We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet cheerful people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Galeria 13

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Galeria 13 to your Saves list
Hostel Galeria 13
Rua da Ordem Terceira, 23 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-260, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to meet cheerful people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The dorms really quite nice. Big, clean, with small lockers if you have a padlock. The breakfast buffé is excellent, with lots of fresh fruit, toast and eggs any way you want them. There is the nice little patio, a small pool, a moroocian chill-out room and two wonderful dogs. Really enjoyable was the Caipirinhas happy-hour which gathered people back at the hostel before heading out together for dinner (maybe at Zulu Bar) or the thumping nightlife. It's a great place to meet people and the staff is top-notch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    124
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
95
160
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Luis, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Galeria 13 is the perfect place to meet new people. Everybody is craving for the free caipirinhas from 5-6, so you get to know almost everybody staying at the hostel in a great atmosphere! The crew is really helpful and friendly, breakfast is one of the best I've had so far, especially as you can get it until 12! The dorms are big, which can make them a bit noisy due to the people coming in and out but they are all very clean and with A/C and fan. The hostel is located in the center of Pelourinho, where you want to stay anyhow. I went back 3 times and always liked it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This little hostel is good to know if you want to stay on the center and enjoy the pelourinho's party. Everyday, they notice the best things to do on the city (eat, drink, show, etc...). All the team is really friendly and welcoming, and the hostel is a nice place to meet others travellers from all around the world. I really enjoyed my little 2 nights there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Located right in the center of Bahia.
I spent there 3 nights with a couple of friends and had a nice experinece. The atmosphere is great and the service too taking into account the affordable price that you pay.
Bedrooms have capacity of 10 people in general but still clean. Breakfast is outstanding as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The location is great, very friendly and helpful crew, good breakfast. I liked the common areas that makes easier to know people. The lockers were too small, doesn't fit a backpack and the room I was (10 bed) had no key. Btw, I had a good time and I would go back / recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The place where the hostel is located is perfect because is in the center of pelourinho in the safe part of it. The hostel is organized in spaces that make people know each other, so is perfect to lonely traveller or to know people from all around the world.

The only thing we didn´t like was that was not so clean for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had one night in Salvador before heading to Morro De Sao Paulo. This hostel met all of our desires. We ended up booking it on line and thought we needed 2 rooms. When we arrived we found out we could have all stayed in 1 room. There was a double bed and a bunk bed( we are a family of 4) we kept the 2 rooms, but be specific when you call or e-mail. They arranged transport for us from the airport which was helpful. The driver was waiting outside security with a sign. Since we arrived at night and the area is not safe we were limited on where we could walk so we went to the hostel's restaurnat called Zulu which was excellent. Our room was clean, hot water,friendly staff and great breakfast that lasts from 8-12. If we had more time we would have stayed there 2 nights!

Room Tip: I would get a room on the 3rd floor. We were on the 2nd floor right over reception and it was a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Galeria 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Galeria 13

Address: Rua da Ordem Terceira, 23 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-260, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Pelourinho, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, are the three houses that make up the Galeria 13 experience: one for social travellers, one for those seeking a quieter stay, and TripAdvisor’s top rated Bar Zulu in between them.This unique blend of moods, sights and flavours has rendered us the Best Hostel in Brazil award as voted by HostelWorld members, and a place in Lonely Planet’s finicky section Our Pick along with some flattering words from the traveller’s holy book.No wonder: by staying with us you get tons of freebies, including our obscenely big breakfast until midday, caipirinha happy hour, swimming pool, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Galeria 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Galeria 13 Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Galeria 13, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.