We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte to your Saves list
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Do Farol,S/N - Praia Do Forte, Mata de Sao Joao, State of Bahia 48280, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Almada, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I'm a regular customer since 2003. I've never stayed more than 2 years apart. People keep asking me why are we always coming back, because there are better (and cheaper) places in Brasil and other parts of the world.
Yes, it's true. It's not the best place on earth and it's quite expensive. However, staff is very friendly, they always remember our name, they say "Hello, how nice it is to see you again" when you come back. The food at Goa restaurant is amazing. The new hotel rooms are far better than the old ones, which were not worthy of a hotel of that nature.
The beach is beautiful, although don't expect clean blue water or hot sea. If you stay on the beach watching the sea, you will see really large turtles swimming all over the place. Amazing to see.
The village near by is very nice with lovely (but expensive) shops. We have never felt any danger on the way there, by the road or the beach (only 10 mns walk).
The entertainment at night was far better a few years ago, before the Grupo BES took over the place. We've seen it all, Mexican groups, Portuguese groups, very boring jazz groups, playing stuff not aligned with the atmosphere... You are expecting forró, samba and Brazilian culture, not something you'd rather hear at home, in winter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    252
    83
    26
    25
See reviews for
336
240
16
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goiania, GO
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is an old hotel in good shape,and the best of all for me was the green area with plenty of chairs and umbrelas. Rooms are confortable but some may be far from the central area of pools and restaurants.I stayed 5 nights at the master and it was good enough for a couple.Beach is nice for walking and calm for swiming to both sides . To the left side you can reach the small village with restaurants and shops in a 15 minutes walking.Food is good and you have breakfast and dinner included . Breakfast has everything you need but dinner was only medium quality for me ( water ,juices, beer and soft drinks included only for dinner) . You can have free internet in 4 PCs at the bar but wifi was charged (best fare for 7 days ) . You can have lunch at the hotel with snacks or at the restaurant that I recomend Goa with a goop price and view of the big pool .Other option is walk to the village and try some restaurant. There is a good gym and an expensive and empty spa.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the central area because the hotel has a very wide shape
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowle
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited in May 2013 and stayed for 7 nights after spending 3 nights in Rio. The hotel is beautifully situated in its own grounds which are landscaped to the beach. You are greeted by the customary welcome drink, with a clever twist for those not wanting alcohol, milk actually out of a coconut.

Our room was of a generally good standard. Not particularly large for a family of three (my daughter’s bed was put where the bed side table had been). We had a balcony with a hammock and distant view of the sea, whilst the bathroom was fairly large, there was no bath which was disappointing. One thing to bear in mind is that this place is very tropical and quite humid with it’s fair share of wild life! We literally had monkeys outside the room (they were all around the place but didn’t bother you), iguanas by the infinity pool and some of the insects/creatures were a bit different (chameleons, lizards and large beetles etc). However please don’t let that put you off. For this reason I would recommend an upstairs room (there are only two levels).

In terms of the food this looked and tasted fantastic. There was a different ornate buffet on every evening and there was always a talented acoustic guitarist/singer accompanying the meal. We didn’t realise at first but actually all beer and soft drinks were included, however one reason that we didn’t pick this up was that no one spoke English which did become quite a problem when we had to query things such as the wine etc. The desserts were also varied, elaborate and tasted good so I understand. One thing we hated was that the waitresses emptied all the food scraps in the restaurant on a food trolley like you were at school – horrendous!

At this point I need to disclose that after I had been in the resort for 24 hours I contracted a really nasty stomach bug which I battled with (and lost!) all week. I therefore tried bits of food in between starving myself and drinking bottled water. However I should say that both my wife and my 5 year old daughter were absolutely fine. We did see occasions though where we saw some food sitting around in the heat at lunchtime which did make me wonder if I was ill due to the lack of food hygiene – but clearly I have nothing to base this comment on.

Other negatives on this point would be the lack of concern for health and safety compared to European countries. We couldn’t believe, for example that the monkeys were above us in the open sided thatched restaurant at breakfast and ready to eat a roll or two when people weren’t looking. One amazing thing was that on every table was a note telling you facts about the cute monkeys, but also that if they bit you when you were feeding them you could catch RABIES! Ok maybe not feed the monkeys then!

Another thing that we weren’t happy with was that we saw what could only described as floating froth/scummy water on two of the pools, so again cleanliness wasn’t a strong point in this respect.
We also were not happy that on the last two days of our stay the hotel was totally taken over by what appeared to be a major Heineken worldwide conference. There must have been over 250 delegates, numerous Heineken promotional banners. What was amazing was the one spa area that the previous day had signs around it said ‘silent area’ had now become a bar for the Heineken delegates! How does that work?!

In terms of location, the hotel is just down the road from Praia de Forte. You can take a Tukituki there for just 20 riyals return and it takes just about 5 minutes to get there. There are numerous bars, gift shops and two supermarkets where you can buy water. There are also two pharmacies which came in useful for me!

The Turtle project is also at Praia de Forte you can walk to the town from the hotel but this is likely to take about 30-40 minutes if you feel inclined. We bought a trip through the ‘experience’ team at the hotel and went there on an air conditioned coach for a 45 minute tour. This was one of the highlights for us as we saw some baby turtles literally dug out the sand and placed on the shore to run into the sea. Amazing! We also saw some large adult Turtles in the sea when my wife and daughter were swimming about 30 metres from the shore and again this was an incredible sight.

There wasn’t much entertainment when we went but I think this was a quieter time of year. What was an incredible sight was the number of quite wealthy Brazilian families with their own nannies following them round. The hotel also offered a service whereby you could also put your child with an individual nanny from breakfast until 9pm! They actually had a session called ‘meet the parents’ at 9pm. I am not joking!

Overall I think the hotel is well situated with some tremendous facilities. You are never going to find a true 5 star hotel in Brazil as you would find in say Europe. This is effectively a 3.5 star service hotel with 4/5 star facilities (the view from the beach is like the Caribbean. However on balance I would recommend, but be careful with the food and take a Brazilian phrase book!

Room Tip: Second Floor but ask for a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valinhos, SP
Top Contributor
445 reviews 445 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nature all around, nice beach, close to the turtle research center (Projeto Tamar), very spacious rooms, lots of activities including diving and sailing, good food, etc. Just perfect for the whole family if you like to be isolated from the rest of the world,although you can still walk to the small downtown.

Room Tip: Try to get one close the restaurant and lobby, otherwise is can be a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this property, app 1 1/2 hour north of Salvador. It is a safe, decent and cosy place to escape hot weather and reenergise. Small village Praia do Forte is app 1km away and offers good selection of restaurants, bars and small shops.

The property is located in a rather extensive area, so depending where your room is, it may take you some time to walk to spa or tennis courts or fitness.

Also, hotel is liked by families with young children, so if you are looking for rather quiet, undisturbed holiday, it may disappoint in this sense. Food, breakfast and buffet dinners were generous, meal well prepared - no complain on this front.

Hotel is ranked 5* and it probably deserves such standard, but for me it lacked a "wow" effect. Maybe it was also thanks to the fact that staff was rather weak in English (or me weak in Portuguesse) so communication was sometimes an issue - but one should not wonder, since R$ is so strong that Brasil became prohibitive to foreign tourists.

Room Tip: rooms on lower levels with direct entry to the gardens, I liked the ones more secluded from pools an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I did not love it and do not look forward ot returning, but it is definitely the best hotel in this area, Polite staff, who need lots of follow up (remote not working over entire stay and multiple calls to change batteries), decent rooms that have seen wear and tear and are lacking full maintenance. Very overpriced, too much, for what you get. Plus can walk to Praia do Forte town, OK food for an all inclusive, good spa, decent gym, good meeting space. King bed is two twins pushed together but unlike Europe, also two box springs. I wound up between the beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinhedo
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Pros: if you like the beach it is perfect as you can spend the day with the kids or withou them at the beach that is nice and calm.
The food is also nice and the overall service is good.
The resort is really beautiful and the praia do forte village is a 10 min walk from the hotel. It has the "projeto tamar" attraction that kids will love.

Cons:
the resort has more than 20 years and although some renovations were made it still has a lot to do.
Rooms need some improvment, tennis courts needs to be renewed, the fitness is ok.
If you stay at the cheapest rooms be prepared to walk as they are far from everything.
We stayed at room 1518 and it was very well situated near from everything.
The hotel has a nautical base with surfboards, sup, windsurf, kayaks and dingue but not complimentary.
If you like those sports pay the week fee for about us$ 125\ wk or rent by the hour.
The shows at night vary, some are great and some ridiculous.

Room Tip: Lower level master rooms are very well located ideal with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte

Address: Av. Do Farol,S/N - Praia Do Forte, Mata de Sao Joao, State of Bahia 48280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Mata de Sao Joao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mata de Sao Joao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte 4.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Brazil, to the north of Salvador, Bahia, there is an idyllic place for Ecotourism lovers, which is both beautiful and luxurious. The Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte (former Praia do Forte EcoResort & Thalasso Spa) is a 5 star hotel where simple architecture is in harmony with the stunning scenery and the biodiversity of the surrounding area.Here you will find a tropical destination perfect for family holidays, business meetings, events, birthdays or a dream honeymoon. Enjoy the extensive range of well-being treatments at the Thalasso SPA and relax among the colourful gardens and natural pools in Vila Praia do Forte. The exclusive cuisine at the resort restaurants promises a culinary journey through exotic flavours blended with touches of the sea and coconuts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Hotel Mata De Sao Joao
Praia Do Forte Tivoli Ecoresort
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.