We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun hostel to stay at especially after a Jungle tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Manaus

Hostel Manaus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Manaus to your Saves list
Hostel Manaus
Rua Lauro Cavalcante, No 231 - Centro | Proximo a Sorveteria Glacial, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-230, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Travelling!
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a fun hostel to stay at especially after a Jungle tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

we stayed here one night before going to the jungle and one night after. its a good little hostel and most people are doing that. the kitchen and living area are all open plan with loads of communial areas to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    24
    17
    15
See reviews for
4
20
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

The biggest problem was the lack of rules for sleeping time. I was in a collective room with 4 other girls that kept talking with the lights on until 1 in the morning. I tried to talk to them, but It didn´t work, so I decided to talk to the receptionist and guest what? I found out that there were no rules for sleeping time and that there was nothing I could do about it... felt really uncomfortable! Organization and breakfast are the lowest points there. Only one bread (sandwich) is allowed and you cannot choose flavors.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

The reception in the hostel never really try to help and special the one who came from Pakistan, he is really bad attitude to the guest!! I am very surprised that the owner why don't fire him. The most worst stuff i have ever seen. Also couldn't understerstand such bad service and it was recommended by HI hostel link. Inside the room , there are many bugs and mosquitoes also the cockroach jump to the bed at night!!! Terrible hostel!! Do not stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Wouldn't really say that this is a great place, but certainly good enough as a pit stop before departing to one of the many jungle tours offered in the town. One of the best things was that they allowed me to store my larger luggage while I was away on a 3-day/2-night jungle excursion. Not very difficult to find. Pretty big place and a bit impersonal. When checking in, the reception showed me to my dorm room but didn't bother to point out bathrooms/toilets, mention breakfast, offer sheets, etc. Some areas of the hostel had a slight odor, but the room itself was clean. Kitchen was not very well equipped. Cheap, fast internet. Warm water in showers, clean bathrooms/toilets. Simple breakfast. No bar area, but reception sold beverages. TV and DVD player seemed to be the social center of the hostel. Maybe a bit far for some people, but walkable distances to Municipal Market, Amazonas Theater, and other main sights around Manaus.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2007

had a great time in Manaus! When I arrived I made it through the hassle at the airport and went strait to Hostel Manaus. I booked a tour with Jungle Experience and the next day we left. Everything went wrong!
The bus trip to the place was way too long, the canoe that picked us up couldn't stand any security standards, the how can you call it lodge? was a sleazy place, no moskito nets so I wis bitten like hell. The next day I made it back on my own. When I arrived at the hostel I found that my documents which I deposited whith the hostel owner where stolen. Further on they even refused to refund my money for the trip. I went strait to the police where there told me thaat there are many complaints with this hostel. I'm waiting now to get another passport and for new credit cards.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

Surprisingly there aren’t many traditional hostel options in Manaus, so luckily I heard about Hostel Manaus through another traveller - although apparently it will be in the guidebooks soon. Being a single traveller, I like somewhere friendly with a backpacker vibe and communal areas to meet other travellers, so this place worked perfectly for me. A few of us organised a great big piranha feast one night which was definitely memorable!

I felt completely secure within the hostel, the staff were lovely, the whole place was thoroughly cleaned every day that I was there and, because it's so new, at least for now I can say that the bunk beds were the most comfortable and clean I experienced all over South America. Unfortunately, renovations were not quite complete when I was there, but it will be great when the rooftop is ready for BBQs etc. Booked in for one night - stayed for over a week.

NB. If you know what you’re looking for in terms of accommodation – whatever that is – don’t be pressured into going with one of the persistent touts at the airport who will diss the other hotels/tour companies, and offer you free transport to their hotel if you commit to doing their jungle tour. If you’ve spent thousands getting to the Amazon like me, you might as well take your time choosing the right tour rather than being pressured into something when you’re jetlagged.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — renovation noises during the day (temporary)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Manaus

Address: Rua Lauro Cavalcante, No 231 - Centro | Proximo a Sorveteria Glacial, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-230, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL MANAUS is on Rua Lauro Cavalcante, 231 Center of the city. A quiet residential street, set back from the bustle of this thriving Jungle metropolis. Here you will find yourself chatting for hours with fellow travellers after a hearty hostel breakfast in the outdoor dining area. Watch a DVD, or take advantage of our unlimited web access in the spacious lounge. Chill out in a hammock with a good book on our famous roof-top patio with its privileged views of the Palacio Rio Negro. And in the evening, kick back with friends, music and a good Caipirinha from our bar in the hostel beer garden - all without breaking the budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Manaus AM, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Manaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.