We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to the Amazon during World CUP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Igarape do Taruma, Rio Negro | Pca Axiliadora 04/202 centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69005, Brazil   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Visit to the Amazon during World CUP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My family and I visited the Lodge during the World Cup. I traveled with my wife, two daughters (age 5 and 8) and my in-laws. We had two rooms for all six of us and the accommodations were basic and comfortable, but the hot water in the shower had a tendency to stop working. But then again, it is the Amazon, so don't really need hot water (except for my kids). The food was buffet and pretty good overall with good selections. Drinks are NOT included all drinks are put on a separate tab. We visited during the USA v Portugal match and all the guests were good soccer fans. We arranged transportation to and from the Manaus Stadium with the Lodge. This worked out well and took about 1 1/2 hrs to reach the stadium.

The excursions were okay, but never got to see dolphins or many birds. Just the one macaw that hangs out at the lodge and a couple of small birds flying by. Insects were interesting to view and lots of plants. Did catch a piranha but saw a baby cayman, but nothing big. Keep in mind that the Amazon is mostly about the natural fauna...if you want animals, the Pantanal is where to go. Although we got bit by mosquitos, no need to drench yourself with deet. We did though and even took malaria pills but in retrospect, didn't need to do any of it. The bugs and mosquitoes don't seem to mind the bug repellent and the lodge is close to the city so malaria is not a problem with this part of the river.

Prices were exorbitant since it was the World Cup, so we were prepared. But much better value if you can come in the off season.

The lodge is about an hour from Manaus, so you take a shuttle from the airport to the docks and then to a boat and sail the rest of the way. It's a great lodge for beginners and families, but for those more daring and want more of an exotic jungle experience - stay in lodge that is not near Manaus and that takes hours to get there. But like I said, this lodge is fine for the beginner with kids and elderly and being close to Manaus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    132
    60
    26
    15
See reviews for
77
147
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Eco Lodge had very good rooms with mosquito screens, air conditioning and comfortable beds.
The reception/common are and bar provided quality seating with free wifi and a flat screen TV for guests to mingle and hang out.
Staff at reception were patient and attentive although some staff needed constant prodding to request information.
Make sure you request an English speaking tour guide before joining a group. Look for tour guide YURI as he is the best guide there - good english, funny, engaging and very knowledgeable.
Meeting of the waters and optional speed boat tour is a must. Indian village tour was ok and monkey island was really a walk to the feeding areas and back. 4 days 3 nights is plenty, the last day is really travel back to the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a two night and three day stay at the Amazon Eco Park Lodge. It was an amazing place to stay right in the Amazon jungle. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the food was pretty good as well.

We went on some tours organized by the hotel itself and everything was very well organized. Of course, if there was a football game on, you had to wait for that to finish but we weren't complaining :)

I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days ahead of the US-Portugal World Cup match. Lots of US and Portugal fans so a great atmosphere. To get here, you have to come in via shuttle boat, which is fun (unless its raining). Upon check in you are greeted warmly and given a fruity drink made fresh a few steps away at the bar. Service is warm and friendly. We were assigned a "guide" and told to come back at 430 for our first "tour." More on activities below.

Rooms. Think summer camp. Basic beds and a tiny bathroom. No internet and only a few outlets, so plan to be unplugged.

Internet and Mobile: There is ostensibly internet access in the lobby, but after 6 am the satellite service is swamped. I had to get up at 5 am to get out some critical work emails. Mobile service is sporadic at best. If you need to be in touch with the outside world, stay somewhere else.

Food. 100% buffet: breakfast, lunch and dinner. Overall, really good quality and most of it was actually quite tasty, but do not come expecting a culinary experience.

Activities: The little excursions are interesting if not a little hokey. The first day we saw a local family who live 5 minutes away. They have a staged flour making area and then a rubber making demo. The hour plus caps off with a visit to the "crafts store." Monkey island is interesting, but a little odd as the sanctuary has 20+ monkeys and they basically feed them when the groups arrive so they gather at a fixed spot. I could see some of my PETA friends a little miffed by the display but it certainly delights most to see the monkeys fly through the trees coming in for their meal.

Meeting of the Waters: We took the optional (and expensive) trip to see the meeting of the Rio Negro and the Salamoes Rivers. This is the start of the Amazon. 2.5 hours to get there to see a ribbon of brown water meeting a ribbon of black water. Actually really cool, but its a long trip out and back for 10 minutes on site. An uninspiring lunch at a tourist trap and then off to the optional "speed boat" trip into the wetlands. More hokey stuff (fish "farm" with snacks), but the ride through the wetlands was a lot more exciting than the slow steam on the big boat back.

Summary. This is not a jungle adventure. Perfect for families with small kids, or those who want to get a more Disney-like taste of the Amazon.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same. Some closer to the reception/restaurant, others a bit further.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I think this is the first time I have been taken to my hotel by boat! If you want a safe jungle experience, this is well worth considering. The Taruma is a tributary of the Rio Negro, so mosquitoes were not a problem. The scale of the rivers here is breathtaking. We took a boat ride to the Meeting if the Waters and for an old geographer like myself, it was almost a spiritual experience.This is nature at its most impressive, with a city of 2 million plonked in the middle of it. I enjoyed every moment of our 3 day visit and the eco lodge was great location for our base. The lodges are basic, but air conditioned and clean. The reception area even had free wi fi and the food "tent" was more than adequate. I may never again have breakfast watching humming birds taking nectar from the flowering trees!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was the perfect Amazon experience for our group. The different tours gave us a taste of the Amazon without overkill. Each excursion included in our package was no more than an hour and a half. Marcos, our guide, was the best! He was knowledgeable, spoke great English - all we could have asked for. We also did the Meeting of the Waters and took the speedboat tour back. Both were well worth the extra expense. For accommodations, the bungalows were clean. The outside common area was perfect for everyone to hang out. The complex did a great job of having comfortable amenities while maintaining the spirit of the Amazon. As expected, the wifi was very spotty. And if you arrive late and take the after hours transportation, don't be scared of the boat trip in the dark and potentially sense fog. Enjoy it because it's an incredible experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

If you are expecting to go on a 'walking in the Amazon' style adventure then this is not the place for you but if you want a quick snapshot of Amazon life with a bit of relaxation thrown in then this lodge is perfect. We stayed for 3 nights as part of a trip arranged through Imagine Latin America. we were collected from our hotel and taken by car to the port where you meet the boat to the lodge. The boat ride is about 25 mins. We arrived at the lodge and were greeted with a glass of freshly squeezed juice. The receptionist sat with us and talked us through how the lodge works and introduced us to our guide Marcus. The rooms are quite small but have everything you need except shampoo and a hairdryer. They were clean and cosy with good air conditioning but the walls were quite thin. Lunch and Dinner were excellent with lots of salads meats and vegetables. Breakfast had a wide selection of different types of food with an omelette station. As mentioned in some posts water is only provided at breakfast the rest of the time you have to pay. We took 2 2litre bottles with us. Our trip on the first morning was cancelled due to the rain and rearranged for the afternoon. When we mentioned to our guide that England were playing Uruguay he changed it straight away to the following morning so that we could watch the game. On our second day we did the nature hike (wear long trousers, walking boots and a long sleeved shirt) we saw a few monkeys, lots of huge ants and termites and learned how to set traps as well as learning about the plants and trees and animals around us. The hike was about an hour and a half and fairly easy going. We had a quick break to get changed before heading to a monkey sanctuary where we also saw an iguana. In the afternoon we visited a small settlement and learned about rubber making and making manioc flour on the way back we went piranha fishing we didn't catch one but we did attract a cayman. Just before dinner we went Cayman hunting we didn't manage to catch one but we saw lots in the water. Day 3 we went to the meeting of the waters. The journey there is quite slow going and apart from seeing Manaus and a few floating houses there is not much else to see. We paid extra (£40) for a speed boat back and traveled through the flooded jungle, saw giant water lilies, a fish farm and stopped at a house where they had a pet sloth. It was far more interesting than the slow boat we arrived on. The guide will offer the speed boat during the journey to the meeting of the waters. He told us there were 15 places but all 40 people on our trip opted for the tour and they found enough boats to accommodate us. Around the hotel itself we saw the resident Macaw, lots of lizards and cayman (some quite close to the beach area where you can swim in the river). Wifi is not great and only is provided in the bar but you are in the Amazon so should have no need for it. Apart from the jungle trek you should be fine in shorts and flip flops but make sure you have a waterproof jacket.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge

Address: Igarape do Taruma, Rio Negro | Pca Axiliadora 04/202 centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69005, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a jungle lodge near Manaus in the Amazon, with 64 bungalows, surrounded by pristine rivers and nature. has a private beach, natural swimming pools and Monkey Sanctuary among other features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecopark Hotel Amazon River
Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge Manaus, AM, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.