We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Silva Ramos 20, Manaus, State of Amazonas, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Manaus
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Chose to stay here for 3 nights during the world cup and arrived with a certain amount of trepidation after reading mostly poor comments on here and several other sites.

Yes the hotel is worn, dated and rough and around the edges but our 12th floor room was clean, safe, had working air-con and was cleaned everyday (which was more than other hotels in the city according to other travellers whom we met.) The view of the Rio Negro was also unforgettable.

On the downside, it was a shame that the rooftop pool was empty in a city so hot and humid.

Some traffic noise from the busy streets below. Would I start here if returning to Manaus? Not for a romantic weekend away no, but for a clean, safe, adequate roof over my head for a reasonable price? Yes.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    34
    11
    18
See reviews for
13
14
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was nervous about staying here during the World Cup after reading some recent reviews, but we stayed for 4 days (saw the US-Portugal match), and our room was perfectly adequate. Cold A/C, clean bathroom/bed/sheets, and plenty of room/storage. Did not hear a peep through the walls or above us while we were there. There is a fair amount of road/street noise that comes through the A/C vent (we were on 9th floor) but it doesn't usually start until 7am or so. And, they were filling the roof top pool when we left (which would have been a good bonus while we were there). Views from roof top restaurant are great. Breakfast buffet (free) was adequate. Fantastic coffee. Location was excellent for walks to the Theatre, fish market, etc. The street that the entrance is on is quiet and it's on a busy-enough street that safety was not a concern for us. Compared to the other options out there and cost, I'd stay here again if I'm ever back in Manaus. Is the hotel dated and a bit worn out? yes. But I will take cool, clean and quiet any day in a city like this. We heard some horror stories while we were there about some other hotels in this same class. Hotel Monaco really did a good job. They may lose some ground after the World Cup, but they stepped it up this week, in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel would have been nice to stay in when it first opened 30years ago!
However it has been neglected since,
It was very cheap but that doesn't justify how unkept it was.
We stayed on the 9th floor and there where ants and cockroach in the room, it was on the main road side and you could here the traffic light beeping!!

The staff where saying different things one said the wifi was free during the World Cup the other said we had to paid, but the wifi didn't work anyway!
breakfast was shocking, there was plenty of stuff laid out but nothing labeled,
The pool was not finished.
The only nice thing about the hotel was the roof top view.

I would say in the hotel again if it was updated!
The most shocking thing is that I found this hotel on the Fifa website,


  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Well, I have stayed in many many hotels across the world, and I have NEVER made a review on TA. However, I felt the need on this occasion.

Whilst the rooms were clean, they were somewhat basic. the shower room (small triangle shape) had a fuse box in it which got wet whilst using the shower!! The 'rooftop' pool, although looked very nice, it was not finished, and thus could not be used. The Wifi did not work, even though you had to pay for it, and the reception staff could not speak English to explain that! Considering this was their time to impress on TA during World Cup year, they failed dismally.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The place is falling apart, filthy, the service is terrible. Towels are dirty, furniture is broken , You don't know who is guest or not, the doors of the hotel are open all the time and anyone can get inside. I didn't feel safe at that place. The phones in the rooms don't work. People smoke in the hallways. Seems like the breakfast is left overs. Usually the pastry in the Brazilian hotels are fresh and delicious, not at Monaco they were dry and didn't have stuffing. Would be better to get a tend and camp in the square in front the opera house. The place is awful.

Room Tip: There isn't a good room on this hotel. You can find a much better room in another hotel in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Good, clean cheap accommodation that is well located in the city. Rooms are basic but very clean. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you fancy a horror movie experience with cockroaches, broken toilets and dark corridors, this one is for you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco

Address: Rua Silva Ramos 20, Manaus, State of Amazonas, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Manaus, AM, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.