We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mercure Manaus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mercure Manaus to your Saves list
Hotel Mercure Manaus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Mario Ypiranga, 1000 (antiga Rua Recife) | Adrianopolis, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69057000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Manaus
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    141
    71
    11
    12
See reviews for
44
39
38
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel also exceeded my expectations for a Mercure. Rooms are VERY spacious and with nice design, a wide working desk and excellent wi-fi. Silent windows so you don´t hear the horrendous traffic outside. Friendly, courteous staff and a very good breakfast. Very close to the main shopping mall in Manaus and a decently easy taxi ride to downtown. If you don´t want to stay tucked at the Tropical Hotel due to distance from town, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE M, Manager at Hotel Mercure Manaus, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado cliente,
nossa equipe fica muito feliz com sua satisfação. Em sua próxima hospedagem encontrará um Mercure ainda melhor e mais completo. Aguardamos você para mais uma experiência surpreendente em Manaus.
Atenciosamente
Edmar Thomas
Gerente Geral
mercure.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's located close to Manauara shopping and in a good neighborhood, but it needs urgently an update at the apartments. It's everything old - furniture, etc and the hall's smell is terrible !!!
The front desk employees are very helpful. They saw we were a family of three and as the hotel was empty they gave us an upgrade to an apartment with 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms... so much larger than we've booked.

Room Tip: it's seems that there are some rooms already updated, look for them !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE M, General Manager at Hotel Mercure Manaus, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manaus. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; my sincerest apologies.

Mercure Manaus is changing all apartments and corredors. 70% of the room are new ones and have just retrofited.
In the end of this year all room will be in a new model, decoration and new furnitures.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns. Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked 2 nights at this hotel; one night either side of a 3 night stay in the Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge, due to flight times.The first night, we checked in with no problem. Our room was one of the refurbished rooms and it was actually very good. The restaurant only serves breakfast, not evening meals, so we ordered room service. What a carry on! The staff member who served us at the bar spoke no English. We managed to point out what we wanted on the menu (burger and chips was all we could understand from the Portuguese menu!) and showed him our room number. When the food did arrive is was pretty poor but we were starving! Breakfast, however, was very good. Checking out was more difficult as again, staff member didn't speak English. He charged us for breakfast, but we'd booked a deal that included breakfast so had a bit of a struggle trying to sort that out, but we managed.
When we returned 3 nights later, we were given one of the old rooms that hadn't been refurbished. It was quite basic and nowhere near as nice as our room the first time we stayed. We did not attempt to order food his time and instead went out to a restaurant (Banzeiro) and had an incredible meal. Breakfast again was very good and we checked out without any problems, this staff member spoke basic English!
Overall, it was fine as a base for us for 1 night before continuing our journey. Rooms are spacious and newly refurbished rooms are very good. They were clean and tidy. Staff were pleasant and smiley, although we found the language barrier a bit difficult. we were not there long enough to look at the pool / sauna etc. The area seemed nice, we walked around for a few hours and felt safe.

I would stay here again. I have rated average as it's not a "great" hotel but there's certainly nothing wrong with it and it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE M, Manager at Hotel Mercure Manaus, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear guest,
your feedback is really important for us. Thank you for it. Today all the rooms are new at Mercure Manaus, with kitchen, office area and all of them are really confortable, Our breakfast is under the pattern of Accor and now al the receptionists speak English. We'd like to invite you to a new experience at Mercure Manaus.
Best regards
Edmar Thomas
General Manager
mercure.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresy, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was very satisfied about the quality of my stay.
The receptionists were all very friendly and helpfull.
Despite having a non-refurbished room, it has plenty of space and lots of comoditys (micro-wave, heaters and of course a fridge).
The localisation is very good, in a safe quarter, near a commercial center which is near an hyper-market (Carrefour), so you can even cook in the room.
There's a bus stop just in front of the hotel so you can access the city center in 15-20 mn.
In the hotel, there's is free wi-fi and a lobby with several computers; therefore you stay connected but the quality of the connection is less than average.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE M, Manager at Hotel Mercure Manaus, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear client
thank you very much for you feedback, your satisfaction is really important for us. We'd like to invite you to another experience at Mercure Manaus.
Best regards
Edmar Thomas
General Manager
mercure.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The staff is polite and I got a free upgrade to a superior room, what was a great surprise. The room was clean and new. A very good shower in the bathroom. The location is good for business, near the city center and 5 mins walking distance to a shopping mall. However, it is a bit far from the airport and Ponta Negra (+- 30 mins by taxi). The breakfast is just average (indeed one of the worst breakfasts that I already ate in an Accor hotel).

After reading so many bad reviews about the hotel, I really do not understand the reason of such reviews. The hotel is a standard Mercure and exactly what I was expecting for.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE M, Manager at Hotel Mercure Manaus, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Thiago,
agradecemos seus comentários sobre sua hospedagem no Mercure Manaus, eles são nosso direcionamento para melhorar nosso produto e serviços constantemente.
Hoje estamos com um Mercure totalmente revitalziado, apartamento novos, recém reformados, amplos, modernos, funcionais com cozinha e área office, climatização que atende todas as dependências do hotel, e agora com o novo e delicioso café da manhã Mercure, dentro dos padrões da rede Accor, além de uma equipe totalmente treinada dentro do programa de qualidade Mercure, pronta para atendê-lo com excelência.
Esperamos poder ter você como hóspede na sua próxima vinda a Manaus para que desfrute de todas nossas melhorias.
Atenciosamente,
Edmar Thomas
Gerente Geral
mercure.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I go to Manaus about 4 times a year for work. Usually stay at Cesar Business (great hotel). It was booked, so I went for Mercure. All I can say is the Accor hotel chain should be ashamed to have their name on this Mercure.

The entire hotel is shameful in so many ways.

The hallway on the 11th floor has overpowering smell of vomit and mold mixed together. My room was only half cleaned when I entered. The "clean" bed sheets were stained. There is mold on the roof of my room and bathroom. The couch is stained from God only knows what. And when I entered the bathroom the first night it was full of mosquitos.

The sliding glass door to a veranda in my room would not lock.

The breakfast? I would not serve it to my dog.

And elsewhere throughout the hotel the carpets are stained, and smell of mold.

On the 1st floor where my colleague was staying the hallway light was not working. So at night when exiting the room to get to elevator, it was totally dark, and you had to feel around the walls to find elevator button. (They can't even replace a broken light sensor? If there was a fire, it's a major lawsuit)

The staff is pretty slow and none I came in contact with strike me as the brightest puppies in the litter.

There are only 3 good things about this hotel:

1) When it's working, the wifi is fast (and free). I need fast wifi for my job to upload files. The internet in entire hotel did die twice during my stay, however.

2) The restaurant right next door to the hotel is very good. walk out front door of hotel and turn left.

3) Hotel is only 10 minute walk from Shopping Manauara - a really nice shopping center.

Overall, this hotel seems like it has not seen 1 penny of investment in decades.

The manager of this Mercure should he ashamed and get out of the hotel business.

Sad part is, Manaus has such a shortage of hotels, this property is often booked solid!

Room Tip: Good room? None.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE M, Manager at Hotel Mercure Manaus, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado cliente,
nós do Mercure Manaus sentimos muito não termos superado suas expectativas.
Hoje o Mercure Manaus conta com todos os quartos reformadas, diferencial da cozinha e uma marvilhosa área office, além de todas as áreas sociais totalmente revitalizadas e uma equipe totalmente preparada para um atendimento de excelência.
Covidamos você a vivenciar uma nova experiência em hospedagem na sua próxima estada em Manaus.
Atenciosamente,
Edmar Thomas
Gerente Geral
mercure.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Mercure Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Manaus

Address: Av. Mario Ypiranga, 1000 (antiga Rua Recife) | Adrianopolis, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69057000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manaus
#11 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mercure Manaus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star MERCURE APT MANAUS has 126 apartments with living room, kitchen and suite. Located in the exclusive area of Manaus, it is about 15 minutes from the international airport, the city centre and the industrial district. The hotel offers a sauna, fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mercure Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mercure Manaus AM, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mercure Manaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.