We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazon Theater wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Amazonas

Teatro Amazonas
Avenida Eduardo Ribeiro | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69025-140, Brazil (City Center)
+55(92) 3622-1880
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$99*
and up
Manaus City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 71 Attractions in Manaus
Type: Architectural Buildings, Museums, Theaters, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This magnificent theater, crowned with a tiled mosaic dome in the colors of the Brazilian flag, features operas and other artistic performances.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazon Theater wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Pleople at the airport with faked tourism information document
so prople trying to sell me tours inside and outside of the Opera House

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,953
    691
    77
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a must-see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Teatro Amazonas is beautiful, well-restored and definitely worth a visit. I had no problem arranging a tour in English when I arrived. The plaza out in front of the teatro is nice for hanging out in the evening, often there is live music and outdoor dining. It seems to be the only peaceful place in Manaus.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The most interesting historical site in Manaus.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The building is impressive from the outside and continues to impress inside as well.
We took the English guided tour which was very basic. Our guide was trying, but her English was just not very good ( a foreshadowing of problems coming with international events on the horizon ).
Fortunately we had prepped for the experience and had our history down.
Frankly the theater is the only site worth a visit in downtown Manaus.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria, ES
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I recomend the guided tour, when the guide tell all the history of each part of the place. At night, you should go back to watch a apresentation, most of them are free.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely building great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The theatre is a beautiful piece of architecture. Set in a very large square it appeared to be a central meeting point for tourists and locals alike. Surrounded by many bars and restaurants its a lovely place to pass a few hours. On Wednesdays there is a free concert(live music) just in front of the theatre starting at 7pm. We had dinner outside one of the restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed listening to a great group. At night the theatre is lit up and looks fantastic. Definitely worth a visit when in Manaus.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Amazonas also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Amazonas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.