We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in the Amazon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Manaus Ecoresort to your Saves list
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Coronel Teixeira, 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil (Ponta Negra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Manaus
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfort in the Amazon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We visited Manaus during the World Cup and stayed at The a Tropical hotel for 12 days. Our room was spacious and clean but in the older section of the hotel. Be sure to specify you want an updated new room when booking, most likely in section 3300. The room was a bit damp but is not doubt because it is the Amazon Rainforest and always raining. The pool dining is your best option over the front bar for daytime. The food is general was excellent and the buffets and Brazilian BBQ restaurants offered a lot if variety at affordable prices ($35-50 all you can eat). The hotel does offer a travel office to accommodate tours. Highly recommend taking the 1/2 hour seaplane journey of the amazon ($600 for 4 people) - definitely the highlight of our trip

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mrs. SaundraBF,
We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We work enthusiastically to provide our guests with memorable moments.
The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood.
The hot and humid climate of the forest requires special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    676
    379
    133
    98
See reviews for
510
419
134
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hallways are dark and there are mosquitos waiting you to open the door. Killed two in my room with hairspray (because the ceiling is high and hairspray is ideal to not miss). In general its OK to stay but overpriced. Ask them to bring repellent.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mrs. Erdene D,
We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We work enthusiastically to provide our guests with memorable moments.
The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood.
The hot and humid climate of the forest requires special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel just for one night and one day whilst on our way over to the Amazon and we have to say it was a nice stop over.
It was a big hotel and we had a nice time. The room was not to my standards but then I am choosy and this may have just been me. There were many bugs although I know this is standard in tropical climates. The pool area was fairly nice and the man that worked here was extremely kind and helpful and spoke to us about the Amazon and other things. The staff at the restaurant were lovely too. The overall atmosphere at the hotel I would say was grand but perhaps needs a tiny makeover.

We did also enjoy the array of shops by the hotel and the fact that you could sit on the wall and enjoy the river.

Before we knew it it was time to leave here and so we perhaps didn't get the full experience of this hotel. Maybe we will get another chance when we return to Brazil.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mrs. missmetal,
We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We work enthusiastically to provide our guests with memorable moments.
The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood.
The hot and humid climate of the forest requires special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We visited in June 2014 to watch England play Italy. The hotel was located near the beach and river, with various excursions available. Also near to the airport but 20 mins from centre.
The hotel has a big, fab pool and poolside bar plus a nice bar indoors and games area, pool, chess etc... Two good restaurants, helpful staff. Do visit the pink dolphins and the hotel in the middle of the Amazon!

Room Tip: The rooms are fairly standard and the building is low rise so all room locations should be ok, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mr. ChrisandVeronica,
We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We work enthusiastically to provide our guests with memorable moments.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The rooms are nice, the food mediocre, but the reason I'm writing this review is what they call the "mini-zoologico", a "mini-zoo" with enclosures that are no doubt too small for the impressive animals they restrain. Granted, I am not a zoo person this isn't a hunter for life suddenly converting. But the first thing you see when you enter the attraction is a huge, majestic jaguar- an animal that unrestrained runs 60mph- in a cage barely the size of the bathroom you'll find if you check in. This manner of tiny caging continues throughout the exhibit. It's got big animals, but it's a very mini zoo. Do not support this practice. Take your business elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Leon K,

We thank you for your comments and take the opportunity to clarify a few issues.

The Tropical Zoo is a nonprofit institution. It is registered at the Brazilian Institute of Environment and Renewable Natural Resources (IBAMA - Instituto Brasileiro de Meio Ambiente e Recursos Naturais Renováveis) and associated to the Zoological Society of Brazil (SBZ - Sociedade de Zoológicos do Brasil). To possess wild animals it is necessary to be registered as a Zoo or breeder. In the case of Zoos there are three categories: A, B, and C, ranging from the most complex to the most simple (for example the São Paulo Zoo and the Tropical Zoo), which allow public visitation.

Zoos from all around the world, as well as the Tropical Zoo, are no longer only an “animal showcase” and have transformed into Environmental Education Centers and Conservation Centers “ex situ”. We have an Environmental Education Program, through monitored visits with our Biologist, aimed to sensitize the visiting public (guests, schools, groups, etc.). It is an opportunity for them to see closely and learn about the animals of the Amazonian fauna and their biology and ecology, the routine of the Zoo, as well as answer questions such as why are these animals here, how did they get here, where is the best place for them, and why is it complicated to take them back into the forest. All animals that are donated by IBAMA have been victims of Trafficking of Wild Animals in the past. This corresponds to the third illegal commerce in the world, behind only to drugs and weapons.

We believe that Environmental Education is the key to conservation. As a Conservation Center “ex situ”, our Zoo had contributed significantly with the Amazonian fauna. Our Zoo has four species that are threatened by extinction: Panthera onca (jaguar), Leopardus pardalis (ocelot), Ateles belzebuth (spider monkey with white belly) and Mitu mitu (mutum cavalo). We have already achieved reproductive success with the ocelot, we are the fourth and second Zoo to reproduce it in Brazil. Presently, we also have a baby spider monkey.

As far as your preoccupation with the space of the enclosures, all enclosures were authorized by IBAMA and are according to laws and regulations. Within possibilities, we always seek to improve, as was the case with the ocelot, whose authorized enclosure was the coati’s, and when the opportunity arose was transferred to the puma’s former enclosure.

Unfortunately, our folder is currently being updated and not available at the Zoo. In it there are essential informations about the Zoo and it’s importance. In a next opportunity, come and see our work closely, and join our Biologist in a monitored visit.

Kind regards,

Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Dayse Campista
Biologist – MSc Ecology
Tropical Manaus Zoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

As other reviewers have stated, the hotel was probably in its prime about 30 years ago, and the rooms especially, are now in urgent need of modernisation.
There are positives though, as the grounds are extensive, the rooms are cleaned daily, and the staff are very helpful. There is also free Wi-Fi, pool, table tennis etc
Negatives are that there are no bars or restaurants nearby, and a bus or taxi into Manaus takes about 25 minutes.
I would recommend staying in the hotel if you want a relaxing holiday, and a 70's style room is not an issue

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the hotel disco if staying on a Saturday night. Our room window was literally shaki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mr. roddy45,
We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We work enthusiastically to provide our guests with memorable moments.
The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood.
The hot and humid climate of the forest requires special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

stayed here on a business trip for several days. felt very safe. eating at the hotel is expensive, but a short walk outside of the hotel area, will bring you to several road side eateries that are cheaper. hotel is close to the river/ beach for evening walks. its a high end hotel by brazilian standards, but not like a high end hotel in the u.s.a. if you have time at night the pool/bar is a good place to hang out and relax. if you wander out at night go in pairs and guard your wallet,, its not that its any more dangerous than any other city,, but there is a chance of theft in the area, once you leave the hotel area. brealfast was amazing, they had a chef that would make you any kind of omelet that you desired, lots of fruit and bread choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mr. durk s,
We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We work enthusiastically to provide our guests with memorable moments.
The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood.
The hot and humid climate of the forest requires special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tropical Manaus Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Address: Av. Coronel Teixeira, 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > Ponta Negra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manaus
#4 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Manaus Ecoresort 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Manaus, a luxury Brazil vacation eco-resort located in the gateway to the majestic Amazon rainforest. An unforgettable experience, Tropical Manaus offers state of the art technology and luxurious accommodations with the magnificence of the rainforest as a backdrop. Experience the exoticism of the Amazon Jungle while enjoying total comfort. Tropical Manaus offers a world class guest experience for hotels in Brazil by placing you right in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Manaus Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Manaus Hotel Manaus
Manaus Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel Manaus
Hotel Tropical Manaus
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort AM, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.